Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Nancy - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
All God's Children (Peacemakers, Bk 1)
All God's Children (Peacemakers, Bk 1)
Author: Anna Schmidt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/12/2019


A good Christian historical fiction story about World War 2, set in Munich, Germany. A German-American woman living as nanny and helper in the home of her aunt and uncle, Beth Bridgewater is caught up in some activities which test her and lead her on a path she could not have imagined.

What I liked about this book by Anna Schmidt is, the characters were believable, and easy to identify with. I liked the descriptions of Munich, and surrounding areas, from Beth's point of view, which is that of a person NOT being persecuted or harassed, at least not immediately. There is a glimpse into the home life of a man in the Gestapo, which I thought to be an unusual point of view.

I really liked Anna's introduction to The White Rose, a resistance movement which, if you haven't read about it, you really should.

What I disliked about it was, the favorable view that was given to the Quaker doctrine, which is, that God is in everyone, which is a blatant lie. They also believe redemption and the Kingdom of Heaven are to be experienced now, in this world, which is also false doctrine. So, for that reason, I don't recommend this book.

Too many false teachings which will confuse and lead astray weak Christians, or lost people.

Here is the Truth:

Romans 10:9-13; John 3:16-21


An Amish Reunion: Four Amish Stories
Review Date: 5/9/2019


First story:  Their True Home, by Amy Clipston.  Let me say, if this had been the first book I'd ever read by Mrs. Clipston, I wouldn't have read any more.  Now, with that being out in the open, this short story was barely Christian, in my opinion.  Sexually suggestive phrases were constantly being used.  This story just doesn't help anyone draw closer to Jesus.   I don't recommend it.   What I don't understand is why did Amy Clipston go so far away from decent Christian writing in this story? It's about 2 young adults, Marlene and Rudy, who develop a friendship that becomes more.  You can tell they are "falling in love" by the increased sexual innuendos.  The characters had no depth.  Not much of a plot, either. Second story:  A Reunion of Hearts, by Beth Wiseman.Gideon and Ruth, formerly Amish, have returned to their Amish hometown for a family reunion. Beth Wiseman did a good job of exploring SOME the depths of depression, sadness, anger, and denial, that must go along with the loss of a child.  Yes, it was a serious book, to a point,  but then it rather unraveled when the author decided to talk about the sexual attraction the husband and wife still had for each other.  Kind of a bizarre turn to take from the path I thought she was on in this story. It could have accomplished so much more if she had stayed true to the original storyline.   Most of her story is decent, but I don't recommend it for anyone but MARRIED adult women, because of the focus on the sexuality between husband and wife, who had been separated but not divorced, for about 5 years.  Mrs. Wiseman  could have taken a cleaner path, but  kept focusing on the fleshly nature, instead of the spiritual nature.  So far, this book has left me feeling cheated out of a good read.    Let's see if A Chance to Remember, by Kathleen Fuller, is better than these two.Third story: A Chance to Remember, by Kathleen FullerSuch a good story, I didn't want it to end so soon!  Clean Christian fiction about the Amish and an Englishcher.   This is about an 80 year old Amish woman living in Birch Creek, and a man from her past, who comes by for a visit, after not having seen each other for decades. Cevilla and Richard enjoy old memories, and find they have an attraction for each other, after many visits.  Meghan, Richard's granddaughter, watches over him and drives him to see Cevilla. They are on a little vacation away from California, and Meghan has some issues of her own she needs to settle.  All in all, this novella was highly enjoyable, and the characters had depth, and real personality.  I hope to be able to read more books by Kathleen Fuller.  Fourth Story in "An Amish Reunion"Mended Hearts, by Kelly Irvin  I was very happy to see this story is a continuation of  some of the character's stories I read in "With Winter's First Frost".So nicely written, and clean!  Kelly Irvin really does a good job of writing Amish fiction.  She did a great job of writing about the struggles of a young unwed mother, who, after going through a bann, repented and was forgiven by most of her community, although as we know, there will always be those who like to keep gossiping about someone, and tearing them up.  Such  was the case in this story too, but it wasn't the main focus.  The main story is about Hannah, the unwed mother, her friend Philip, and her ex-boyfriend, Thaddeus, the father of her child.  Thaddeus refused to marry Hannah, and he skipped town,  which embittered Hannah towards him.  The story is truly about forgiveness, remembering how Christ forgave us, and about recognizing that we sin, when we refuse to forgive others.  It's a great story.


