Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Carolina C. (carolinachapa) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
999: New Stories of Horror and Suspense
999: New Stories of Horror and Suspense
Author: Al Sarrantonio (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/28/2012


I originally checked this book out from the public library for Neil Gaiman's story, but I found myself loving all the stories.

A must have for any horror enthusiast.


A Certain Slant of Light (Light, Bk 1)
A Certain Slant of Light (Light, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Whitcomb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 1/8/2012


This book was on my 'to read' list for a while and after reading excellent reviews about it on Amazon, etc., I was so excited to read it.

I think I hyped up the book while waiting to read it and was somewhat disappointing when I did finally read it. Don't get me wrong, it was a good book and I finished it in a single day, but it wasn't entirely memorable.

The characters were believable and well developed, but like other reviews have stated, their actions not quite fully believable. I was a little confused as to what was going on the first chapter (I had to reread it) and it wasn't until the second half of the book that I was actually enjoying it. The ending was pretty clever. I also really enjoyed all the literary references throughout the book. I smiled when I read that the boy's name was William (Billy) Blake.

Another thing, this contains some graphic sex scenes. I was a bit embarrassed while reading it, I just wasn't expecting it, well at least not so soon and not so detailed.

Overall, I'd say it was an okay read. It's not something I would reread.


City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 659
Review Date: 4/1/2012


I absolutely loved this book! The characters were memorable and the story was great. I finished it in a few days. I cannot wait to get the rest of the books.


City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments, Bk 4)
City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments, Bk 4)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 5/28/2012


I hated this book, hated how the whole time I was reading this book I was on a coaster ride of emotions. One second I was happy with everyone, then I was frustrated at some of the characters (mostly Clary), then I was terrified at how the book would end (and I was right).

I did, however, love that most of the book was about Simon. He is one of my favorite characters, so much that I wish he were real and my friend.

I do love that I'm getting to read about these beloved characters more, but like another reviewer mentioned, this could have been all been wrapped up in City of Glass. Wasn't it supposed to be like that anyway?

I'm biding my time to read City of Lost Souls. I have a general idea where that story is going, but I know I'm still going to have A LOT of emotions about it.


City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, Bk 3)
City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, Bk 3)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 5/13/2012


LOVED THIS BOOK. It was fast-paced and action packed. I was just thoroughly satisfied with all of this book and the series overall. I cannot wait to finish Fallen Angels and Lost Souls and wait for Heavenly Fire!


Companions of the Night
Companions of the Night
Author: Vivian Vande Velde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 11/22/2011


I've read this book more than a few times and I never get tired of it. It's a quick read if you're looking to satisfy your vampire lit crave.


Forever (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Bk 3)
Forever (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Bk 3)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 11/22/2011


This wasn't my favorite of the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, but I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless. As I did the entire trilogy.

It took me a while to finish reading it, as opposed to the previous two which I finished in a few days. The beginning was promised everything I had hoped for in the last book, but it took most of the book to finally get to the, for lack of a better phrase, "good" parts.

I remember reading Shiver for the first time and thinking I was going to be so confused at the different points of view, but I got used to that and even looked forward to reading what everyone was thinking.

I loved all the tender moments between Sam and Grace; I loved the snarky comments between Cole and Isabelle. I love books that make me laugh and this definitely had a few laugh out loud moments.

It was sad to leave Mercy Falls and read the last chapter of Forever. I really anticipated more for the grand finale. I left like the ending was too rushed and the ending was too vague. Maybe the author wanted the reader to imagine their own ending for the characters, but I just wouldve liked a more concrete ending.

Final rating: 3 1/2 stars and I highly recommend this trilogy for the YA fantasy novel fan.


Going in Circles
Going in Circles
Author: Pamela Ribon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/11/2011


Before I read a book, I like to read what other people think of it. Most called it typical 'chick lit'. This was anything but that.
I loved reading this book! It did take about seventeen chapters to actually get to the roller derby part (which was the main reason I picked this book up) and I did feel like the majority of it was the main character complaining about her troublesome marriage and moping around, but I grew to really like her, really feel for her and eventually root for her to succeed.
Overall it was a good read. It was hilarious and witty throughout. I even laughed out loud at some parts, which I rarely do.
I give Going In Circles 4 panty stars.


