Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Aimee B. (mommy2girlz) - - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
The Diary of Mattie Spenser
The Diary of Mattie Spenser
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/13/2009


When I picked up this book I was expecting a "Little House on the Praire" type of book. If you are looking for that kind of book, this is not it. It is gritty and at times graphic, I assume a realistic version of the Colorado Territory in the late 1800s. Don't get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it just wasn't what I was expecting. It has interesting characters and learning about life during that time period was fascinating, I could hardly put it down! I hope to read more by this author! It is a fast read and I highly recommend it!


Driving with Dead People
Driving with Dead People
Author: Monica Holloway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 2/13/2010


This book is a definite page turner. Although the book deals with unpleasant subject matter it is written with truth and humor. I highly recommend this book.


Full Dark, No Stars
Full Dark, No Stars
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 7/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I've been a fan of Stephen King since I was in my early teens. After barely being able to get through Bag of Bones and Lisey's Story, I had sworn off this author forever. Then saw FD,NS at the library and just couldn't help myself. So glad I took the chance! The book is a real page turner, very dark but so interesting. I feel like I have just reunited with an old friend.


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Author: Rebecca Skloot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 4/5/2017


Truth is truly stranger than fiction, and more horrifying and more heartbreaking. This is a must read. There is a lot of medical terminology and descriptions of medical/laboratory procedures but the author does a fantastic job of explaining these while still keeping the story interesting. Not a quick read but I most definitely recommend.


Into the Water
Into the Water
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 6/19/2017


I really enjoyed this book. I loved all the POVs! At first, I had to do a lot of backtracking until I became familiar with all the characters but I have no issue with that. Dare I say, I liked it better than "The Girl on the Train". I'm going to leave you with some advice given to me before I read it, "You just have to get all the characters in line, then it will grab you!"


Lisey's Story
Lisey's Story
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 407
Review Date: 5/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I felt compelled to write my first review because I was suprised so many readers like this book! Ugh, I did not enjoy this book at all. This has been the case for me for many of Stephen King's more recent books. I found it a long drawn out mess. It took me forever to finish. I kept reading because I was thinking "it has to get better", it didn't. If you disliked Bag of Bones you probably won't like Lisey's Story, the writing style is similar. I will stick to his older books.


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/11/2013


It was an o.k. read, had a few plot elements I didn't expect, which was nice. It is a book for teens and think I would have enjoyed it more if I still was one :)


Our Kind of Cruelty
Our Kind of Cruelty
Author: Araminta Hall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/18/2018


This book was absolutely terrible. Boring, repetitive storyline. One dimensional characters that by the time I (finally) finished the book I didn't care what happened to them. A more interesting read, with a similar storyline, I recommend "You" by Caroline Kepnes.


The Quickening
The Quickening
Author: Michelle Hoover
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/23/2013


Found the author's writing style hard to follow at times, never had that OMG moment I was hoping for. Expected more from this book.


The Rooms of Heaven: A Story of Love, Death, Grief, and the Afterlife
The Rooms of Heaven: A Story of Love, Death, Grief, and the Afterlife
Author: Mary Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/3/2010


This original and thought provoking true story could have been a fantastic read but the story got lost in ALL the details. I found it very difficult to follow this author's style of writing. The book was hard to get into and once the story did start to flow and get interesting she would go off on some tangent and I would find myself bored.


The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes
The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 7/4/2009


I came across this book at our local Goodwill. I had never heard of the author or of this book. I am so glad I purchased it! This book gets you right from the beginning and doesn't let go. I really sympathized with and liked the main character and the book is full of really interesting people. I give it 5 stars and I will be reading more from this author!


The View from Mount Joy
The View from Mount Joy
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/2/2009


"The View from Mount Joy" was o.k. nothing spectacular but not the worst I've read. I did like that the book was narrated by a man and enjoyed that the book spanned thirty-some years but it never seemed to go anywhere.


What They Do in the Dark: A Novel
What They Do in the Dark: A Novel
Author: Amanda Coe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/17/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I don't think I've ever given a book one star but this one most definitely deserves it. It is told from the point of view of five different characters, two of these points of view are boring and don't add a thing to the storyline. I found the ending to be written for shock value alone. Through the entire book the author writes about things not even pertinent to the story but at the end, when I wanted to know details about what happened to certain characters, she gets vague and doesn't satisfy my questions. Author should have focused a little more on Gemma & Pauline and alot less on other characters.


The Woman in the Window
The Woman in the Window
Author: A. J. Finn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 3/10/2019


Totally predictable and cliche.


1 to 14 of 14