Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Heather H. (breezyhmh) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Bareback (Bareback, Bk 1)
Bareback (Bareback, Bk 1)
Author: Chris Owen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/18/2011


This was an OK read for me. I enjoyed the book when it was developing the relationship between the two men. The relationship is, to me, the most important part of the story. While the sex scenes were HOT, at some points, I actually skimmed them to get to the rest of the storyline.


Cattle Valley: About the Girls
Cattle Valley: About the Girls
Author: Jenna Byrnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/18/2011


I have mixed feelings about this book...I absolutely love the rest of the Cattle Valley series and really enjoyed reading about more of the characters in town and seeing them interact with my favorites from other books. However, I found myself a little jarred by the differences in writing styles between Ms Byrnes and Carol Lynne (the author of the rest of the series). This was also the first f/f book I have read and I discovered that it might not be the genre for me.

On the plus side, the characters are well-developed and their relationships are believable and touching. An ok book for me, but not a keeper.


Changeling (Otherworld, Bk 2)
Changeling (Otherworld, Bk 2)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 2/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The first book in the series started off very well. This book however, greatly disappoints. The sisters had such potential, and it all gets wasted in a lot of whining. Great idea, poor execution.


Child of Joy (Satyr, Bk 3)
Child of Joy (Satyr, Bk 3)
Author: Andrew Grey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/18/2011


Andrew Grey is one of my favorite authors, and this is one of my favorite series by him (although, honestly, I've yet to find one of his I didn't at least enjoy)

This is actually the final book in the series and draws together all the strings and destinies that have twined throughout the other two books. Mr. Grey does a very good job of world-building and creating the mythology for his satyr's and his characters are very well "fleshed out" and stay true to their characters...which is something that I really appreciate. I never get pulled out of one of Mr. Grey's stories by something that just could not or should not be happening.

Overall, the final book in the series fullfills the promise of the other two and has been placed on my Kindle "keeper shelf" for future enjoyment.


Divine By Mistake (Partholon, Bk 1)
Divine By Mistake (Partholon, Bk 1)
Author: P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 2/21/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I liked the original version of this story much better, Goddess by Mistake. This book was OK if you had never read the other and needed an intro to the series.


The Empath (Draicon, Bk 1) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 30)
The Empath (Draicon, Bk 1) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 30)
Author: Bonnie Vanak
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 3/12/2008
Helpful Score: 4


entertaining book about a werewolf clan trying to survive. Different spin on the genre. Hopefully one of a series as I'd love to see how the leader of the pack and his mate make out.


Indiscretions
Indiscretions
Author: Elayne S. Venton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/18/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This book was actually a DNF for me. Not because of the writing, but because I had a great deal of difficulty accepting the premise of the book. I have read books with similar storylines and really enjoyed them, but for some reason I never really felt connected to the characters in this book or to the world that Ms. Venton created.


Lions and Tigers and Bears: Hidden Heart / Lion Eyes / Tiger Eye
Review Date: 2/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was OK, but fans of these authors might be disappointed at the short length of each story. Nothing to really write home about.


Love at First Bight (Deep Space Mission Corps, Bk 1)
Love at First Bight (Deep Space Mission Corps, Bk 1)
Author: Tymber Dalton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


As previous reviewers have said, this book does have some annoying factors, the heroine is frequently (IMO)a little too naive acting to be credible. And the overuse of the pet names does make the reader wonder a little if the author used them so as not to get confused by using actual names.

All that said, the thing that I absolutely loved about this book is the relationship between the three guys. There is definite partnership and a feeling of togetherness that just gets to me. That reason alone was reason enough for this book to land on my keeper list and stay there until I got a digital copy to replace my print. Of course, it also happens to occur in one of my favorite locales...space.

While I have read better books by this author (Fierce Radiance and Acquainted with the Night), it is definitely not the worst I have read and is an enjoyable quick read.


Special Delivery (Special Delivery, Bk 1)
Special Delivery (Special Delivery, Bk 1)
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/18/2011


While I don't mind BDSM in my stories, I do find some aspects of it a turn off. One of my biggest turn offs is humiliation. While I really wanted to like the story and did enjoy other aspects of the relationship between Sam and Mitch, that particular aspect of relationship kept jarring me out of the story.

However, I'm sure others without my particular difficulties with that aspect of the relationship will really enjoy this story. And like others, I do want to know more about Randy and what will happen with him in the future.


Through the Fire: Risen from the Ash / Through the Fire (Veterans, Bks 1-2)
Review Date: 2/18/2011


Soldiers are near and dear to my heart as I come from a military family and have many family members in all branches. So, I have always been interested in how soldiers and their families are portrayed in novels. Since discovering my love of "alternative relationships", this is actually the first book I read that successfully tied my two loves together.

I really like that the stories are interconnected and you get to see the development of the relationships from multiple viewpoints. And the authors shed light on some very serious problems faced by our military men (and women) and their loved ones.


Water Bound (Sea Haven) (Sisters of the Heart, Bk 1)
Water Bound (Sea Haven) (Sisters of the Heart, Bk 1)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 279
Review Date: 9/18/2012
Helpful Score: 4


I pulled Waterbound off my TBR and finally read it. While not the greatest book on the whole, I LOVED Feehan's characterization of the heroine (who has an autistic spectrum disorder). I work with adults with developmental disabilities, many of whom also have an ASD. Feehan was spot on in many of the mannerisms and routines, even though she took a little poetic license in some places--almost a must with the paranormal elements. That character affected me pretty deeply. And I just LOVED the way he accepted her "quirks." Everyone else around her was trying to make her fit into their world and work with their rules. He was the only one that said, what is OK for you--and then went with it. If she didn't want to eat something, he made her a peanut butter sandwich. If she doesn't want to use the "good china" he says, OK we'll use paper until we can get a regular set of dishes. When she starts to unravel, he wraps her weighted blanket around her, without thinking anything of it. So many of the things she thought made it impossible for her to have a relationship, were complete non-issues for him. I wish more people were this accepting of the needs of people with sensory processing difficulties and other autistic characteristics--or even just day to day quirks that everyone has.


1 to 12 of 12
Want fewer ads?