Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Annette T. (AnnieTea) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 12/13/2010


OK this is a great book if you can sit and not stop reading. Reacher is one of my favorite real men and he proves it here. Talk about keep you on the edge of your seat. The discriptions of the cold west actually made me feel cold sitting in my warm and cozy chair. It will be a great read. Suspense abounds.


Abra Cadaver (Jake Merlin, Bk 1)
Abra Cadaver (Jake Merlin, Bk 1)
Author: James Tucker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/6/2008


Pittsburgh, medical,murder and magic it was a good combination. I thought it was a good read.


The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 8/5/2009


Just too much side story about every item. It really broke up the flow of the story and made it hard to stay focused. I liked the basic story early CSI ideas and a woman policeman but too much decoration.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 6/26/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I really enjoyed this book. I guess if you would like to feel from the poor south this would be a good read. It is also encouragging that it's important to fight for and stick too something you really want. Sometimes our heart leads our heads and families do have a way of holding on to us. You will feel good when you finish the story.


Away
Away
Author: Amy Bloom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2009


I enjoyed this book but I kept wondering how some people manage to get all the bad luck and still keep going. Makes me rethink how easy my life really is now. Takes place in the 1920's and as an imigrant life was not easy anyway.


Bad Move (Zack Walker, Bk 1)
Bad Move (Zack Walker, Bk 1)
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/22/2010


I started this book and thought oh hum another just OK story but as I read it kept getting funnier and the characters more interesting and I started to really like the story. The lead character gets into those same kind of goofy places we all find ourselves once in a while when we try to hard to interfere in other peoples lives. Good story just have patience.


Bitter Medicine (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 4)
Bitter Medicine (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 4)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 7/31/2009


I really like V.I. she always seems to be able to get herself into and out of trouble. I can see how this book would be a good start for other women slueths and women writers as well. It must be the gut feelings they always seem to have.


Blame It on the Rain: How the Weather Has Changed History
Blame It on the Rain: How the Weather Has Changed History
Author: Laura Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


History is always amazing and this book just adds another view to how it might of happened. We often take the weather for granted but a rained out picnic is nothing to compare to some of the stories included here.


The Coffee Trader
The Coffee Trader
Author: David Liss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 6/29/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Imagine Wall street in the 1800's with all the deal making that goes with it. Now add the plight of being Jewish with all the restrictions and problems of the times. Ever wonder how coffee in the morning got started, this gives a good idea along with a good story of what family life was at the same time.


The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire, Bk 1)
The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire, Bk 1)
Author: Craig Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/2/2015


I liked the feel of the characters like you are part of the family as you read the story.


Dancing at Midnight (Blydon, Bk 1)
Dancing at Midnight (Blydon, Bk 1)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 334
Review Date: 2/15/2019


Pleasant mix of romance book with a dash of humor and a mystery added for good measure.


The Front (Winston Garano, Bk 2)
The Front (Winston Garano, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 8/12/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Ms Cornwell seems to have had an idea for a story but it just never becomes cohesive. The characters seem to be disjointed and adding lots of space doesn't make a thicker book better. Very disappointing.


Havana Heat (Lupe Solano, Bk 5)
Havana Heat (Lupe Solano, Bk 5)
Author: Carolina Garcia-Aguilera
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/27/2009


This was a enjoyable read very much like a Cuban Stephanie Plum. It also gives a feeling of what it means to be Cuban in America without too much political content. It would be a nice read between books that take a lot of concentration. I also wanted to have cuban food after some of the meals discribed. Maybe I will tonight. Enjoy.


In the Bleak Midwinter (Rev. Clare Fergusson / Russ Van Alstyne, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really like this author. Her characters are real people and not the average characters. Where else have you run into a priest that is female and wants to get into the real action of the small town. Russ the police chief is perfect as her partner and the attraction between them is fun to feel.


In the Company of the Courtesan
In the Company of the Courtesan
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 10/13/2008


This book surprised me in that it gives you a new historical view of an old profession as well as having a tale of the lives of those living in Venice during the 1500's.


In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 838
Review Date: 11/11/2013


I really enjoyed this book. I like a a story where I haven't figured out the ending by the third chapter and this one doesn't let you in on the secret till the end.


The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 9/30/2008


Not every lawyer works from their car but the speed of this novel makes it seem lke a good idea. Fast action and a smooth operator keep your attention.


Mind Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 7)
Mind Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 7)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 316
Review Date: 1/9/2009


I really like John Sandford but this one really kept me on edge and excited. Davenport is really a person you would love to have on your case. Humor is alwaays present but so are the crimes and it keeps you guessing. Lots of good characters.


One Grave Too Many (Diane Fallon, Bk 1)
One Grave Too Many (Diane Fallon, Bk 1)
Author: Beverly Connor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 8/29/2009


What a great surprise once I started reading, I really wasn't prepared to find myself caught up in this seek and find tale. I couldn't stop once I got started it was a great read and very enjoyable characters.


Out of the Deep I Cry (Rev. Clare Fergusson / Russ Van Alstyne, Bk 3)
Review Date: 8/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really like Russ and Clare two of the most unlikely pair of sluths and romance matches. Never know what secrets small towns can tell. This is the 3rd in a series and I'm now going to read the others really caught my attention.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
Want fewer ads?