A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, Bk 1)
A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, Bk 1)
Author: Libba Bray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 580
Review Date: 1/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book! I don't know why I didn't read it earlier.

I loved the time period, the names used, the storyline, everything! Kudos to Libba Bray for this trilogy!

I cannot wait to read more about Gemma and Kartik and Ann and everyone else!


How to Become a Famous Writer Before You're Dead: Your Words in Print and Your Name in Lights
Review Date: 1/8/2015


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was a quick read with so much helpful insight. I was able to take all the information I learned and apply it to my own writing journey.
This book was also such a pleasure to read. Gore's writing is witty and written in a manner that's comfortable. I felt so motivated to write after finished this book. Everything that was suggested to start writing and become a famous writer was practical.
I highly recommend it.


Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, Bk 1)
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, Bk 1)
Author: Becca Fitzpatrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 5/13/2012


Hush, Hush was a fun, quick read. The characters were memorable, and sometimes annoying. It was fast paced and a little unbelievable at times.
Most of the time I kept thinking about how this book was Twilight and The Mortal Instruments rolled up into one.
I will eventually read the rest of the books, but I'm not dying to get my hands on them like other series.
Overall a good read.


Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks
Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 617
Review Date: 11/22/2011


I highly recommend this book. I read it some time ago, so I can't go into specifics right now but I did thoroughly enjoy this read.


Into the Wild
Into the Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 484
Review Date: 5/28/2012


One of my favorite non-fiction books. I thoroughly enjoyed the book.


It Happened to Nancy : By an Anonymous Teenager, A True Story from Her Diary (Confident Collector)
Review Date: 5/28/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I read this book in two sittings after hearing rave reviews from some of my friends and I honestly did not like it. I know this is supposed to be in the pov of a young teenage girl, but I felt like I was reading a 10 year old's diary. And the subject matter isn't something that I'm used to reading, I admit it was a little hard to read at times.

Right after I read it, I posted it again on PBS.


Juno: The Shooting Script (Newmarket Shooting Scripts)
Juno: The Shooting Script (Newmarket Shooting Scripts)
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/17/2012


Loved reading this! Great insight for script enthusiasts.


The Odyssey
The Odyssey
Author: Homer, Robert Fitzgerald (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/14/2011


I had heard of The Odyssey before and tried to read it on my own, but it wasn't until it was assigned in my World Lit class that I feel in love with it. It's full of adventure, vengeful gods, lusting goddesses, disguise, and mystery. I don't understand why few have really taken the time to read Homer's works.
I really liked this translation in particular, Robert Fitzgerald did an amazing job of making this ancient text easier to digest and analyze.
I highly recommend reading The Odyssey, whether you are an English major or not.


Places I Never Meant To Be : Original Stories by Censored Writers
Places I Never Meant To Be : Original Stories by Censored Writers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/28/2012


This is definitely a keeper! All the stories were captivating and certainly original. I highly recommend it to lovers of anthologies and short stories.


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1263
Review Date: 5/28/2012


This was such a good read. I recommend it to anyone, whether they take interest in Holocaust related lit or not.


This Lullaby
This Lullaby
Author: Sarah Dessen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 5/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is my favorite Sarah Dessen book. I guess it's because I was Remy's age when I read this book, so it was more relatable for me. I read this years ago and just recently reread it. I was surprised at how much I remembered. I read so much that sometimes information in books that are not part of a series get dumped into the same part of my brain that some books are indistinguishable. Not this one! Dessen's characters are so well developed that they're unforgettable, especially Dexter.


Throw Like a Girl: Stories
Throw Like a Girl: Stories
Author: Jean Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/7/2012


I really enjoyed this story collection. I was able to relate to some characters more than others, but overall I'm really glad I decided to read this.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Want fewer ads?