Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Karen S. (MKSbooklady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 800 - Page:
11/22/63 (Large Print)
11/22/63 (Large Print)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/21/2016


I haven't read a Stephen King book in quite a while. I had pretty much given up, as it were. They were getting too, I'm not sure what. But this one is FABULOUS. Don't be put off by the over 800 pages-it goes by quickly. I was amazed at how much I liked this book. Who wouldn't want to go back in time and right a wrong? But what happens then? So well done. The Kennedy assassination has always interested me. Did Oswald really act alone? Was he a Lone Gunman? King's theories are fascinating-I haven't see the miniseries, but might just to see how they handled it. Great book-give it a read!


50 Fun and Easy Brain-Based Activities for Young Learners
50 Fun and Easy Brain-Based Activities for Young Learners
Author: Ellen Booth Church
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/21/2011


Going to use this in my preschool class.


52 Programs for Preschoolers: The Librarian's Year-Round Planner
52 Programs for Preschoolers: The Librarian's Year-Round Planner
Author: Diane Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/8/2010


lots of good ideas.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Chris Pavone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 12/21/2022


An explosive book is about to be published, which will ruin one man's life. The race is on to get all copies of this manuscript. That is easier said than done. An interesting look at the cut throat world of publishing. Quite a few characters are involved, so pay close attention. London, Zurich, Paris, Washington DC are all visited in this rounds the world in one day adventure.Enough surprises to keep you guessing until the last page.


Afterimage: A Novel
Afterimage: A Novel
Author: Helen Humphreys
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/28/2012


Different-interesting, reads quick.


Agatha Christie: A Hidden Life
Agatha Christie: A Hidden Life
Author: Lucy Worsley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/16/2022


For lovers of Agatha Christie's work, this is probably the best biography of the famed writer. We see Dame Agatha in all her glory, as well as faults. A playwright as well as novel writer, Mrs. Christie lived a life that few can match. From the end of the Edwardian era, to the swinging '60's, she was there.


The Alice Network
The Alice Network
Author: Kate Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 12/13/2018


Not bad, good female characters.


All Aunt Hagar's Children: Stories
All Aunt Hagar's Children: Stories
Author: Edward P. Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/11/2022


Having been born in, and grown up close to DC, I looked forward to this book of short stories, which take place in the District of Columbia ( or, as it was called awhile back, just the 'District') While a few were entertaining, and I enjoyed the references to places from my childhood, I could not appreciate this as much as I thought I would.


All the Devils Are Here (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 16)
All the Devils Are Here (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 16)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/18/2020


A little different from the other 'Three Pines' books. this one finds our hero Gamache, in Paris, but still investigating a mystery, with Jean Guy by his side, actually, his whole family is there. Enjoyable as always but I did find some so many characters to be confusing. Still an enjoyable read, and since we're stuck 'at home' for who knows how long , it's good that books are still safe to read.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 8/17/2015


The stories of two children in Europe during WWII-one a young blind girl, and the other a German boy-told separately, but they do eventually come together. Haunting is the best word I can come up with.


All the Names
All the Names
Author: Jose Saramago, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/3/2010


Had a very hard time reading this, the style was difficult for me to follow. Other reviewers loved this book, I can't say that I did.


All the Stars in the Heavens
All the Stars in the Heavens
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/12/2022


Knowing what we now now about the Loretta Young/Clark Gable relationship, this book reads more like a fantasy than fiction. It is written in the Adriana Trigiani style, which is poetic and appealing. But I think that time has shown us that Mr. Gable was at best a womanizer,and at worst a 'date raipist'. There is a disclaimer in the front to remind us that this is a work of fiction, and it is good to remember that fact. Like most books about Hollywood, especially in the '30's, it's just a little too gossipy, or chatty for me. Everyone is clever, lovely and sexy. A good read if you need to have some distraction for awhile.


All the Ugly and Wonderful Things: A Novel
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things: A Novel
Author: Bryn Greenwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/25/2022
Helpful Score: 1


It's hard to review a book like this. Well written, yes. But I have a really hard time reading all of the reviews that say how 'touching' , Gritty' 'Achingly raw' it is. The main story here is about a 24 year old man who has a very intimate relationship with a 13 year old girl. A girl he's know since she was 8 years old. No way this is touching. It's sexual assault of a minor. I don't care how skillfully it's written. If you want to read about a grown man and a young girl having sexual relations, this is the book for you. But if it makes you sick to think about it, as it should, stay away from this one, No way it can ever be justified.


The Amber Keeper
The Amber Keeper
Author: Freda Lightfoot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/12/2016


Too much of a 'Romance Novel' feel to this book for me. While the plot is interesting, I found much of the dialogue forced, the ending was not that much of a surprise.


American Blonde: A Novel
American Blonde: A Novel
Author: Jennifer Niven
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/24/2021


It takes awhile to get the real story going, but it gets very interesting. A good look at 'old' Hollywood, and the lies told. Good up to the very end.


American Duchess
American Duchess
Author: Karen Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/22/2022
Helpful Score: 1


While I enjoyed the first half of the book, where Consuelo Vanderbilt is miserable and married to a fairly horrible man, the second half where she is happy, and spending money like it's gong out of style, was just so-so. Seems like every chapter she or her mother are buying another 'cottage' to get away from 'it all'. This woman may have been forced into a loveless marriage, but she was one spoiled girl. I can't recommend this book, if I were to be honest.


Amicus Curiae: Friend of the Court
Amicus Curiae: Friend of the Court
Author: Linda MacFarlane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/10/2021


Okay.


And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 5/23/2019


So many characters in this book, so many stories. I love they way they all wind together. Took me awhile to figure out what was what and who was who, but it is truly beautiful when it all comes together. Just like the two previous books, this is a gem.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3683
Review Date: 7/23/2008


A 'prequel' to the DaVanci Code- a little over the top, but an interesting read, I read it on the beach. I think a movie is being made based on the book, maybe with Tom Hanks?


The Angel's Game (Cemetery of Forgotten Books, Bk 2)
Review Date: 6/4/2013


Another fascinating book by Mr. Zafon-a great story told by a great story teller.


1 to 20 of 800 - Page:
Want fewer ads?