Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Sandra Phillips (rolfeswife) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 80 - Page:
All About Us
All About Us
Author: Peter Andre
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/21/2014


I just happened to see on the WEB, a picture of a british Celebrrity, Katie price, that is how my interest in Peter Andre began.He was a fledgling celebrity Rock Star ( has a gorgeous voice, I YouTubed it :) anyway, he met Katie Price (a british Sex Kitten celebrity)when he was in a British celebrity Show, "I am a celebrity, get me outta here" when they were to survive on an Island with nothing but a few dried beans and some rice.he couldn't resist her, but didn't hook up til she chased him after they show ended.Well, I just "had" to read more about this cute singer.he is the sweetest thing, and a gifted writer. He tells of his childhood adventures, and being raised by Jehovah Witnesses. They marry, and have a cople kids of their own, very interesting story, being Katie has a blind son, Junior already. I enjoyed this book a lot, but have nt got room to collect every good book I read.I believ you will really enjoy this expose of their poppin life together.


American Dreams: The Story of a Jewish Immigrant Family
American Dreams: The Story of a Jewish Immigrant Family
Author: Sidney R. Lewitter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/28/2015


First of all, I chose this book, because I am fascinated by the life of poverty that Jews in Russia or Poland lived at the turn of the century.Then the endearing story of how it all came about that they were able someway, somehow to take the journey to come to the land of the free, America. Then, to vicariously thru them, experience life in New York or new Jersey in the 1900's thru til the end of the book, the middle 1950's, was a delight to do.This book, (cost me a lot) but, I am at the age, I probly wont live long enough to "forget it" and re read, it is that unforgettable a true story, so I will share it with you. By the way, all but 2 or 3 of their loved ones perished in the Holocaust.Thank you!


The Amorous Busboy of Decatur Avenue : A Child of the Fifties Looks Back
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This book was very readable, but, coarse and explicitly dirty.Instead of giving in to the curiousity and the desire to read it, I made a point to toss it into the trash can , AFTER I tore several pages out to prevent anyone from reading it. This is what I choose to do, listen to my conscience. It is really a sexually graphic book.


An Execution in the Family: One Son's Journey
An Execution in the Family: One Son's Journey
Author: Robert Meeropol
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/31/2015


Robert Meeropol was six years old when his parents Ethel and Julius Rosenberg were executed for conspiracy to commit espionage in 1953. Though this was certainly a significant event in his life, it was not the single defining moment as one might assume. It is also not the central theme of his memoir, though it does play a strong supporting role. In fact, Meeropol has only vague memories of his parents. What he does remember are years spent in orphanages and foster homes before he and his brother were adopted by Abel and Anne Meeropol. While the event did cause some childhood trauma, he reflects that "I can't help feeling that I gained as much as I lost during those years." An Execution in the Family is hardly the work of a bitter man fuming at the establishment for the loss of his parents. Rather, it is the story of a thoughtful person and his struggle to find his purpose in the world. Reared on left-wing politics and social activism, he knew he wanted to help others, but he was unsure of the route to take, and his writes of his confusion and troubles with engaging frankness. really moving and engaging true story..


Another River, Another Town : A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945
Review Date: 7/9/2013


Fantastic true story of a Tank Gunner in World War 2. Just a teenager,he wanted to eradicate Hitler himself. Written in a great story form, conveying many exciting, harrowing memories, not the least was the death of his best friend. It is also funny, as this kid/Private, makes many blunders, once arresting a whole house of German officers and soldiers who were going to surrender anyway, to the chagrin of his officer, who then had to feed and house them. Really a great book written from the perspective of a wet behind the ears teenager.


Aquariums Of Pyongyang: Ten Years In The North Korean Gulag
Review Date: 7/22/2015


A heartbreaking true account of life in North Korea, when just for owning a piece of land, you can be sent to prison for 10 years, even if you didn't own it, but your grandfather did!! They were only given a small amount of corn steamed into a cereal form each day, and punished by no food at all many times. They were so hungry, they trapped rats and learned to love them. I am not a good reviewer, but this is a fascinating, very engaging memoir...eventually he escapes to South Korea, and then to America.It is amazing he withstood 10 long years of this torture and sadness. You will love this book!


AROUND THE TABLE (FAMILY STORIES OF SHOLOM ALEICHEM)
AROUND THE TABLE (FAMILY STORIES OF SHOLOM ALEICHEM)
Author: Aleichem shevrin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/8/2014


There has never been and will never be an author of the likes of Shalom Aleichem...such charm, such wit, such humor.. This book also has delightful jewish illustrations. It is filled with warm memories of touching and funny as all get out Sabbath meals the author experienced as a growing boy..if anyone who reads this review has more of his books, please feel free to suggest them to me. I have a few, but want ALL of them I can get! This book is a winner!!


