Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Cheryl T. (cheryltav) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 321
Review Date: 7/21/2012


Jack Reacher, such an interesting character. I love how this one keeps counting down but I had no idea to what until the end. This is one of the few authors that I can't guess the ending at the beginning, or the middle. Interesting plot, the cold war background is interesting. Who could play Jack Reacher in the movies?


7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 626
Review Date: 9/7/2008


Another decent Patterson. I was a little disturbed by the fire parts, my friends all liked it, but fires but me in stories. I think I am loosing track of who is who and may need to go back to the beginning. Seems like this one was more about one character than them working as a group.


Absolute Zero: Bookshots
Absolute Zero: Bookshots
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/11/2019


Now I want an entire book with Thurston! Time to go on a search


The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 7/21/2012


Finally, we learn where he came from. Nice references to the 70's and Jack's younger years. Now I need number 17 because I am still waiting for him to get to Virginia!


Best Intentions
Best Intentions
Author: Emily Listfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/29/2011


Many people had said what a great book this was and so many members were wishing it I had to read it. Way too much detail for me before the crime happens. In the beginning Sam says "I am meeting him", later(chapters) he says "I met with her" when Lisa questions this contradiction he says you must have heard me wrong. I continue to be on the look out. This is because I read murder mysteries all the time, by murder mystery writers. This is the tiny detail I got stuck on and kept waiting for something to develop from but never did. Why not? I even went back and re-read the two lines to see if I missed something. So bottom line, it was an OK book. Would I tell my murder mystery friends to read it? No. Would I tell my love story, twisted triangle reading friends to read it? Yes.


Broken (Will Trent, Bk 4)
Broken (Will Trent, Bk 4)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 5/24/2011


Well, I have really, really enjoyed this author up until this book. It was a little slow but I needed to finish. The ending was a little different than I expected and for once the guy and the girl did not do the predictable. The message about the why is so important that I wish more time was spent exploring the idea instead of just towards the end.


Cook Once, Eat for a Week
Cook Once, Eat for a Week
Author: Jyl Steinback
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/18/2010


The title of this book implies that the author will help you do a big cookfest on the weekend and then store it for the week. This is just another cookbook. Wish I hadn't wasted my time.


Cook Once, Eat for a Week: A Busy Mom's Healthy Cookbook
Cook Once, Eat for a Week: A Busy Mom's Healthy Cookbook
Author: Jyl Steinback
Book Type: Plastic Comb
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/3/2010


Not what I expected, I am so happy I did not pay for this. The title would imply that this book will help me with one big day of cooking, then freezing for later in the week. All this is: another cookbook, not many NEW recipes.


The Dark Tide (Ty Hauck, Bk 1)
The Dark Tide (Ty Hauck, Bk 1)
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 10/8/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Written in a similar style to Patterson, this is a very good story line and characters you can grow attached to. The female is strong and stays pretty strong. It is a relevant story that you could imagine happening today. Fast paced and not so easy to solve in advance. I continue to enjoy this author and will keep him on my wish list.


The Devil's Only Friend (John Cleaver)
The Devil's Only Friend (John Cleaver)
Author: Dan Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/17/2016


This is a great continuation in the John Wayne Cleaver series, it would seem that we will probably get another one in the future. I like that the author back tracks just enough so I remember the previous books, yet doesn't recreate every detail. John Waynes' turmoil between good and evil is so interesting. Keep them coming Mr. Wells


Eyes of Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 3)
Eyes of Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 3)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 6/2/2008


This was so good, I really enjoy Lucas Davenport. I have been reading these out of order which makes them a little confusing but I can't keep track of which is which. This is when we first meet Bekker the whacko pathologist who has issues with eyes.


Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 950
Review Date: 7/12/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Well it seems like I waited for this forever and then my mom went and bought it. I read it in 2 sittings. It has some funny parts but it felt forced, like I knew I should laugh so I did. By the time I was half way done I realized the plot had been set and I stopped looking for a more interesting story. A little dissapointing for me, I think the book was put together with the intent of getting laughs versus creating a decent story line. Lula got a good share of the story this time and Tank actually spoke. If you are a big fan you must read it, but if you are new to this series don't start with this one.


The Final Detail (Myron Bolitar, Bk 6)
The Final Detail (Myron Bolitar, Bk 6)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 311
Review Date: 11/25/2007


I am back tracking trying to read all of the old books, am doing it out of order but I really do like Myron and Win. This was a good one and I never figured it out, which I am usually pretty good at.


Finger Lickin' Fifteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 15)
Finger Lickin' Fifteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 15)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 844
Review Date: 8/1/2009


Oh thank goodness this was sooo much better than last years fearless Fourteen. Lula and Grandma are hilarious. I really don't know where Stephanie gets her will power when it comes to Ranger. It is all just so disfunctional that it works!! It was a "can't put down"


The First Rule (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike, Bk 13)
The First Rule (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike, Bk 13)
Author: Robert Crais
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 7/8/2014


First book by this author. Picked it up because it was in great condition at a used store hoping that the story was great. WOW I have found someone new to read. The characters are the type I want to meet again. The story line and action are fast and I was not able to predict everything right away as usual.The premise, although seems unlikely, is still interesting and teaching about organizations that exist yet the average person knows nothing about. Love it. Joe Pike book 1 I must go back and read now.


The Front (Winston Garano, Bk 2)
The Front (Winston Garano, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 7/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first time ever I can say I did not enjoy a Cornwell book. She should have waited until the story could be a novel. I am sooooo glad I did not buy this at the book store. How does one disguise a short story as a novel? It was difficult to complete and not worth the wait. I want to LOVE the characters in a story, I did like At Risk and thought this would develop into a new series that I couldn't wait for the next one but so far no. It also reminds me very much of Alex Cross in James Patterson, with Win living with his Nana. So bottom line I would wait until the next one and read them together.


Hands-On Algebra: Ready-To-Use Games  Activities for Grades 7-12
Review Date: 6/14/2012


Hands on? I would have thought this would have lots of ideas for using math manipulatives. I did not expect hands on to mean worksheets, too bad I waited so long for it.


Heat Lightning (Virgil Flowers, Bk 2)
Heat Lightning (Virgil Flowers, Bk 2)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 7/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Well being a big Davenport fan I figured I would probably like Flowers. It felt just like a Prey book except very boring. I hard a hard time getting into it and then kept going because I trusted Sandford to keep it interesting, alas, it never got much better and the end was just so, so. I think I will pass on Flowers he just feels like a copycat. The casual love interest in every town is believable if you are male, but as a female it is hard enough to swallow with Davenport, don't try to convince me it could happen exactly the same way with Flowers. Oh well I am gald I did not buy the book!


Hold Tight
Hold Tight
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 7/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Well Coben does it yet again. I really love how his books are on top of things in the real world. This time parents spying on kids computers. It took only three sittings but was not as intense as previous books. Still an awesome read. Most of the authors I wait for had books this summer that were lame at best. Not Coben, the story keeps you wanting more and the characters are well developed. I love how he works characters from the Bolitar stories into his other books. Can't wait for the next one!


Hot X: Algebra Exposed
Hot X: Algebra Exposed
Author: Danica McKellar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/27/2014


As a middle school math teacher I am always looking for different ways to explain algebra concepts. There are so many good ideas in her books. I can't wait for the next one!


1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
Want fewer ads?