Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Dianne D. (WestieMom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 66 - Page:
About Time 4: The Unauthorized Guide to Doctor Who (About Time (Mad Norwegian Press))
Review Date: 6/22/2015


This book is for Doctor Who Nerds. My fav Doctor is David Tenant and this book is about Tom Baker. Lots of inside information on the show but my favorite sections were the "Look for This" where they give you a heads up about something that did not go as planned; and because of money or time -- it was just left in the show with the hope kids would not notice.


Across a Wine Dark Sea
Across a Wine Dark Sea
Author: Jessica Bryan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/6/2017


Never read a book about Mer-men and Amazons but it was quite inventive. Very descriptive of the worlds as were lived in by the two diverse cultures. I enjoyed because it was well written and also because it was so different than any other book I've read.


Alice Hartley's Happiness
Alice Hartley's Happiness
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/30/2010


This was a quirky book - not at all what I expected from Phillippa Gregory. If you like quick, snappy books with odd characters you will enjoy this book. If you are expecting a historical book - skip it.


Annette Vallon
Annette Vallon
Author: James Tipton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/17/2015


This book was so interesting. I love the works of William Wordsworth and there is a lot about him in this book (as her real / common law husband). It IS a novel, but based on letters between the two and articles written about her during and after the French Revolutionary War. I was really vested in her life and the bravery with which she helped people who were thrown into prison for very little (if any) reasons. The book is very fast paced and totally kept my interest.


At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 7/10/2010


This was my first Susan Wiggs book. I loved the storyline and the tie in with the Tudor Court. This was a fun read and it kept my interest the entire time. I am looking forward to reading the other 2 books in this triligy.


Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer
Review Date: 11/18/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Don't let the cute title fool you that this is a book full of adorable dog stories. About 1/3 is animal stories - the rest are rants and raves about Mr Grogan's pet peeves. I would not recommend this book. Period.


The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 5/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The premise for this book was a little silly; I liked the storyline of the first book much better. That being said, I did enjoy the 2nd half of the book and am looking forward to beginning the third in the series.


Beauty in the Beasts
Beauty in the Beasts
Author: Kristin von Kreisler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book asks the question if animals can make decisions. The author has many stories of examples that state the case that they do have cognitive abilities. I'm not sure I believe that animals make decisions based on right or wrong, but I enjoyed the stories anyway. Kind of wanted to become a vegetarian after reading this book.


The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 619
Review Date: 9/13/2013


This tells the story of Anne of Cleves, Katherine Howard and Jane Boleyn concurrently and how historical events affected them all. Great Reading!


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Review Date: 8/8/2021
Helpful Score: 1


I know nothing about the sport of rowing, but this book had a narrative that kept me excited about the people and the races.

It also went into a few of the sneaky tricks that the Nazi's pulled to try and ensure their win. Too Bad!!

I absolutely loved this book and would give it 10 start!


Breathing Out
Breathing Out
Author: Peggy Lipton, Coco Dalton, David Dalton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a lot of fun -- who slept with who in the 60's. Very interesting stories - a quick and fun book to read.


Circling the Sun
Circling the Sun
Author: Paula McLain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/22/2018


This book was beautifully written. The life of Beryl Markham was an exciting adventure in Kenya in the early 1900's. Her friends (including Isak Dinsen and Deryl Finch) were remarkable and interesting to read about also. If you haven't read "Out of Africa" it is a companion book in my opinion.


Come Back, Como: Winning the Heart of a Reluctant Dog
Come Back, Como: Winning the Heart of a Reluctant Dog
Author: Steven Winn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/22/2013


This book was not what I expected. What I loved about it was the perspective of (another) person who adopted a difficult dog. I have adopted dogs that were instantly at home and my best friend. On the other hand, I have adopted dogs like Como. It was interesting to see how Como became a part of their family while still maintaining a lot of attitude about who he is. If someone is thinking about adopting a dog I would suggest reading this book. Not to scare them or warn them off but to see how even difficult dogs can become loving pets. 4 paws up on this book!


A Common Life: The Wedding Story (Mitford Years, Bk 6)
A Common Life: The Wedding Story (Mitford Years, Bk 6)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 12/5/2019


I almost didn't read this book because I thought -- "Yeah I know they got married a couple of books ago". I would have missed a very sweet book. This book covers the events leading up to their marriage and how it affected the main characters of the book (including Cynthia and Father Tim). It ends in their honeymoon in a rundown summer cottage.

If you like Father Tim books this is another one that will put a smile on your face. I highly recommend it.


A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 1/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book. The previous book "Running to the Mountain" was primarily about the author and how his two labs helped him get through a tough time in his life. This book is purely about how HE adjusted to the new dog(s) and how different their needs were than his labs. (Spoiler Alert) I did cry in a couple of places when his labs grew old and feeble - but the rest of the book kept a smile on my face. I can hardly wait to read the next book.


Dogs' Letters to Santa
Dogs' Letters to Santa
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/21/2009


I thought this book was cute, and would be something a young adult would enjoy. I read it to a lady in a nursing home, and she laughed at the silly things in this book.


Faithfull
Faithfull
Author: Marianne Faithfull
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I really loved this book. Previously I reviewed a book that was written ABOUT Marianne Faithfull and I gave it a bad review because of the way it was written. Now I'm glad I read it first because Marianne put a lot of the stories in perspective. She mentioned the other book and said it was a hatchet job and was based on a lot of speculation (which is exactly how it read)! If you are a child of the 60's or are interested in pop stars - this is a very interesting read.


Fallen Skies
Fallen Skies
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/31/2010


Being a big Philippa Gregory fan, I was excited to read this book. I know she keeps her books historically accurate, but this one could have used a little more cheer. I kept waiting for something happy to happen to the characters, but it was pretty grim. That being said, the characters were interesting and well developed, her descriptions of the clothes and houses of that era were wonderful. I would recommend this book, especially if you are interested in the 1920's and WWI.


The Girls in the Picture: A Novel
The Girls in the Picture: A Novel
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/30/2019


This book was very interesting. It was about the friendship between Mary Pickford and Frances Davis. Frances was a screen writer (one of the first in the industry). It gave a wonderful idea of what Hollywood and movie making in the early 1900's was like and what women were up against.


A Good Dog: The Story of Orson Who Changed My Life
A Good Dog: The Story of Orson Who Changed My Life
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/25/2014


I absolutely loved this book. If you are a Jon Katz fan you know all about his relationship with Orson (aka Devon the devil dog). I cried reading this book (which was a treat for my husband because we were on vacation). I think every owner who has had multiple dogs has had to make difficult decisions. Ours involved a rescue poodle named Cody, and step by step we went thru the same agonizing process and eventually made the same final decision. This entire series is wonderful; but this is my favorite (so far).


1 to 20 of 66 - Page:
Want fewer ads?