Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Claire M. - - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Confessions of a Street Addict
Confessions of a Street Addict
Author: James J. Cramer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/16/2009


Great book! This book gives you insight into the early years of Jim Cramer's start in the stock market. Reading this book is just like having the guy tell you his early life story over a cup of coffee. I actually learned something. As fascinating as the stock market is, I DON'T have what it takes to be a hedge fund manager. Highly recommend: A+.


I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts About Being a Woman
I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts About Being a Woman
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 7/28/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Great insights and advice for those of us who are reaching the milestone in our lives. Nora Ephron's life experiences remind me to look at life's ups and downs as temporary and to hold on to those things that keep me balanced. Thank you, Nora, for your candid, yet funny, book.


My First Summer in the Sierra
My First Summer in the Sierra
Author: John Muir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/24/2012


John Muir's account of his first summer in the Sierra was a good read. Muir does reference a lot of the plant life using their common and scientific names. Thankfully, I had taken a botany class and, thus, this added to my enjoyment of the book. Also, it did help that I had been to Yosemite Valley. Throughout this journal, Muir also include his thoughts and impressions about man's relationship to nature. It was as if I had taken the trip all over again, but with a tour guide, a guide who truly loves the beauty of the Sierra.


New Mexico: An Interpretive History
New Mexico: An Interpretive History
Author: Marc Simmons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2009


This book tells the story from the arrival of Spaniards and from there the tumultuous history of the settling of the Rio Grande Valley and Santa Fe. This book is filled with Indian revolts, invasions from the French and the Americans, the loss of life, and the final settling of New Mexico. It really put together a lot of the gaps I had in my knowledge of the history of the American Southwest...Excellent book.


The Other Woman in Your Marriage: Understanding a Mother's Impact on Her Son & How It Affects His Marriage
Review Date: 1/8/2011


This book provides further insight into the COMPLICATED relationships that come with woman becoming a member of her husband's family. This book focuses on three specific relationship a woman has with her husband, the in-laws, and her son.


Perfectly Reasonable Deviations From The Beaten Track: The Letters Of Richard P. Feynman
Review Date: 1/4/2013


Definitely a good read. This book is a compilation of letters written to and written by Richard P Feynman during various periods of Feynman's life. Personal and professional incidents are documented by these letters, and there are also letters that Feynman writes in response to questions that people ask about physics.


The Pleasure of Finding Things Out: The Best Short Works of Richard P. Feynman
Review Date: 11/23/2012


Richard Feynman fans will love this book. His insight and perspective are obvious in this collection of essays. Thank you, Richard Feynman. With you as my guide, it is indeed a pleasure finding things out.


Struggle for Intimacy
Struggle for Intimacy
Author: Janet Woititz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/17/2009


I didn't realize how dysfunction can take a toll on the members of a family. This really opened my eyes in understanding why people of addiction and codependency really have struggles. A great book.


Tuva or Bust! Richard Feynman's Last Journey
Tuva or Bust! Richard Feynman's Last Journey
Author: Ralph Leighton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/28/2012


It's funny how infectious an adventure can be. This book is Ralph Leighton's retelling of both Richard Feynman and his quest to reach Tuva. As we all know, adventures are filled with many unexpected twists and turns. This story does include many of them. Note: Because this true story is told from the third person point of view, you do not get a true picture of what motivated Feynman. This does diminish the adventure a bit since no one but Feynmam can retell the delightful antics of the "curious character" but himself.


Wallflower at the Orgy
Wallflower at the Orgy
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/2/2014
Helpful Score: 1


It was a very quick and easy book to read. I could finish one article, put the book down, and come back to it several days later. I chose this book because of the author. Interesting articles but not a book I would recommend. The articles were so broad in interest.


You Got Screwed! Why Wall Street Tanked and How You Can Prosper
You Got Screwed! Why Wall Street Tanked and How You Can Prosper
Author: James J. Cramer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/8/2011


Cramer does it again! I am systematically going through his books and this one does not disappoint. After reading his first book, Confessions of a Street Addict, I wanted to learn more about the workings of Wall Street. This book specifically the dysfunctional relationships between investors, their money, and their brokers. A good read.


1 to 11 of 11
Want fewer ads?