Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Nina W. (moonmystkat) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
All Dressed Up and No Place to Haunt (Haunted Vintage, Bk 2)
All Dressed Up and No Place to Haunt (Haunted Vintage, Bk 2)
Author: Rose Pressey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/12/2015


A humorous, fun quick read for summer's day. Great story concept, and I LOVE the psychic cat, Wind Song, but I was disappointed that the humans are a bit too clueless to be realistic. They were more caricatures than characters. It really distracted from an intriguing plot. I wasn't expecting a town full of Mensa geniuses, but it would have been nice if at least some of the main characters had some basic common sense and street smarts. Otherwise, I enjoyed reading the book.


At Home: Warm Ideas  Special Touches for Home  Hearth with Envelope (The Country Friends Collection) (Country Friends Collection)
Review Date: 3/25/2016


Fun & great ideas


The Body in the Gazebo (Faith Fairchild, Bk 19)
The Body in the Gazebo (Faith Fairchild, Bk 19)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/15/2011


The old woman's story was interesting. Faith's persistant "better than everyone else" attitude (She's a food snob & fashion snob & I'm from New York snob)is turn off. When I first started reading the series years ago, I'd hoped that Faith's attitude would mellow over time. No. I don't think I'll be reading any future books in the series.


Collared For Murder (Pet Boutique, Bk 3 )
Collared For Murder (Pet Boutique, Bk 3 )
Author: Annie Knox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/22/2015


good, fun read.


How to Moon a Cat (Cats and Curios, Bk 3)
How to Moon a Cat (Cats and Curios, Bk 3)
Author: Rebecca M. Hale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/10/2011
Helpful Score: 2


After reading this latest book in the series, I'm still not sure if I like the series. There's obviously something there that peaks my interest enough to keep me reading each new book, but I can't say whether it's enjoyment, or a compulsion to try to fit all the discordant pieces together, or that it reminds me of the bizarre aspects of my own life.
This series is definitely not for those who like their mysteries tied up in a neat little bow, with no loose ends.


Make, Take, Murder (Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-N-Craft, Bk 5)
Make, Take, Murder (Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-N-Craft, Bk 5)
Author: Joanna Campbell Slan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/22/2011


I've read hundreds of mysteries and this is the first time I've felt complate apathy towards a main character. For me, Kiki Lowenstein was weak, uninteresting, and quickly forgetable. It ruined an otherwise intriquing plot.


Mrs. Jeffries Forges Ahead (Mrs Jeffries, Bk 28)
Mrs. Jeffries Forges Ahead (Mrs Jeffries, Bk 28)
Author: Emily Brightwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 7/15/2011


Another pleasant cozy mystery for a rainy afternoon.


Ojo De Dios: Eye of God.
Ojo De Dios: Eye of God.
Author: Charlet Albaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/23/2018


This book was exactly what I was looking for ... the techniques to make Ojo De Dios with variations from basic to complex that I can use to be as creative as I want.


Pumped for Murder (Dead-End Job, Bk 10)
Pumped for Murder (Dead-End Job, Bk 10)
Author: Elaine Viets
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 7/5/2011


Fun, funny, and a great read for a lazy summer afternoon.


Purl Up and Die (Knitting Mystery, Bk 13)
Purl Up and Die (Knitting Mystery, Bk 13)
Author: Maggie Sefton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/31/2015
Helpful Score: 1


A quick summer read, typical of this series. There were a few continuity issues in this book, and too many instances where characters pop into the yarn shop, have a brief conversation (dropping plot clues) and leave without knitting a stitch. It gave the story a very frenzied, disjointed feel, that distracted from an otherwise enjoyable book.


Purses and Poison (Haley Randolph, Bk 2)
Purses and Poison (Haley Randolph, Bk 2)
Author: Dorothy Howell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/15/2011
Helpful Score: 4


Did not enjoy this book at all. The title character was a self-centered, boring, airhead, and I found myself, uncharacteristicly, hoping that she'd get bumped off. I've cancelled my wishes for the other books in the series.


Reading Up a Storm (Lighthouse Library, Bk 3)
Reading Up a Storm (Lighthouse Library, Bk 3)
Author: Eva Gates
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/20/2016


Nice addition to the series. A mystery that kept me guessing who done it through most of the book, (and that's a rarity.) Looking forward to the next book in the series.


Something Buried, Something Blue (Lily Dale, Bk 2)
Something Buried, Something Blue (Lily Dale, Bk 2)
Author: Wendy Corsi Staub
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/30/2017


AWESOME! It's rare for a mystery to keep me guessing until the reveal. Love the setting and the characters. Can't wait until the next book in the series is released.


Stirring Up Strife (Hope Street Church, Bk 1)
Stirring Up Strife (Hope Street Church, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Stanley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/19/2011


A relaxing cozy mystery.


Treasures for the Christmas Tree: 101 Festive Ornaments to Make  Enjoy
Review Date: 9/9/2014
Helpful Score: 1


LOVE the Western Ornaments. Perfect for any cowgirl's tree, like mine. Plus there were other ornaments to suit everyone on my gift list.


White Colander Crime (Vintage Kitchen, Bk 5)
White Colander Crime (Vintage Kitchen, Bk 5)
Author: Victoria Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/2/2016
Helpful Score: 1


A step up in an already good cozy mystery series. Protagonist Jaymie Leighton's new boyfriend adds a needed spark to Jaymie's life, a solid backup to her investigations and rounds out the circle of her supporting friends and family. I'm already looking forward to the book in the series.


Winter Garden
Winter Garden
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 6/17/2015


I only read this book because it was the monthly read for group discussion for the book club I belong to ... It wasn't a genre I would normally choose, and I'd never heard of the author, so I wasn't expecting to like it ... but WOW! Once the intensity of "Anya's" real story started being revealed, I was drawn in and connected. One of my favorite reads in the past twelve months.


1 to 17 of 17