Be Still My Soul (Cadence of Grace, Bk 1)
Be Still My Soul (Cadence of Grace, Bk 1)
Author: Joanne Bischof
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/11/2019


Joanne Bischof wrote a fascinating story about people of the Blue Ridge mountains, with historical accuracy and in depth characters.
Lonnie Sawyer and Gideon O'Riley are the main characters, although each person in this book is well-thought out, and integral to the entirety of the plot.
Gideon was a self-centered young man, who cared little about anything but his music and his desires. Lonnie was a shy Appalachian teen, who lived in poverty, with her mother, siblings, and abusive father.
This book was hard to put down, and I enjoyed it from start to finish. It's a clean, Christian historical fiction book, with a lot to offer the reader.


The Challengers (Grace Livingston Hill, No 80)
The Challengers (Grace Livingston Hill, No 80)
Author: Grace Livingston Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/12/2023


This is a heartwarming story of a woman and her five children who face financial crisis, spiritual struggles, accidents, and several harrowing experiences with courage, determination, and renewed faith.
(from the back of the book)
I like this story, it's clean Christian fiction, set in post-depression era America. It's the story of a family who goes from riches to rags, and how they deal with personal faith battles, family troubles, and enduring through it all.
Romans 10:9-13; John 3:16-21


Crossed Lines (Love along the Wires, Bk 2)
Crossed Lines (Love along the Wires, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Delamere
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/24/2021


Book review for: Crossed Lines
published by Bethany House
Author of Crossed Lines: Jennifer Delamere

Such an exquisitely written book! Written like an intricately detailed triptych, which challenges
the reader to think about the characters, their current situation, and what may happen in the future.
I love this kind of writing, in which you get a delicious helping of creative thinking!
Every sentence is important, and every sentence builds the storyline. The cover of Crossed Lines was
very nice, it drew me in, and it gave correct information about the well-developed plot within it's covers.
Jennifer Delamere really excelled with this book! I've never read ANY of her books, and now I'm so happy
that I have finally done myself this favor.
After reading and reviewing dozens of books for years, it's important to me to find a gifted writer, who is actively
marketing her stories. Christian historical fiction is one of my favorite genres. I've had to plod through a lot of
boring or badly written CHF books in the past, and it's irritating.
The story is reminiscent of Cyrano and Roxanne, but not overly much. A partly disabled man falls in love with a woman
at his workplace, but she falls in love with someone else. Who happens to be the disabled man's best friend. Delamar's
descriptions of the problems that face physically disabled people were accurate. The prejudices we show towards
some with disabilities was also gently highlighted. I liked Mitchell, and Emma and Christopher very much, and Emma's friend
Rose was easy to like, too. Emma is an intelligent but young woman, in search of a happy home and family. Her friend Rose was
just the right kind of person to keep Emma on the right track, as she looked for love and contentment. The ending was great, I really liked that.
Mrs. Delamere spoke of salvation, and Jesus Christ, at just the right times in the storyline. I do recommend this book to anyone,
older women to young adult women, even teens.
Romans 10:8-13


The Ebb Tide
The Ebb Tide
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/28/2021


I've been a fan of Beverly Lewis for years, but haven't read many of her books recently. The Ebb Tide was a refreshing, full of light read for me. Her descriptions of the ocean, and the guest house in which Sallie Riehl stayed, made me wish I was in such a place.

The Ebb Tide explored an unusual side of the typical Amish fiction romance, and that was of an Amish person having questions about their faith, and about remaining in the Amish community for the rest of their life. Mrs. Lewis handled it very well, as if she had interviewed several people who had either left the Plain people, or had struggles about making the permanent commitment.

The relationship between an Amish young woman and a Mennonite young man was interesting, and tastefully done. I liked the devotion both had to God, and that Kevin was a strong male figure who kept the bible and God prominent in his thoughts and actions.

Sallie's first step out was to be a nanny for a sweet little girl named August, whose mother had just had Conner, her baby brother. There was a subplot in the book about Sallie trying to help Autumn adjust to her new role as big sister, not as only child anymore. I thought the way Sallie had insight into the situation was very good, and also that she consulted her Mamm about how to help Autumn get closer to her little brother.

All in all, this was a great book, and I enjoyed picking it up each time, and kind of escaping into this wonderful world of the ocean, happiness, and new, fun discoveries.

Thanks for writing this book, Beverly Lewis.

