Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Jo V. (jovan) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 302 - Page:
The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine
The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine
Author: Michael Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/5/2011


The Big Short is about the real estate bubble and it's subsequent meltdown. It's focus is what was happening on Wall Street. It's an excellent insight into what was going on behind the scenes and how blinded the people who should have seen it coming were. While this sounds very dry, it's really not because it follow several investors who did see it coming. Like most contrarians, these are interesting people. The book does not go into heavy analysis or charts and graphs--it's not that kind of book--but there is some technical talk that might go over some readers heads. You can get by with just pick up the general gist of that stuff, so you don't overtax your brain, and still find the book fascinating. I do wish the author had made it clear what caused the bankers to start making these loans (pressure from the Federal government via Freddy Mac and Fannie May) but the story he's telling doesn't really start until later.


The Bikini Diaries
The Bikini Diaries
Author: Lacey Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/20/2010


Toni Blake's mainstream romances are pretty hot, so I was curious how much of a difference there'd be when she dons her erotica nom de plume. Except that the sex is... shall we say, more adventerous?... there's not that much difference. She writes with more of a plot than the other erotica authors I've sampled and with a great deal of character depth.

I can't figure out what the reviewer who calls the writing immature and juvenile (which are synonyms, so we know she's not a writer) wants unless it's hard core porn. Personally, I prefer a story with my erotic scenes and Lacy Alexander delivers.


The Bird's Nest
The Bird's Nest
Author: Shirley Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/25/2009


from the back cover:

One woman . . .
Four persons

Beth. . . Sweet and docile
Betsy. . .Vicious and sadistic
Bess. . . arrogant and vulgar
Elizabeth. . .vulnerable and shy

Which of the four would gain control of her body?

Behind this lovely face lay a bird's nest of conflicting personalities, a savage struggle for sanity that made living a nightmare.


Biting The Dust: The Wild Ride And Dark Romance Of The Rodeo Cowboy And The American West
Review Date: 1/10/2008


An outstanding up-close and personal look at the hard life of rodeo cowboys.


Blind Submission
Blind Submission
Author: Debra Ginsberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book has been billed as The Devil Wears Prada meets the publishing industry. That's it exactly. Which means this has sooo been done. I only read through page 76, but it was so deja vu that I decided it wasn't worth my time to finish it. I did skim ahead, looking to see if there were going to be any surprises, any twists, that might make me want to read further but it only reinforced my opinion that this is exactly the same story. Yawn.


Bliss
Bliss
Author: Peter Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/20/2007


From the back cover:
Bliss is the story of Harry Joy, husband, father, successful advertising man in a subtropical Australian city, who "dies" for some minutes during a coronary. While his spirit floats free of his body lying prostrate on his suburban lawn, Harry recognizes the world he has been living in for thirty-nine years as Hell. Upon his return to life, his wife Bettina, angered by his refusal to allow her to work for the firm, engages in an affair withone of his employees. Their son and daughter are involved with drugs and sexually with each other. Manufacturers of carcinogens are among his agency's clients. The peopl around him are dishonest, brutal, and hypocritical--with one exception: Honey Barbara, a hippy flower child from the outback who comes to town just as Harry is dismantling his business by purging it of evil and whose tender, erotic feeling for Harry is returned in kind. The family commits Harry to a mental hospital; love is lost and regained; and finally the lovers achieve an alternative life that may well be Harry's Heaven.


Blood and Circumstance
Blood and Circumstance
Author: Frank Turner Hollon, Frank Turner Hollon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I like Frank Turner Hollon's books, but he's outdone himself here. I lost myself early in this book. Caught up in Joel's insightful examination of himself and who he is, his expectation that the insanity in his family will catch up with him, I became totally immersed in this. I did not completely anticipate the ending, which affects every insight revealed in the book, so this is something I will read again for the joy of seeing it unfold anew.


Blood Makes the Grass Grow Green: A Year in the Desert with Team America
Review Date: 1/14/2011


It's sometimes difficult to tell if the author is exaggerating for literary effect since there's often a cynical yet tongue-in-cheek tone to the narrative which makes it hard to be sure how seriously to take what he says. There is however much of interest here and there are moments where I have no doubt about the honesty of his narration. Worth reading, as long as you consider that author may be presenting a skewed view.


Blow Me Down
Blow Me Down
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 409
Review Date: 6/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


In spite of my being skeptical in the beginning about being "trapped" in a virtual reality game, the author came through with a plausible explanation for that that probably couldn't have been worked in any sooner than it was. Aside from being just a tad long for my taste (there were moments in the middle when I did want the story to move along just a little faster), I enjoyed the story. Katie McK doesn't write down to her audience which makes her a worthwhile romance author in my book. The characters here are enjoyable, the dialog is witty, and the sex is hot. What's not to like?


