Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Annette M. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
Agent In Place
Agent In Place
Author: Helen MacInnes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/3/2020


I read this book years ago and just re-read it. It was as great now as it was then. I always think of Helen MacInnes as the female version of John LeCarre. The story was interesting and had enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. Though political times and situations have changes, somehow this book is still very contemporary. Just a great spy story. It was an excellent read.


Agent in Place
Agent in Place
Author: Helen MacInnes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/3/2020


I read this book years ago and just re-read it. It was as great now as it was then. I always think of Helen MacInnes as the female version of John LeCarre. The story was interesting and had enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. Though political times and situations have changes, somehow this book is still very contemporary. Just a great spy story. It was an excellent read.


The Altman Code (Covert-One, Bk 4)
The Altman Code (Covert-One, Bk 4)
Author: Robert Ludlum, Gayle Lynds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 9/2/2006


Fourth in the series, which is very enjoyable. Always a good plot line and if you like this character, agent Smith, you'll like this book.


American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 4/2/2013


I Have read all of the "Mitch Rapp" books and this was a great one that went back and told how Mitch started his work for the CIA. It was terrific. A real page turner, and I hard to put down. I highly recommend it for any Mitch Rapp fans.


Blind Alley (Eve Duncan, Bk 5)
Blind Alley (Eve Duncan, Bk 5)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 480
Review Date: 2/21/2007


Good book; enjoyable; easy and very fast read


The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 5/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Great story; lots of surprises; Connelly never disappoints.


Chains of Command
Chains of Command
Author: William J. Caunitz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/12/2006


Good police drama. Takes place in NYC and involves police coruption; drugs; Mafia, etc. A quick and satisfying read.


Dog Stories
Dog Stories
Author: Dylan Schaffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/14/2014


Beautiful stories from the dogs point of view. Picture and story: one per page. A great book for dog lovers.


Edge of Evil (Alison Reynolds, Bk 1)
Edge of Evil (Alison Reynolds, Bk 1)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 2/28/2007


Good book; very fast read.


False Impression
False Impression
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 5/17/2007


This was a great book. A very fast read and definitely entertaining. I hated to put it down.


Full Dark, No Stars
Full Dark, No Stars
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 3/25/2013


There were 4 stories in this book and each one was a real page turner. Only King can take the "every-day" actions and behaviors, and turn them into something dark. The book was entertaining and fast paced. Once I started it, it was hard to put down.


Honeymoon (Honeymoon, Bk 1)
Honeymoon (Honeymoon, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 442
Review Date: 11/22/2006


Hard to put down. Very quick reading and very entertaining.


The Husband
The Husband
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 6/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


We loved this book. It was a real page turner and it kept us guessing. A little different for Koontz, but really good!!!


The Jungle (Oregon Files, Bk 8)
The Jungle (Oregon Files, Bk 8)
Author: Clive Cussler, Jack Du Brul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 3/1/2013


Terrific book. Fast paced- page turner. I couldn't put it down.


Kill Shot (Mitch Rapp, Bk 2)
Kill Shot (Mitch Rapp, Bk 2)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/21/2013


I am a big Mitch Rapp fan and really enjoyed this book. The American Assassin tells you how Rapp got started, and this book is the next one, which shows how Mitch comes into his own. It is a very fast read, interesting and hard to put down. You are cheering for the good guy and the bad guys are plentiful. Mitch has to navigate a "maze" to try and determine who he can trust. Loved it, just as I have loved every other Vince Flynn book. He's a master!!


The Narrows (Harry Bosch, Bk 10)
The Narrows (Harry Bosch, Bk 10)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 11/29/2005


Great papge-turner- read it all in one seating. Helps if you have read his previous books especially The Poet and Blood Work


Night Tales: Night Shift / Night Shadow
Night Tales: Night Shift / Night Shadow
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 407
Review Date: 8/17/2007


Two great stories; enjoyable and very fast reading.


Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, Bk 1)
Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, Bk 1)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1022
Review Date: 2/13/2007


This is the first in a series and was very good; am looking forward to the next one. It is written in the first person. You get to like the character but have a sense of impending doom as he moves through his days.


Partner in Crime (Joanna Brady, Bk 10)
Partner in Crime (Joanna Brady, Bk 10)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 4/22/2007


Easy and enjoyable reading; likeable characters and a very fast read.


Prior Bad Acts (Kovac & Liska, Bk 3)
Prior Bad Acts (Kovac & Liska, Bk 3)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 474
Review Date: 5/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


THis is a terrific book...a real page turner and we couldn't wait to finish it. Definitely hard to put down. Tami Hoag at her best.


1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
Want fewer ads?