Romans 10:8-13; John 3:16-21


Gown of Spanish Lace (Women of the West (Audio Bethany House))
Gown of Spanish Lace (Women of the West (Audio Bethany House))
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/11/2014


Good book, the story has a great twist to it. It's nice to listen to books that aren't full of filth and trash. Janette Oke writes clean, interesting stories.


Hester on the Run (Hesterâs Hunt for Home, Bk 1)
Hester on the Run (Hesterâs Hunt for Home, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Byler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/25/2019


I like Linda Byler's style of writing, and her characters are always interesting, and this book was just as good as her others I've read.

I liked the unusual way Hester was found, in the woods, abandoned, and how her adopted mother and dad, Kate and Hans, loved her and took great care of her, bringing her up in the Amish way of life.  Even though Hester was Indian, her family and neighbors, for the most part, were friendly and supportive of the arrangement.

What I didn't like was, Han's almost creepy obsession with Hester. I was wondering at one point if he was going to be a pedophile. Plus, throughout the story, Byler lets us know Kate feels slighted, and is sad that Hans ignores their other children, and holds Hester above all of them. 

Idolatry of a child is not a good thing, in God's ways.

The story kept my interest, and Byler is a good author, always tells a believable Christian fiction story.

I hope she continues to write for the Christian community. Romans 10:8-13


Holding the Line (Love along the Wires)
Holding the Line (Love along the Wires)
Author: Jennifer Delamere
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/5/2022


This story shows us a good example of this verse, in Romans: 8: "[28] And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose."
The main character, Rose Finlay, suffers an almost insurmountably crushing hit to her marriage, and through that, the Lord gives her the need to help other young women sidestep the trap which she
fell into. The other significant characters in this story are Sophie, an impetuous and spoiled debutante, who finally shows some maturity, thanks to Rose's guidance, and and
John Millburn, who has taken on the responsibility of his widowed sister's financial and family situation.
Jennifer Delamere is gifted by God with her skill of writing engaging stories, and characters who are relatable. The romance in Holding the Line is demure, and prudent, you know
it's happening, but she doesn't repeatedly remind you of it with ridiculous phrases that would be more appropriate in a teen novel. So many authors today belabor the obvious,
but Mrs. Delarmere is more refined in her approach to Christian romance. I enjoyed getting a look at high society, but enjoyed even more the way she slyly pointed out the ludicriousness of
many of the attitudes and goals of the wealthy, high society set. Keep up the excellent work, Jennifer.
Holding the Line kept my interest, and I looked forward to taking time to read the next chapter, and the next. I'm hoping to read more of her books, her writing style
is quite good, and I hope she publishes more high-quality Christian fiction books such as this one. Such a good book, and I highly recommend it.
I was given a copy of this book free of charge by Bethany House, in exchange for an honest review.
Romans 10:9-13; John 3:16-21 FOLLOW JESUS!


Julia's Last Hope (Women of the West, Bk 2)
Julia's Last Hope (Women of the West, Bk 2)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 3/24/2021


This story by Janette Oke is such a sweet, heart-warming story. I enjoyed reading it each night, and I think you will, also, if you
like to read about the time before the internet and tv, when neighbors were Godly and kind to each other, and when
people helped each other when times were difficult.
The town's main source of income shuts down and moves to another city. Most of the residents pack up and move out, leaving
Calder City and turning it into a very quiet, deserted area. The families that stay rely on their God-given talents to create income and
a way to survive from year to year.
This story was fascinating to me, because it has been so long ago that people acted in such a way that showed strength of character,
compassion for their neighbor, and resourcefulness. The ways people pitched in
and helped each other to make ends meet. Julie, the mother, her reason for staying in the town was to
tell people how to be born again, and she did help some of them ask Jesus to save them.
Julia's Last Hope was so nice to read, and I enjoyed being "in" the story, in that time in America that was simpler,
yet more solid and reliable. Not so many empty distractions, like there are today.
The characters are believable, and their worries and concerns are what most people would be
thinking about if they were in that situation, decades ago. Their trust in God's faithfulness to provide all their needs was
a welcome exhortation. The overall attitude of awareness of Jesus and His love permeated the storyline.
I recommend this book to anyone, even non-Christians. It will give you a good idea of what life was like when Americans
were still respectable and friendly.
Romans 10:9-13


The Nanny's Amish Family (Redemption's Amish Legacies, Bk 1) (Love Inspired, No 1286)
Review Date: 3/16/2021


