Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Kelly S. (staggersbooks) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Abiding Love
Abiding Love
Author: Melody Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/25/2011


What a sweet book! Everyone in town seems to have an opinion as to how Irene should live her life. A spinster school teacher attracted to the new saloon owner isn't what Irene's friends and family want for her. But fortunately the new saloon owner, Ross doesn't want to take no for an answer. He just keeps showing up day after day...His persistence pays off!

Loved both characters. A very quick read!


At the Queen's Summons (Tudor Rose, Bk 3)
At the Queen's Summons (Tudor Rose, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 8/4/2011


What a wonderful book! I laughed and cried through the entire book. I have never been so engrossed in a book. Before I knew it I was half way through it. I couldn't put it down. This book should be made into a movie! If it does become a movie, I would watch it over and over again! FANTASTIC!!!!!!


Eden
Eden
Author: Carolyn Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/9/2011


I love Carolyn Davidson. I have read most of her books. She is one of my favorite authors, but I have to say that this book was not one of her best. Usually her female characters are a lot stronger but Katie definitely is not.

John treats Katie as if she will break at any minute. Katie is way too meek towards John. I know she is young and had a hard life, but she never says no to him. I was hoping that Katie would grow stronger thru the book since she was finally surrounded by love, but where John is concerned she's not strong. She just keeps saying whatever you want John...I'm your wife.

John on the other hand seems to overreact at times in the book. Almost like a spoil brat who is not getting his way. Some of the things that he gets mad at are so silly or even unbelieveable.

The book is OK. If you are a Carolyn Davidson fan, I would recommend reading it but just don't put it on the top of your list. She has written much better books.


Forever the Flame
Forever the Flame
Author: Norah Hess
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/6/2011


This is the worst book I have ever TRIED to read. I couldn't get past the first 60 pages without throwing my hands up in disgust. The dialogue between the characters is horrbile. No one and I mean no one talks like that. The way women are betrayed in the book is awful. I want a love story not the harsh reality of how life was back then. How this book could ever be called a Romance Novel is beyond me. The back of the book is VERY misleading!

The book is so awful that I threw it in the garbage. I don't want another person to waste their time on a book like this!!!


Heart's Desire
Heart's Desire
Author: Vivian Vaughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/7/2011


Can't say this is a favorite of mine.. More mystery than romance. Did not hold my interest.


Mr. Cavendish, I Presume (Two Dukes of Wyndham, Bk 2)
Mr. Cavendish, I Presume (Two Dukes of Wyndham, Bk 2)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 10/28/2011


I was glad to see that the other reviews reflect my feelings of disappointment. I kind of feel a little cheated because I really wanted know Thomas and Amelia story. Not a regurgatation of her last book. I skipped major sections because they were a repeat of her last book - word for wrod. Very little new things were written about the couple throughout this book. I think Ms. Quinn had to refer to the previous book for story line purposes, but she should have summed up those parts instead of just copied them over again or both stories should have been combined into 1 book. It would have made more sense and not disappointed so many readers.


Silver Lining
Silver Lining
Author: Maggie Osborne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 9/25/2012


I had to give this book 5 stars because I never wanted the story to end. The characters of the story really pull at your heart strings. Louise will be a character that I will remember forever. What a great love story!!


Texas Lawman (Harlequin Historical, No 736)
Texas Lawman (Harlequin Historical, No 736)
Author: Carolyn Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another good book from Carolyn Davidson. I must say though that this book was a little on the too sweet side for me. The couple never had one fight or bad word to say to each other. I like a little bit of friction between the main characters. But if you've read her others books about Benning, Texas, you should read this one too.


This Is All I Ask (De Piaget, Bk 6)
This Is All I Ask (De Piaget, Bk 6)
Author: Lynn Kurland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 6/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it! Loved it! LOVED IT! Laughed and cried my way thru the book. Couldn't put it down. Gillian has no confidence until she meets Christopher. He helps change her life by giving her the courage she needs. Christopher doesn't feel completely whole until Gillian shows him that he is more than she ever hoped for. What a great love story!

I almost didn't want to re-post this book because I loved it so much!!!


Wild and Wicked
Wild and Wicked
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 9/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. I liked the story of her showing up uninvited to his Christmas celebration and being so bold as to dance and flirt with the handsome lord. Things took a turn for the worst soon after that but the passion really started to heat up between them. I would definitely recommend this book to others.


1 to 10 of 10
Want fewer ads?