Bamboo World
Bamboo World
Author: Victor Cusack, Deirdre Stewart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/30/2014


The author forgets to mention, once it is established, it is virtually impossible to stop it.We have spent way over a thousand dollars hirng professionals to rid us of this "wonderful plant"... just buy yourself 4 or 5 stalks , plant them, water them, and just like Sin, once it takes root, it is a miracle if you ever stop it!


Beyond the Tracks: A Survivor's Inspirational Story of Faith and Courage
Review Date: 8/3/2015


this is a deeply personal and moving account of an extraordinary woman living in an extraordinary moment in history. a truly inspiring and courageous testimony to the power of familial love and the bonds and deeply etched traditions of a nation and its people. a must read and life changing perspective that touches the depths of your very soul! thank you dearest Ruth and beautiful family for sharing your lives, dreams and ultimate redemption, breathing life into many new, blessed generations!!this reaches beyond survival --- this is the story of an indomitable spirit and defining moment of life giving triumph and fulfillment. prepare to live and journey through the eyes of a remarkable woman, transported to a time beyond imagination....NEVER AGAIN!!! in gratitude and love for the many life lessons and inspiration!! I thank you so very much for sharing your experiences and opening my eyes firsthand. She suffered at several of the most horrible concentration camps, and even stood beside dr. Mengele, as she asked permission to hand her little baby brother to her mother, who was standing in the "LEFT" line!


Bitten by Devils
Bitten by Devils
Author: Lester Frank Sumrall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/10/2013


This is a very rare book, selling for about 100 dollars on Amazon.com. It is in MINT condition. Lester is in Heaven now, however, his works still bless and inspire today as always. This is a shocking, true story of how the devil's demons chose a young girl in manila named Clarita Villanueva, and visited her many times, biting, choking, and also doing things I won't mention. God used lester Sumrall to eventually cast them out of her, and to bind them forevermore in Jesus name. I wish they would make a movie of this book, it is fascinating, altho harrowing to read.I'm sure you will give it 5 stars also if you read it. God bless!


The Bronski House: A Return to the Borderlands
The Bronski House: A Return to the Borderlands
Author: Philip Marsden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/23/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I really loved this book! I like when an author can so vividly describe the details of how life was long ago.I love to hear how people cooked, what foods they ate, drinks they drank, pets, colloquial sayings, and just how family life was so very long ago.This book does a wonderful job of filling in those many times , missing details, making you feel as though you were there, with them as they lived through this awful time in history.I give this very interesting memoir 5 stars, it is a very suspenseful story, a page turner you can hardly put down.


The Cage
The Cage
Author: Ruth Minsky Sender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/10/2013


This is a wonderful true story, of how a young girl in Poland who was best friends with Germans, and yet, when the Germans heard they could just walk in and plunder all the posessions ( fur coats, Silver, China, fine carved furniture,radio, etc.) they changed and became hateful, cold hearted foes, no longer the "friends" that she thought they were.She, a Jew, was rounded up and placed in a Ghetto, Warsaw Ghetto, to starve and freeze. As the story evolves, the worst case scenario occurs, and she is sent to a concentration camp to thirst and starve and to be abused.It is such a touching story, It makes the reader root for Riva..through many strokes of "Luck" ( really Gods' intervention) she makes it through the whole Hitler nightmare, and is the only one of her family to survive.Truly an insprirng story!!


Century of Ambivalence
Century of Ambivalence
Author: Zvi Gitelman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/23/2019


I LOVE THESE OLD BOOKS, TRUE ACCOUNTS OF LIVES AND LANDS DEMOLISHED, ALL BECAUSE THEY WWERE GOD'S CHOSEN, JEWS.THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS AWESOME BOOK NICE AND LARGE TOO!!


Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Robinette Moss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 1/6/2021


One of the top ten touching memoirs about a life of poverty..
she has written about her life after she married etc. but, this first part of her life was so touching. you will love it!!! ( She passed away also )


A Chinese Winter's Tale: An Autobiographical Fragment (Renditions Paperbacks)
Review Date: 2/6/2016


This is one of the best books I have ever read. You just wouldn't believe how controlling the Communism is in China..couples, many do not even get to marry til almost 30!! This is a wonderful memoir of a very nice Chinese girl, who endured the suffering of the demon man, Mao Tse Tung, for ten long years..I guarantee you will be enthralled, and truly appreciate the life we have here in the US.It is written in a tender, honest and fascinating way. You will love it!!