Book Review
The Nanny's Amish Family, written by Patricia Johns
I liked this book a lot, and I usually pass by anything published by Harlequin, but this one
had an Amish woman on the cover, so I decided to take a chance.
It is a superbly written story about an Amish schoolteacher, Patience, and Thomas, an Amish bachelor who
was given custody of his Englischer daughter, after the death of the child's mother. The little girl's
name is Rue, and she's an interesting child. Patricia Johns has a skillful way with words, and with creating
convincing personalities in each person. Thomas feels responsible for his newly-acquired daughter, and takes
the role of daet very seriously, and prayerfully. Patience helps out a lot with the child, and helps Rue to adjust
to her new surroundings, making the transition from Englisch to Amish easier for her.

The characters in this story were solidly believable as Christians would be in real life, and
the thoughts and prayers they sent up to God were familiar, and well expressed.
This is a clean Christian Amish fiction book, and I heartily recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading
good Amish fiction with a bit of romance, and a lot of family values.


No Ocean Too Wide (McAlister Family, Bk 1)
No Ocean Too Wide (McAlister Family, Bk 1)
Author: Carrie Turansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/6/2019


No Ocean Too Wide ~ Book review

No Ocean Too Wide, by Carrie Turansky, is a riveting story of a family in England caught up in the wretched child immigration scheme of the British Home Children, in the early 1900s. She includes an impressive amount of facts to make this Christian historical fiction one of the most compelling reads I've encountered in a while on the subject of orphans, and cold-hearted money-making schemes involving basically, the trafficking of children.

They either took them from homes under questionable pretenses, or brought them in from the streets, and then put them on a ship bound for Canada, to live as a domestic servant in someone's home. Ages as young as 5, and as old as 17, I believe, were forced to work as drudges, in many cases.

The characters in her book are Laura McAlister, and her siblings Garth, Katie, and Grace. Their mother, and their father, the neighbor Mrs. Graham, and Mrs. Palmer, the employee of Laura's mother.

Andrew Bolton is also a key character. He is a wealthy lawyer, and he and his friend are sent, by the British government,to investigate the goings-on of the children's orphanages. Suspicion had arisen because of one Dr. Barnardo, who supposedly took in hundreds of abandoned children from the streets of England, and gave them food, shelter, and useful skills. Dr. Barnardo was constantly in and out of court.

This is a great historical lesson which helps bring awareness on one of Britain's unsavory and repugnant chapters. I do recommend this for reading. Geared for adult comprehension, not really on a level that a teen or child would be able to grasp the significance of.


The Orchard
The Orchard
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/5/2022


Review of The Orchard

This was a good story about humility, rebellion, meekness, forgiveness, and strong family relationships that can only be found
in a family who loves Jesus and who thinks habitually on the words of God in the bible. I liked all of the characters, but the ones who
were most meaningful to me were Sol Bontrager, Ellie, and Dawdi Hezekiah. They were the glue that held the family together, in my opinion.
The dad, Lyle Hostetler, was a Godly man, who was a great example of perseverence and of truly adhering to the verses:[5] Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
Proverbs 3:6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. He was stretched beyond the limits of any parent, at one point in the story, and yet
he still didn't let his trust and faith in Jesus waver. He was a memorable example of what Godly men should be like.
I appreciate the professional and expert writing style of Beverly Lewis. I've read many of her books, and she did a good job of telling of the attitudes and social
evils of the Vietnam War era in America in an eye-witness type viewpoint. War protestors and war supporters were both represented accurately. I was in high school
during the war, and I do recall the same events, and the tv news showing the horrors of the war, and violence against pacifists, and against soldiers.
I highly recommend this book, it is several storylines in one, and all will keep the reader interested.


Plastic Canvas Mini Memo Purses: 15 Fabulous Purses Hold Tiny Memo Pads
Review Date: 3/11/2023


This is a great book of plastic canvas patterns for making mini memo pad holders, in the shape of a purse. So cute, and the patterns are very easy to follow, and complete. I've made several! They make nice gifts for friends and family and neighbors.
You will need some fringe to complete some of the purses, and buttons. You'll also need an assortment of beads to string onto a jewelry-making wire, to make the handles, and some kind of wire cutting tool.
Enjoy!
Romans 10:9-13; John 3:16-21


Promise Me This
Promise Me This
Author: Cathy Gohlke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/20/2019


Promise Me This~ by Cathy Gohlke
Book Review

Cathy Gohlke truly gives God the glory in this book, by repeatedly referring to our need for Jesus Christ, and His great love for us. This book is a good Christian historical fiction novel for that reason, and for the fact that the romance is very, very subtle, and the history is well-researched. The whole book is profound and penetrating in awareness and understanding of the history of that era, and the heart of man and his important relationship to God.

