Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Gerri W. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/22/2014


Full disclosure; I'm a huge Patterson; but, this one left me feeling very blah. Used to love this series but felt this book, had too many different plots going on, was extremely predictable and would have liked the ending to be more definitive. It was a good no-brainer read but never felt like it was one I could get my teeth into - not the story excitement as I've come to expect in a Patterson book


American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 11/4/2011


One of the best in the Mitch Rapp series! This book captivated me from beginning to end. Could not put it down. This book has an element of reality to it and Flynn has really done a great job of researching the backgound regarding security and various elements of the government that I do believe are present.


The Apostle (Scot Harvath, Bk 8)
The Apostle (Scot Harvath, Bk 8)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 4/13/2010


Best Brad Thor book to date!!!!! This was a great read; could not put it down. This book was a thriller.


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 982
Review Date: 7/26/2011


I have read Emily Griffin's prrvious books and loved a couple and liked the others. However, I found Baby Proof to be a very slow read, and extremely predictable.


Black & Blue ((Detective Harriet Blue, Bk 0.5)
Black & Blue ((Detective Harriet Blue, Bk 0.5)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/21/2017


Very disappointing; found the characters rather boring as well as the plot.


Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard
Review Date: 8/1/2016


The best memoir that I've read in quite sometime. A must read especially for someone down on their luck and believing there is no way out. A remarkable story of determination and courage.


The Captured : A True Story of Abduction by Indians on the Texas Frontier
Review Date: 10/18/2021


Book was loaded with a lot of good info but went a bit too overboard in descriptions (gory) for me.


Chase (Michael Bennett, Bk 9.5)(BookShot)
Chase (Michael Bennett, Bk 9.5)(BookShot)
Author: James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/28/2017


This was my second BookShot novel; just not a fan. These books are too short on stpry and really lacking in substance.


Confessions of a Murder Suspect (Confessions, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Murder Suspect (Confessions, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/19/2014
Helpful Score: 1


As a huge Patterson fan I was very let down by this book. Initially, I had a hard time getting on board with the story line but got over that and found the book to be OK. However I found the ending very predictable and I was left feeling that this author surly could have come up with far better conclusions. Most of the Patterson series books leave me wanting more and anxious for the next novel; not, sure I'll continue with this series.


The Consequences of Love
The Consequences of Love
Author: Sulaiman Addonia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/29/2012


What a great story even though there were parts that often broke my heart. It was a wonderful learning experience about the history and a culture I knew very ittle about.


Doctor Zhivago
Doctor Zhivago
Author: Boris Pasternak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/30/2020


Having absolutely loved the movie (seen it three times) I think I went into this novel with expectations way too high. I did not enjoy the book nearly as much as I did the movie. Pasternak deserves high praise for his courageous writings, especially this novel; however, I just was not able to connect with the various characters. Too many of the historical references were way to short in description and, IMO would only be understood by someone with a high level of knowledge in Russian history.


The Dressmaker
The Dressmaker
Author: Kate Alcott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/25/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Thought it was a good book; altho not one of my favs, I do recommend it for an easy, enjoyable read.


The Drop (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
The Drop (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 10/12/2012


One of the best Harry Bosch novels, (Lincoln Lawyer was my favorite)moves along from start to finish.


Fearless: The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team SIX Operator Adam Brown
Review Date: 3/4/2014


One of the best books I've read about courage and sacrifice. All SEALS are heroes and hopefully all who read this book will get a better understanding of all they do for our country.


First Sight (Large Print)
First Sight (Large Print)
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/19/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I would rate this novel very disappointing. The main character was pretty good but the book was far too full of meaningless dialogue. Like the last few Steel novels the ending was predictable about halfway through. Wish shed write fewer novels and concentrate on writing books with some substance.


Hidden Order (Scot Harvath, Bk 12)
Hidden Order (Scot Harvath, Bk 12)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/25/2014


As a huge "Scot Harvath" fan I found this book disappointing and difficult to get through - usually I read a Brad Thor book in about 2 days; this one was a struggle. Although the book picked up the last half, I found the first half rather boring with too much idle chit-chat about Federal Reserve. Yes, the history was important to the story but felt there was far too much unnecessary info written about it; but,full disclosure that could be because I read The Creature From Jekyll Island sometime ago. Hope his next book will be the usual thriller I'm used too!


His Bright Light : The Story of Nick Traina
His Bright Light : The Story of Nick Traina
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 12/12/2014


Although this is a touching story and to have a child die has got to be a nightmare experience for a parent, I feel this book was nothing more than a cleansing of the soul for "d.s". Perhaps I overlooked the part where she as the mother takes responsibility for the overlooked clues of a very, very serious problem; too much blame put on others while there is too much emphasis on "her" life, her career and her needs that seemed to come first. I know from firsthand experience the difficulties of dealing with depression - it's not easy but to many incidents were left unaddressed......just my opinion.


The Last Time I Saw Paris
The Last Time I Saw Paris
Author: Elizabeth Adler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/24/2010


I liked this book but for me personally it was just an OK read. I'm not really into the sappy/love story books and only ordered the book as I'd read a good review about in in our local newspaper. Unfortunatley the review was misleading. For folks that like this type of story, I think they would rate it much higher.


Love in the Time of Cholera
Love in the Time of Cholera
Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Edith Grossman (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 4/15/2012


Found this to be a difficult read and somewhat disappointing. Maybe I was tainted by all they hype over this book over the years.


The Midwife Murders
The Midwife Murders
Author: James Patterson, Richard DiLallo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/24/2021
Helpful Score: 2


Another Patterson disappointment. Unbelievable story line. Wish Patterson would go back to old writing style and put out fewer books but with some good quality stories.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
Want fewer ads?