Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Debbie M. (sm) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Almost Strangers: A Novel
Almost Strangers: A Novel
Author: Delsa Winer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/9/2012


Horrible little book! The concept of the story was wonderful, the first half of the book was great. I even told my hubby I loved how the suspense was building up as we did not know who survived...his mistress or his wife. Then the second half of the story just went stupid! I made myself finish reading it but I hated every page. It wasn't completed for one character and it took the other character to "space"...it was just so far out there. I actually threw the book in the trash I was so mad I wasted my time reading it.


Beauty and the Beast
Beauty and the Beast
Author: Hannah Howell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 9/5/2009


I absolutely loved this book! I even read the ending once I got to the middle of the story-I couldn't wait. The relationship between these two was fun and the passion they shared was wonderful. For such a huge warrior he is so insecure!


The Calorie King Calorie, Fat & Carbohydrate Counter 2007
The Calorie King Calorie, Fat & Carbohydrate Counter 2007
Author: Allan Borushek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/7/2009


Wonderful book! Perfect size for carrying in your purse. I carry one as my hubby has diabates 1 and I always watch out for him. (mostly...)


Cameron Castle (Large Print)
Cameron Castle (Large Print)
Author: Marilyn Ross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/10/2010


Loved this book - read it in less than 2 hours - kept me in suspense until the very end. I liked the characters - was frustrated with the characters and in the end each character held their own.


Candle in the Window
Candle in the Window
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! Saura is one strong lady and just impressed me more and more as I read the story.

I was dearly in love with William - what a kind and tender heart he had. He was so good to Saura and wanted to make up for every pain she had had in her life.

One of my most favorite characters was "Bronnie". He made me laugh out loud everytime he appeared. The end when he is in the dungeon and "surprises" William was hysterical!

All in all this is one of my favorite stories I've read in a long time.


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 475
Review Date: 1/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely awesome. I've never read any of Mr. Spark's books before but I read this less than two hours and cried most of the way through. It is fantastic!


Dancing at Midnight (Blydon, Bk 1)
Dancing at Midnight (Blydon, Bk 1)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 334
Review Date: 11/22/2009


Loved this book! Belle is a strong heroine and never backed down from what she wanted or believed. John was wonderful-it was easy to love him.

I had read "Minx" previously which involves the characters that are in this book. So I read out of order which didn't matter at all, the characters are all fantastic!


Dangerous
Dangerous
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/4/2009


I loved this book!! Prudence has to be one of the best women ever written in a historical romance. She was fearless and smart and I loved her! I loved how they wrote Angelstone - he was able to look past the "outer" looks and really see Prudence.

A fast and enjoyable read.


Devotions For Nibblers
Devotions For Nibblers
Author: Kristen Johnson Ingram
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/12/2010


This is a fantastic book~ It may seem small in size but it's huge in encouragement, guidance, and love. Each page has a devotion/story, "For Further Reflection" and short "prayer". I love this book and am glad to pass it on.


Grace
Grace
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 3/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is absolutely beautiful and soul touching. I read this in least than 2 hrs and cried at the end. Grace is lovely.


His Captive Lady (Devil Riders, Bk 2)
His Captive Lady (Devil Riders, Bk 2)
Author: Anne Gracie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Nell and Harry - two wonderful wounded people who bring out the best in each other.

It was interesting the way they originally "met". Nell is not a great beauty in this book but through Harry's eyes she is breathtaking.

I loved the way she finally told him she loved him...


If He's Sinful (Wherlocke, Bk 2)
If He's Sinful (Wherlocke, Bk 2)
Author: Hannah Howell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/25/2010


I enjoyed this story - although I am not sure what the title really means. You can't but fall in love with Penny and her interesting family. I fell in love with all her "boys" and the way they felt about her and tried to protect her. The little boy Paul will steal your heart away and make you laugh out loud.

I thought Ashton was kinda weak. To sleep with someone you know you have strong feelings for but keep reminding her that he will be marrying someone else...not many women would go along with that, would they?

Towards the end when all of Penny's family comes together it was hysterical.


The Joy of Weight Loss
The Joy of Weight Loss
Author: Norrisj. Chumley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/7/2009


A wonderful book!! I used to get Mr. Chumley's newsletters every week and they were so full of information. After years of trying to lose weight he turned to God and followed His plan and finally suceeded.


Led Astray
Led Astray
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 5/5/2012


I really liked this quick-read story. I felt sorry for the 'bad' boy - circumstances made him act out as he did. He was so in love with Jenny and his heart was hurt alot by her - even when he tried to do right by her and she was a good character. Her feelings were so torn-she thought she was the good girl her fiance wanted but deep down she really wasn't and Cage was the only one who could feel that in her.

I would recommend this story - quick read, complicated story and I love Sandra Brown!


Lie By Moonlight (Vanza, Bk 4)
Lie By Moonlight (Vanza, Bk 4)
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I thoroughly enjoyed this book - I read it three times! The character of Concordia and Ambrose are both so perfect - they are complete opposites which makes for a delightful story.

I enjoyed the mystery of the story as well as watching Ambrose & Concordia (what a name) get closer. The four girls involved are a pure delight!


The Lion's Lady (Crown's Spies, Bk 1)
The Lion's Lady (Crown's Spies, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 10/21/2009


This is one of my most favorite books I've read in a long time.

At first I was a little confused with the Dakota family, then when I read more, this beginning made the story essential. I loved Lyon and Christina. She was so strong and he admired that strength in her. He never tried to stiffle her.

I truly loved the book - couldn't wait for it to end to see what happened but then wished it had gone on longer.


Love and Mayhem
Love and Mayhem
Author: Nicole Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I LOVED this book, was told by hubby not to read it at night as I kept laughing out loud. This was just a fun, good, relaxing book which we all need to read sometimes.

My favorite chapter of this whole book is when he goes to the Abbey to get her....


Love Is Blind
Love Is Blind
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is hysterical from start to finish! My favorite part was the fire in her room...and what happens afterwards.


Minx (Splendid, Bk 3)
Minx (Splendid, Bk 3)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 9/17/2009


I thought this was a wonderful book! I loved "Henry". She was written as both strong and yet with a gentle heart. It took a while for Dunford to realize his heart but when he did he wasn't hesitant to tell her his feelings.

there is an awful mix-up towards the end and makes you want to smack an interferring society woman but it works out wonderfully in the end.


Reason for Hope : A Spiritual Journey
Reason for Hope : A Spiritual Journey
Author: Jane Goodall, Phillip Berman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was such an incredible book-Ms. Goodall writes beautifully. She has gone through so much but still has tremendous faith and love.

I read this at nighttime and it just gave me a feel good feeling.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Want fewer ads?