Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Janey E. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Bestiary
Bestiary
Author: Jack Dann (Editor), Gardner Dozois (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/21/2007


A wonderful collections of short stories about, what else, beasts. Magical beasts, fairy tale beasts, mytholocial beasts, made-up pretend beasts. Includes stories by t.H.White, Tanith, Lee, Gene Wolff, Jane Yolen, and Ursula K. Le Guin. When you only want a little bit of fantasy, not a whole book's worth.


Centaur Aisle (Xanth, Bk 4)
Centaur Aisle (Xanth, Bk 4)
Author: Piers Anthony
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 4/21/2007


The fourth in the long Xanth series, this is still a good read. Funny with plenty of puns and suble jokes. Fantasy gone a little wacky. I love the whole series, but the earlier ones are best.


The Clairvoyant Countess (Madame Karitska, Bk 1)
The Clairvoyant Countess (Madame Karitska, Bk 1)
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 9/23/2009


I loved this book. The Countess is a wonderful character, an upbeat, offbeat, down to earth type of woman who has been around the block, around the world but still believes in hope, love, and happy endings. I wish D. Gilman could do a zillion more with this character in them.


Death Dines In
Death Dines In
Author: Claudia Bishop (Editor), Dean James (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/23/2007


A delightful collection of stories with recipes, some of them VERY good.


Death on the River Walk (Henrie O, Bk 5)
Death on the River Walk (Henrie O, Bk 5)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/21/2007


Wonderful flavor of the River Walk in San Antonio.


The Empty Throne (Xena: Warrior Princess (Berkley))
The Empty Throne (Xena: Warrior Princess (Berkley))
Author: Ru Emerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/11/2011


Based on the TV show from a few years ago, this is a good read. Not "literature" by any means but it holds your attention. Good story line a lot of those old Greek gods thrown in. The empty throne is the throne of Ulysses/Odesseyus, gone to the Trojan war. Humorous and funny. I enjoyed it.


Exile's Valor: A Novel of Valdemar (Valdemar Novels)
Exile's Valor: A Novel of Valdemar (Valdemar Novels)
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 9/16/2016


Very enjoyable. A stand-alone read but fills in lots of info on this wonderful diverse universe that Ms. Lackey has created. Highly recommended for any one who enjoys fantasy.


Fantasy: The Best of the Year 2007
Fantasy: The Best of the Year 2007
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/2/2016


Overall, a very good read. I like anthologies and I like fantasy, so a good collection of 2007.


Gnomes
Gnomes
Author: Wil Huygen, Rien Poortvliet (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/15/2007


Beautifully drawn illustrations. Quite cute and endearing. I simply have to dispose of some of my books. So imaginiative.


A Guide to the Star Wars Universe
A Guide to the Star Wars Universe
Author: Bill Slavicsek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/5/2018


Got it for my nephew - he LOVED it. Wouldn't let it go so I could look at it. I won't be relisting this anytime soon. He thought it was a great book.


In the Mood for Murder (Homefront, Bk 2)
In the Mood for Murder (Homefront, Bk 2)
Author: M. T. Jefferson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/3/2007


Overall I liked this book. It has a good plot. The author could have done a little bit better on her characters but it is a good read. Has a lot of WW II details about the "home front" and a real 1940's "feel" to it that makes it different from other cozy series.


Mark of the Lion (Jade del Cameron, Bk 1)
Mark of the Lion (Jade del Cameron, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne M. Arruda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/27/2016


Wonderful escapism read. Beautiful descriptions of the landscape and animals of 1920's Africa. Plot has several unexpected twists and turns. While some of the minor and bit characters are as expected, the main characters are very well fleshed out, believable, and interesting. Certainly very well worth your time.


Murder on the Silk Road
Murder on the Silk Road
Author: Stefanie Matteson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/21/2007


This has plenty of exotic flavor. There is a lot on palenotology along with history of the Buddha caves in China. The murder mystery is not half bad either.


My Favorite Fantasy Story
My Favorite Fantasy Story
Author: Martin Greenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/4/2013


Very dated material. More an intellectual exercise rather than a pleasure read. Interesting to see what inspired the "big name" writers who chose the stories, but the stories themselves - don't bother.


On Crusade : More Tales of the Knights Templar (Tales of the Knights Templar)
Review Date: 5/6/2015


Well written. I don't know how closely these stories follow the actual history of the Knights Templar, but these are very sad tales. I didn't enjoy this one very much. Somewhat depressing.


The Owls of Gloucester
The Owls of Gloucester
Author: A.E. (Miles, Keith) Marston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/15/2007


Edward Marston is consummate researcher and author. This series, set just after the Battle of Hastings, really invokes the flavor and the spirit of Mediveal England in the 1060's. Ralph and Gervard are very real characters to me, due to Marston's excellent writing. After reading one of his books, I always crave MORE! Excellent read!!


Realms of Magic (Forgotten Realms Anthology)
Review Date: 7/6/2016


Funny, sad, whimsical, thought-provoking - I liked them all. A good read. I also liked the fact that the various authors carried over characters from other authors stories.


Rogue Wave (Best New England Crime Stories 2015)
Review Date: 8/9/2016


I like reading about other places that are so different from where I am. Worrying about ocean tides, cold weather in August, leaf peepers - all really enjoyable. So very different from Texas. And add in mysteries - what could be better?


The Shield of Time (Time Patrol, Bk 4)
The Shield of Time (Time Patrol, Bk 4)
Author: Poul Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/21/2007


Time travel at its best.


Statue of Limitations (Den of Antiquity, Bk 11)
Statue of Limitations (Den of Antiquity, Bk 11)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 4/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I like this series. It is so way-out-there absurd. Larger than life characters and good plots.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Want fewer ads?