Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Patricia J. (pattiejordan) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Birthday Parties: Best Party Tips & Ideas
Birthday Parties: Best Party Tips & Ideas
Author: Vicki Lansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/18/2007


Fantastic. I used this book for three years and am sure you will enjoy it as well.
Lansky offers a comprehensive and creative guide filled with tips on everything from sending invitations to writing thank-you cards, with party themes, ideas for favors, entertainment, and decorations in between. Recipes and menu ideas are also included--with an emphasis on special dietary needs--and step-by-step planning and shopping checklists. 13 illustrations.


Black and Blue
Black and Blue
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book to be excellent. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. It tells a painful and real story of many women in society today.


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is by far Jennifer Weiner's best book. I thought that 'Good in Bed' was fairly good, but I did not care for 'In Her Shoes'. I was hesitant to read 'Little Earthquakes' but am so glad that I did. I found myself unable to put it down!


A Marble Woman: Unknown Thrillers of Louisa May Alcott
Review Date: 1/27/2007


These gruesome, passionate stories reveal a darker side of Alcott. Yet, in their mastery of suspense and psychological drama, they attest to the multifaceted genius of their creator. While Alcott wrote many of these "blood and thunder tales, " editor Madeleine Stern selects Alcott's most unforgettable and thrilling stories for this publication.


Pinduli
Pinduli
Author: Janell Cannon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/18/2007


The illustrations in 'Pinduli' are fantasic. My kids were totally hooked on the book and actually sat still. There's one illustration where Pinduli looks so sad, you just want to pull her out of the book and give her a hug. I love the illustrations more and more every day. This book is a great tool to help teach children that everyone is different and what happens when people (or animals in the book's case) get teased.


Rise and Shine
Rise and Shine
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Anna Quindlen has developed an enormously likable writing voice, and by telling her tale through the humble voice of an unassuming naif, she allows her readers the illusion that we all might live securely within the velvety pink confines of the New York maw, safely out of the way of those silver teeth. She makes the city accessible and downright neighborly.


Running with Scissors : A Memoir
Running with Scissors : A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 408
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


To say that Augusten Burroughs had an unusual childhood would be an understatement. His eccentric mother -- a poet -- left him in the care of her shrink, a man who might have benefitted from a little therapy himself. Somehow, Augusten survived, and the result is this memoir, one both horrifying and hysterical.


Sea Glass
Sea Glass
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 7/7/2007
Helpful Score: 23


Excellent book. One of the few books I could not put down. The characters are well developed and the story comes together so well. I highly recommend this.


A Twist in the Tale
A Twist in the Tale
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/27/2007


Fantastic book. I've read this and recommended it to several people. Don't miss this one. Easy read, since it is a collection of short stores.


1 to 9 of 9
Want fewer ads?