Colors of the Mountain
Colors of the Mountain
Author: Da Chen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/17/2014


This is one of the best written true accounts of a life lived under very harsh circumstance in China.He starts out recounting his fascinating life story from age 6. He was born rich, but Mao Tse Dung and communism, took it all away and made them the lowest of all.He is brilliant, and rises out of this as an extremel successful person.I loved this book..very engaging!


A Daughter of Han: The Autobiography of a Chinese Working Woman
Review Date: 5/1/2015


this is a very, very interesting , true accoun tof the daily life of a very poor, ( which is so very interesting to me) woman, from teen years to elderly.You will be amazed at the things she endured.her hussband , who was addicted to opium, actually sold her young child, twice! she found the child the first time. I enjoyed it..it sure is amazing how people can survive with NO comforts at all, not even food alot of the time..I cant repost it because I love it too much!


The Day Satan Called: A True Encounter with Demon Possession and Exorcism
Review Date: 7/18/2021


This TRUE story is about a well meaning, good hearted Christian couple, who take a very troubled girl in to live with them...It is much better a horror story, than the fictionalmovie "The Exorcist" was...if you want to really, truly know what Satan is like, I assure you, you will meet him in these pages!
These people were virtual Saints to allow her filled with demons, to live with them in my opinion, but, i'll let you sample it on Amazon, and judge for yourself..this is the kind of book, one wants to read, and is shocked, but also, wishes to trade the book, to get it out of their home.It is really a good, TRUE scary to the bone, book!


Death in Slow Motion : A Memoir of a Daughter, Her Mother, and the Beast Called Alzheimer's
Review Date: 11/6/2013
Helpful Score: 5


Years ago I read this memoir, and enjoyed it more than any book I had ever read. I emailed the author, Eleanor Cooney, and we have been online friends ever since. This book made me laugh outloud so many times, and even shed more than one tear.Can you imagine being raised by a mother that won a beauty contest judged by Frank Sinatra?
and then took off for a while and married a movie star, Durante? The only reason I am posting this is, I have multiple copies, and wanted to share it with someone. She sure stood by her mother, as DEMENTIA by Alzheimers changed her from a famous author of novels herself, to, at the end of the story, an inmate of a rest home..I cant say enough about how womderful a writer Eleanor Cooney is, I love her to pieces.She even has an amazing website for this book, you could spend hours enjoying it.Thank you!


Devil Walk: A True Story with CD (Audio)
Devil Walk: A True Story with CD (Audio)
Author: Clint M. Byars
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/2/2018


I am posting this powerful book, after reading it for sure 2, maybe 3 times!!there was no c.d. with this when I got it, but that is irrelevant, it is a one in 2 million true unbelievably frightening , sobering story of his near death experience from a very bad trip on LSD, while partying with 3 friends..I want to warn you, not to take it lightly, I did, I even read it to my 31 yr. old and at times we laughed heartily.. and for a day or 2, we would recite a couple phrases in the story, and laugh at "our secret "joke"..I am about to tell you of my experience with the powers of darkness, I am sure it was because I made "light" of the Devil, and His darkness.I LOST AN ENTIRE NIGHT OF SLEEP that night, every few minutes, I lost count, I would "awake", not that I was asleep, just in the process of drifting off, I kid you not here, something, or some Entity, took my arm, and I would "awake" with a startle, with my hand falling down from a lifted up position, not done by myself!! This went on all night, but, a second evil manifestation from the evil, tormentor happened. All of a sudden, my right hand and arm, "UNFURLED" QUICKLY, ENDING UP RIGHT UNDER MY CHIN!!!!!! I FELT IT, AFOR A SECOND THINKING, "tHIS FEELS LIKE A SNAKE" ( I am 67, and, grant it, my veiny hands Do feel a bit reptilian I guess ) but, only for a second did this tHoUGHt take hold..
this all happened, because , even as a Christian Believer in the Lord God, I got in the flesh, and ,made light of this darkness! So, to keep from reading it ever agian, (yes! This story is something else, but very true!!)I am posting it. Take it very seriously when you read it. I did however, skip over the places where he expounds on the Scriptures, in my hurry to "GET TO THE GOOD STUFF" The SCARY stuff...In short, altho this has been long, I love this book...I just need to not read it the 3rd or 4th time. He is a minister now, and I have watched him on YouTube, the "Going Forward" Clint Byars' Church.I love him, and appreciate him sharing this nightmare that lasted OVER A YEAR!!!!


1 to 20 of 80 - Page:
Want fewer ads?