The story begins with the Titanic, vividly describing the wealth, luxury, and fanfare that went along with the maiden voyage of this vessel.

In Chapter One, you meet Michael Dunnigan, a poor, abused child trying to earn money and doing his best to keep out of the way of his angry, drunken uncle. Then in Chapter Two,you briefly meet Aunt Eleanor, who will become one of the vilest creatures in the story. Her twisted hatred and manipulations of the family will shock you.

Owen is also introduced in Chapter Two, and he has a true Christ-like heart and lives a life that surely pleases the Lord Jesus. The main character, Annie Allen, is the sister of Owen, and she is briefly rescued from the clutches of Aunt Eleanor by him, in hopes of bringing her to America after he has established a gardening business.

This book has so much to offer you, I hope you read it. Like I said, it begins with the Titanic, and takes the reader on through World War One, powerfully described and unforgettable as Mrs. Gohlke vividly describes the horrors of war. You feel as if you're on the front lines in Verdun, in Northeastern France, alongside the British Voluntary Aid Detachment nurses. The bombing by the Germans, the horrific casualties of the war, was aptly portrayed in this riveting dramatic story.

The lovely relationships and blossoming romances (all rated G) are but a glimpse into the love Mrs. Gohlke must have for her Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ.
I don't want to give away too much of this story, it's deep and profound, on so many levels a truly good Christian historical fiction novel. It would be wonderful if a movie was made about this. Simply wonderful!

Thank you, Cathy Gohlke, for using the talents God gave you to write such books that educate, entertain, and make us think about OUR relationship to Jesus Christ, the Savior of the world, the ONLY Way into Heaven and eternal life. May God richly bless you. Please keep writing, and never give up.
Jesus loves you. Romans 10:8-13, John 3:16-21


The Quieting (Bishop's Family, Bk 2)
The Quieting (Bishop's Family, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Woods Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/7/2022


The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Expertly written, entertaining story about several Amish people in a community called Stoney Ridge.
The characters are well-developed, and easy to become enmeshed with. Abigail was my favorite, she's
blunt, intelligent, more or less introverted, and she has taken over the geneological research from her
father, who seems to suffer from depression. David Stoltzfus, Abigail's uncle, is a widowed minister, with several children,
who recently moved
his family to Stoney Ridge, to become an assistant minister to their church. His mother has paid them all a visit
because she likes to be matchmaker, and believes she knows better than David whom he should marry.
There's also Freeman Glick, pastor of the church, and his family, and their stories are all captivating, too.
This is a well-written book, hard to put down, and has a strong theme of faith in God working everything out.
Suzanne's writing style, as usual, keeps the reader engaged throughout, even to the end of the book. There are no
lags, no boring parts, all of the story is fluid, with great progression.
A clean Christian fiction book, I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys Christian Amish fiction. This is book 2 in the series, but
I didn't need to read book one. The story is quite pleasant and also informative, as it touches on OCD, and autism. Enjoy!
Romans 10:8-13


Secrets on the Wind: Secrets on the Wind / Watchers on the Hill / Footprints on the Horizon
Review Date: 6/20/2019


Secrets on the Wind is the story of how Jesus can use people

to rescue other people from the depths of sin, and how He stays with us, guides and shapes us, through the knowledge of Him that has called us.
Stephanie Whitson wrote a remarkable book, about a young woman who was brought from an awful situation with an awful husband, into a life of healing
and peace.


Throughout the story, Mrs. Whitson skillfully weaves the truths of redemption through
God's only Son, Jesus Christ. The main character, Laina Gray, becomes the woman the Lord wanted her to be. This is done using relationships with other people, and by her seeking peace and understanding, trying to eradicate her past life and build a
new one, one she didn't think was possible,

but, as Stephanie Whitson shows the reader,
all things are possible through Christ.
I enjoyed reading every page of this story, because each sentence had substance. Nary a word was written as fluff or filler.

You can tell the author put time and thought and used the
skills and God-given talents to introduce the readers to the One who makes all things new.
Please read this book, you will greatly enjoy it.


