Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Gwen H. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 4/26/2009


I bought this book through a book club on the reccomendations of other readers/writers and because I loved the story shared about the title. As it turns out, that was my favorite part of the book. I couldn't even finish reading it.


God's Gift
God's Gift
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 5/4/2011


I enjoyed this quick read. I finished it in two evenings. While it's not a "keeper" for me, I will read more by this author. The characters are relatable and the story line wasn't predicatble. Not too preachy, either. Nice story.


A Hope Undaunted (Winds of Change, Bk 1)
A Hope Undaunted (Winds of Change, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Lessman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/11/2016


I have very mixed feelings about this book. While well-written, I found the excessive use of period appropriate jargon a little heavy handed and distracting. While the faith aspect seemed sound, the excessive sensuality and drinking was unexpected for the genre. It will be a while before I consider other titles in the series or by this author.


Miserly Moms: Living on One Income in a Two-Income Economy
Miserly Moms: Living on One Income in a Two-Income Economy
Author: Jonni McCoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/7/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book and referred back to it often during the years we have been a one income family. It has new information that causes you to ask -"why didn't I think of that?" and common sense stuff you remember hearing or seeing somewhere else. I particularily enjoyed the recipes and links to additional information from other sources on similar helpful topics.


Pen on Fire : A Busy Woman's Guide to Igniting the Writer Within
Review Date: 4/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the title of the book and was already a fan of the "15 minutes" mindset thanks to FlyLady. It reads like a series of essays each with their own 15 writing assignment. I enjoyed the last half of the book more than the first. The are some gold nuggets - great new ideas and some I'd learned but forgotten - and lots of name dropping, as in so and so who wrote such and such, with great quotes and advice. Now, I have a new list of books to read!


Quick & Easy Quiltmaking: 26 Projects Featuring Speedy Cutting and Piecing Methods
Review Date: 1/28/2012


I like this book.

The fabric colors and the decor in which the finished quilts are photographed are dated, but in more modern fabrics the quilt patterns will shine!

The sidebar tips are definitely useful. Just flipping through the book the day it arrived I found the answer I was looking for.


Secrets (Glenbrooke, Bk 1)
Secrets (Glenbrooke, Bk 1)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 4/17/2009


Robin Jones Gunn was a new author for me.

I found her on PBS and loved this book so much I had to get the rest of the series from the library because I knew I'd never have the patience to wait to swap for them all.

The titles are each from a scripture verse. Her writing is descriptive and funny and carries a message.

I also loved book #2 Whispers; #3 Echoes; #4 Sunsets - I'm picking up the next 3: Clouds, Waterfalls and Woodlands, today. I'm sure I'll love them, too!


Teacher's Handbook of Children's Games: A Guide to Developing Perceptual-Motor Skills
Review Date: 2/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


FROM THE BACK OF THE BOOK. . .

Partial Outline Of Contents

1. Balance
2. Blindfold Games
3. Body Awareness
4. Chalkboard Games
5. Circle Games
6. Creative Movement and Imaginative Play
7. Eye Movements and Eye Hand Coordination
8. Finger Games
9. Finger, Hand and Arm Strengtheners
10. Follow the Leader Games
11. Free Play with Equipment
12. Listening Games
13. Memory Improvement
14. Numbers and Counting

17. Object Handling
18. Pre-writing Skills
19. Rhythmics
20. Social Skills

Plus 14 other exciting, inventive chapters!

FROM THE INSIDE FRONT COVER. . .

AS AN ADDED FEATURE, you get detailed information on such topics as:

Developmenatl Goal Planning
Lesson Plan organization
Understanding why games and activities are important. . .
Motivating all children and securing cooperation
Handling Competition, misbehavior and fears
Maintaining discipline without rigidity

... and much more!


Words Spoken True
Words Spoken True
Author: Ann H. Gabhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/13/2016


I loved this book! It is the first I've read by Ann H. Gabhart and I was pleasantly surprised by her skilled work. The "intrigue" was a nice surprise to the historical inspirational fiction plot line. As a crime drama fan and seasoned reader I was rewarded with a satisfying resolution. I can't wait to swap and read more by this author.


Writer Mama: How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids
Writer Mama: How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids
Author: Christina Katz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/23/2009


This is a great book, IF you want to be published in the non-fiction arena. My heart's desire is to be a published writer of inspirational FICTION and this book has done nothing but annoy me since I bought it! Her insights are sound, written from the trenches of motherhood and with humor. It just wasn't the book for me.


1 to 10 of 10
Want fewer ads?