The Borgia Bride
The Borgia Bride
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 1/1/2010


Every bit as good as The Other Boleyn Girl. Read it in one day, it was so compelling. Will look for more by this author.


A Bride After All (Second-Chance Bridal, Bk 2) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 2047)
A Bride After All (Second-Chance Bridal, Bk 2) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 2047)
Author: Kasey Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I picked this book up because the author was recommended, otherwise, I would never have looked twice at a Silhouette. As it turns out, this book only reinforces my bias against Silhouette. It's a nice story. And imminently forgettable. There's really no conflict built into the story. The hero and heroine are attracted early and the only obstacle they have is that, gee, well, is it too early to declare their love when they've only known each other for 20 minutes?


Bullets Over Boise (Harlequin Love & Laughter, No 40)
Bullets Over Boise (Harlequin Love & Laughter, No 40)
Author: Kristin Gabriel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I was pretty disappointed in this book. Not only has the author obviously never been to Boise, but this contest winning book has a heroine who is TSTL.


Bully Boy: The Truth About Theodore Roosevelt's Legacy
Bully Boy: The Truth About Theodore Roosevelt's Legacy
Author: Jim Powell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/9/2010


A real eye-opener about who Teddy Roosevelt was and how he changed to course of America. His presidency was probably the first of the modern elitists and set our feet on the path of socialism. If you enjoy history, Powell is as clear-eyed as history gets.


Captive Bride
Captive Bride
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 12/23/2008


It's a great story. Of course it's been done before. At least as far back as the silent movies when Rudolf Valentino made The Sheik. But it launched Lindsey's career and is still my favorite of her books.


Careers for Your Characters: A Writers Guide to 101 Professions from Architect to Zookeeper
Review Date: 2/3/2007


This book was a huge disappointment. I had hoped for something that would lead me to career ideas for my characters that were not so overused as to be cliche; instead I got snippets about general catagories that are what I see so often in books. There was on listing (a subcatagory under firemen) that I have used for a character and so had done my own research on. The listing was accurate yet misleading. The only good thing was the list of books to read for further research, all of which I had already read.


Crush on You (Three Kisses, Bk 1)
Crush on You (Three Kisses, Bk 1)
Author: Christie Ridgway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 10/27/2010


This book had me laughing out loud in the first few pages. Something about the image of a woman in a strapless white wedding dress with striped pajama bottoms on underneath just tickled my funny bone. There was a moment where I was tempted to quit the book because the author implied that cancer killed a character with no warning. There is a better explanation but I lost confidence in the author until she told the complete story. Not sure why she did that because other than that, the story was good. I'll likely read the rest of the series.


Catch of the Day
Catch of the Day
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 8/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Frankly, when I hit page 90 and the hero is little more than a shadow and the heroine is still mooning over the priest, I was so depressed I wanted to have a good long general-purpose cry. Ms. Higgins needs to learn something about story structure so she can tell when it's time to give the story a little gas and get it moving. So... not only depressing but boring.

I've read a few by this author and none of them stood out in a field of mostly trying-too-hard contemporary romantic comedies.

I'm done with this author.


Catwatching
Catwatching
Author: Desmond Morris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/3/2010


I found this book to be nothing special and in fact wrong in at least one major area. Mr. Morris thinks only "pet" cats whose hunting instinct has been frustrated "play" with their prey. Having grown up on a farm with working cats whose only food supplement was a pan of milk at milking time, I've seen too many games of "catch and release" to be taken in by this unfounded supposition. In fact, too many of the "reasons" for cat behavior in this book are clearly suppositions.


The Child Queen: The Tale of Guinevere and King Arthur
The Child Queen: The Tale of Guinevere and King Arthur
Author: Nancy Mckenzie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/23/2007


Tired as I am of the Arthurian legend, the gentle retelling enticed me from the back cover to the last page. True to the legend, this feels like the story behind the story.


The Cinderella Scheme (Precious Gem Romance, No 139)
The Cinderella Scheme (Precious Gem Romance, No 139)
Author: Toni Blair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Maybe it's because this is Toni Blake's first novel (written as Toni Blair) that I expected more from it. It's a nice little romance, and I'm not sorry I read it, but it's nothing I'll read again (unlike her Toni Blake novels).


21 to 40 of 302 - Page:
Want fewer ads?