A Silken Thread
A Silken Thread
Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/20/2019


A Silken Thread by Kim Vogel Sawyer

I received an advance reader copy of A Silken Thread from Waterbrook, a division of Penguin Random House, LLC, in exchange for an honest review.

A Silken Thread was about Laurel Millard and her plans to capture a wealthy suitor who can afford care for her mother and give Laurel the life she dreams about. She gets hired as a silk weaver at the Atlanta Cotton Exposition of 1895, and works at a loom most of the day, making lengths of silk for display and educational purposes aimed at the visitors to the Silk Room at the Exposition.

Laurel meets Willie Sharp, a security guard at the exposition, Langdon Rochester, the son of the owner of Rochester Steam Engines company, and a few young women who work with her in the Silk Room, giving guided tours of that area. She also meets Quincy, a friend of Willie's, who is hired as a groundskeeper at the exposition.

The book is well written, and the characters all connect nicely with each other. Mrs. Sawyer is skilled in blending the stories of each person into a good, solid historical fiction tale, which keeps the reader interested and engaged. I thoroughly appreciated her use of the King James bible when she wrote Scriptures into the stories, and she placed them appropriately. They added so much value to the whole book. I also liked the information about the Cotton Exposition, how the grounds were described in detail, which gave me a good picture of what they must have looked like.

Mrs. Sawyer dealt with racism in the book, too. In my opinion, she portrayed one character in particular well, and gave him insightful thought processing, which helped him overcome some things. Each character, really, matured and became more experienced in their views of life, and how people act. I liked the book, and do recommend it to anyone wanting a clean historical fiction story, with very little romance in it, and a LOT of substance!


Sixteen Brides
Sixteen Brides
Author: Stephanie Grace Whitson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 3/6/2021


Book review for Sixteen Brides, authored by Stephanie Grace Whitson
Mrs. Whitson has written another suberb historical fiction book, this time about women homesteaders
who came to claim their own land in the Nebraska Territory in 1871.
The author takes us through many experiences of what it was like, or may have been like, for women
as they left their homes and traveled by railroad to become independent land owners. We follow the stories of
6 women, and each narrative brings awareness of what it was like for them to become self-sustaining land owners.
They originally were told a lie by a man who basically was bringing women to the plains to supply men with
wives who would work hard and maybe be loved by their husbands, maybe not. The women found out, and
made up their minds to persevere and shun the men's proposals and strike out on their own, to claim the free
land promised to them originally in the newspaper ad.
I liked the King James bible verses at the beginning of each chapter, they gave an idea of what that chapter
was going to be about. There were several allusions to Christianity, and near the end, Mrs. Whitson included
more, which is how one expects Christian historical fiction to be. I hope she writes more about Jesus and the bible
in her future books.
This was a clean Christian book, the relationships were kept sincere and uncontaminated by today's overloaded
and sometimes vile suggestiveness that is in some Christian romance fiction, sad to say. I would recommend
this excellent book to anyone who enjoys reading stories about 6 different women working to create and organize their
life of autonomy in the 1800s plains of America.


Starting from Scratch (Lancaster Discoveries, Bk 2)
Starting from Scratch (Lancaster Discoveries, Bk 2)
Author: Kate Lloyd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/20/2019


Starting from Scratch is enjoyable from start to finish. Entertaining and rich in details, Kate Lloyd masterfully weaves the lives of her characters into a captivating story, rewarding the reader with a highly satisfying read that is difficult to put down. When I finished the book I found I wanted to read more of Kate's books, and God willing, I shall. Mrs. Lloyd truly has a God-given talent for writing, and I do hope to see many more books from her pen.

Starting from Scratch is told in first-person narrative, and the main character, 29-year-old, unmarried Eva Lapp, presents her day to day life in a way that authentically reflects her struggle

between staying with the Amish community, or cutting the ties and living in the verboten world of Englichers.

She is basically uprooted from her childhood home and relocated into a new job as the manager of a small cafe at a
plant nursery which is fairly close to her old home. I liked how she persevered, and how she handled
uncomfortable situations with insight and good-natured repartee.
A little bit of romance, not too much, and a lot of skillful relationship building.
Truly a good, clean Christian fiction book about the Amish, I recommend this to anyone who enjoys
Christian fiction.

Starting from Scratch (Lancaster Discoveries Book 2), reads very nicely as a stand alone
novel, too.

Romans 10:9-13; John 3:16-21


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: