Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Mary R. (greatdanelover) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 132 - Page:
An Affair with Mr. Kennedy (Gentlemen of Scotland Yard, Bk 1)
An Affair with Mr. Kennedy (Gentlemen of Scotland Yard, Bk 1)
Author: Jillian Stone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/12/2013


I thoroughly enjoyed the story - the writing, the hero (my favorite kind) and the heroine (very independent). Enough action and fairly nasty "bad guy" to keep the reader's interest. I recommend. I hope the next two stories are as interesting.


Almost a Gentleman
Almost a Gentleman
Author: Pam Rosenthal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A very different take on a woman masquerading as a man. A very beautiful love story. A confident, assertive, but tortured, woman leading a double life and an extremely confident, warm, outgoing man to help her through her tortures. Also, the mystery of who wants her dead. I thoroughly enjoyed it.


At the Queen's Summons (Tudor Rose, Bk 3)
At the Queen's Summons (Tudor Rose, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 7/18/2013


This was the best of the trilogy. Pippa and Aiden were thoroughly likeable and lovable. It was a fun read. She ran through life covering up her need to find her family by being outrageous. He needed to save his people. These impossible tasks drew them together.


Barely a Bride (Free Fellows League, Bk 1)
Barely a Bride (Free Fellows League, Bk 1)
Author: Rebecca Hagan Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 10/29/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A quick, easy, entertaining read. I'm looking forward to reading the others in this trilogy.


Be Mine Tonight (Brotherhood of Blood, Bk 1)
Be Mine Tonight (Brotherhood of Blood, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 279
Review Date: 1/17/2010


A poignant love story. Not enough action, but the developing relationship between Chapel and Prudence was a sensual feast.


Beauty Like The Night (Rutledge Family, Bk 1)
Beauty Like The Night (Rutledge Family, Bk 1)
Author: Liz Carlyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 9/10/2009


Cam and Helene come together again after years of separation in order to help his daughter regain her speech. There is the mystery of his first wife's death and the attraction between them which keeps the story moving along. It is a little too long, but reads well and has a satisfying ending.


Bewitched (Lords of Danger)
Bewitched (Lords of Danger)
Author: Heather Cullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This story was so sappy it made my teeth grind. It was a cute story, but long and drawn out. It took pages for anyone to say or do anything. Having never read Heather Cullman before I was surprised by the syrupy sweetness of her story. I realize that some people like this type of story, but I was disappointed.


The Blanchland Secret (Harlequin Historical, No 630)
The Blanchland Secret (Harlequin Historical, No 630)
Author: Nicola Cornick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/28/2015


A most enjoyable story from a favorite author.


Body Trace (C.S.U. Investigation, Bk 1)
Body Trace (C.S.U. Investigation, Bk 1)
Author: D. H. Dublin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 6/16/2021


Loved the story; loved the characters. Looking forward to the next in series.


Bound by Your Touch
Bound by Your Touch
Author: Meredith Duran
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 5/18/2011


I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this story. I loved the characters. Their strengths and weaknesses were very apparent to the reader. In my opinion, it was a very cool love story.


By His Majesty's Grace (Three Graces, Bk 1)
By His Majesty's Grace (Three Graces, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Blake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


If you enjoyed Jennifer Blake's "Master At Arms" series, you will enjoy this new series as well. Rand and Isabel must battle those closest to them and the intrigues of the English court in order to keep Rand out of the tower. A thoroughly enjoyable story without all the deceit and angst of most stories of this sort.


The Club
The Club
Author: Sharon Page
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 9/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. If flowed from one event to another without a lot of angst (ugh!) and self recrimination. The H/H worked together to solve the problem and fell in love along the way. The author ignored a few propriety items, but the heroine was a widow, after all, and it is fiction.


Conor's Way
Conor's Way
Author: Laura Lee Guhrke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/5/2012


This is one of the finest love stories I have read in a long time. Conor and Olivia strive hard to maintain their self respect which leads them to love and respect each other. I love Laura Lee Guhrke and have had this on my wish list for a long time. I finally bought it for $.99 for my kindle and am so glad I did. I'm just sorry I cannot share it with anyone else.


Countess of Scandal (Daughters of Erin, Bk 1)
Countess of Scandal (Daughters of Erin, Bk 1)
Author: Laurel McKee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Thoroughly enjoyable read. Starcrossed lovers fighting on opposite sides of the Irish/English Union. Interesting history lessons. Good love story.


A Courtesan's Scandal (Scandalous, Bk 3)
A Courtesan's Scandal (Scandalous, Bk 3)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 1/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A tragic love story, but finally rectified by the strength and honor of our hero, the Duke of Darlington. I read it in one day. Could not put it down until I saw how it played out.


The Dangerous Gentleman (Rogues of Regent Street, Bk 1)
The Dangerous Gentleman (Rogues of Regent Street, Bk 1)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 11/2/2012


I found this story tedious. The amount of angst that the H/H displayed was almost more than I could bear. But I endured if only to find out the mystery of birth at the end of the story. Having said that, it can't be all bad since it kept me reading until the end. I'll just have to see how the other Rogues of Regent Street fare.


The Dangerous Mr. Ryder (Those Scandalous Ravenhursts, Bk 1) (Harlequin Historicals, No 903)
Review Date: 9/18/2016


I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It dragged in the middle as most of these stories do, but Jack and Eva figured it out and made it work.


Dangerous Passions (Black Phoenix, Bk 2)
Dangerous Passions (Black Phoenix, Bk 2)
Author: Lynn Kerstan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/10/2010


Thoroughly enjoyable story. A poignant love story. The mystery and action not quite as good as the first in the series, but nonetheless intriguing. But there are still mysteries left unsolved. Who wants to kill Lady Eve? and who set up Johnny Brandon to be a traitor? They may never be solved, unless a third story is written.


Dark Road to Darjeeling (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 4)
Dark Road to Darjeeling (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 4)
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 10/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


As usual, Deanna Raybourn does not disappoint. The only thing missing is the anticipation of the relationship between Julia and Brisbane, as they are already married. But there is still the tussle between the two of them - she wants to help and he won't let her - so she does it anyway. I love it.


Daughter of the Game (Charles and Melanie, Bk 1)
Daughter of the Game (Charles and Melanie, Bk 1)
Author: Tracy Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 6/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


An excellent story; I could not put it down.


1 to 20 of 132 - Page:
Want fewer ads?