Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Jenny M. (griz1girl) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 79 - Page:
Against the Sun (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 6)
Against the Sun (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 6)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 7/19/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I loved all of Kat Martin's "Against The..." series, EXCEPT this one!

This book is HORRIBLE! Incredibly boring, exceedingly predictable, and WAY too long. Her 400 page book could've been summed up in 150 pages easy.

The storyline focused on a lackluster heroine brokering an oil rig equipment deal with a Saudi Arabian sheik & his entourage...yawn. The plot simply did NOT appeal to me.

Jake Cantrell, the hero, was written as a stereotypical "former Special Forces" hunk & 2-dimensional bad-ass. It just didn't work.

Better luck next time, Kat.......this book isn't even worth skimming.


All Things Wicked (Dark Mission, Bk 3)
All Things Wicked (Dark Mission, Bk 3)
Author: Karina Cooper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/6/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Karina Cooper is one of the most BORING authors I've ever read!

Yes, she packs her books full of action...so many non-stop action sequences that you wonder if the woman has any idea how to develop & write an actual PLOT.

These books are incredibly unoriginal, ho-hum stereotypical paranormal fare--with little to no romance involved.

I tried desperately to like her...I bought all 3 books & read them. Unfortunately I kept dozing off through book 3 & was forced to skim faster just to say I finished it.

Don't waste money or PBS credits...she's not worth it.

Try Joss Ware instead--her post-apocalyptic world is amazingly well-written with a plot (wow, who knew that was possible?!?!), just the right amount of action, and scintillating romance.


Angel of Darkness (Fallen, Bk 1)
Angel of Darkness (Fallen, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Cynthia Eden is a weird, but enjoyable author. Her "voice" is different than other authors, but once you get into her rhythm, her books are great.

However, this book wasn't her best effort. She briefly mentions Night Watch, but doesn't include any characters from former books.

The plot isn't all that exciting really--rather a ho-hum paranormal read. Her heroine didn't thrill me, although I didn't hate her...and her hero was hunky enough, but I didn't love him.

All in all, a perfectly "fine" read--but not a great one. Her earlier paranormals are better.


Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter, Bk 5)
Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter, Bk 5)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 9/18/2012


Nalini Singh is a fantastic author, and her Psy-Changeling series is top-notch. However, her Guild Hunter series just isn't as good.

The language is stilted & old-fashioned & her Guild Hunter series drags along very slowly--weighed down with too much description (and strange names!) and not enough plot action.

This book was incredibly painful to read--so slow & boring that I finally had to skim it & read the final chapter to call it good enough.

Hopefully her next Archangel book, set again with Elena & Raphael as main characters, will recapture some of the magic of this series. The last few books have not been up to par....and this one is a particularly dull sleeper.


As I Wake
As I Wake
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/20/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I honestly don't know what to write about this book...it was INCREDIBLY DISTURBING. And yet, I was so totally & completely hooked that I couldn't put it down. I read the whole thing in one afternoon!

Yes, it's about a girl who has amnesia. Yes, it's about her memories as they start coming back & revealing snippets of her life & who she is. Yes, she finds a great love in those memories.

But it's really NOT that simple. The book has two realities--a "real world" and a "memory world"--and so much is left up in the air...it stays very confusing & yet completely engrossing from start to finish.

A good read??? One I liked??? I honestly can't answer either question. I think, like the book itself, it just...Is What It Is.


Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/23/2012
Helpful Score: 4


I realize this book is old news...and the series is already 4 books long. But can I just say YAWN?!? B-O-R-I-N-G!

I tried so hard to like this book & get invested in the characters...and I've read some really awesome YA series...and this book is NOT it.

You want a fantastic YA paranormal series? Check out Rachel Vincent's "Soul Screamers" series. Want a really honest, gritty love story that makes you want to read it over & over again? Try Katie McGarry's "Pushing The Limits." You want a sweet romance with a please-let-this-work-out-for-them-ending? Pick up Karen Ann Hopkin's "Temptation."

You want to get carpal tunnel holding a 600 page book that makes reading the Bible seem like a fast page-blasting read? Check out "Beautiful Creatures."

Other reviewers had said this book took time to get rolling. So after 200+ pages I felt I had given it all I could give...and I started skimming. By the end I realized that the FINAL chapter was just a re-cap of all the stuff happening in the VERY BEGINNING of the book. What-ev-er.

I should've spent my time cleaning the house. Doing laundry. Filtering the cat box. Anything would've been more useful than reading this...........


Belonging: A Temptation Novel
Belonging: A Temptation Novel
Author: Karen Ann Hopkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/4/2013


Ah, the tragedy and trauma of young love...will Rose & Noah make it?

This book was terrible, and fantastic, all at the same time. I was gripped by Rose and Noah's tumultuous relationship all over again, and swiftly drawn into their crazy drama.

While it seems that there hasn't been such star-crossed lovers since Romeo & Juliet, Karen Ann Hopkins pulls a fast one with this book! It's merely the bridge between the start of their romance, and the grand finale--that will be published in BOOK THREE of the Temptation series!

So all that fast & furious reading--just to find I have to WAIT an undetermined amount of time until Harlequin publishes the 3rd book in this fantastic series.

Great characters. Fascinating storyline. Frustrating plot developments. And all leading up to what will no doubt be an explosive finale!

A must-read for sure--and definitely staying on my keeper shelf!


Blaze
Blaze
Author: Joan Swan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/21/2012


Seriously, what is wrong with me? Joan Swan is THE WORST AUTHOR EVER....why did I buy her 2nd book Blaze when the first book was SO TERRIBLE?!?

Paranormal suspense is a fine genre...as long as it's combined with some romance. Or maybe a lot of romance. A good run of steamy hot sex scenes makes a paranormally-enhanced hero that much more desirable.

Swan writes NO ROMANCE. Zero, zip, zilch, nada. Not even an illicit kiss between characters. Sometimes they briefly think about how the used to be hot for each other...but that's about it.

She gets SO bogged down in nitty-gritty fight scene trauma military maneuver details that her books COMPLETELY LACK A PLOT. They just move from one detailed OH-NO edge of your seat trauma to another. YAWN.

B-O-R-I-N-G.

Even skimming & reading the last chapter didn't matter. I still didn't care. $15 I'll never get back...and an hour of my time wasted. She's going on my NEVER READ list...she's not even worth a free swap.


A Blood Seduction (Vamp City, Bk 1)
A Blood Seduction (Vamp City, Bk 1)
Author: Pamela Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/19/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This book was NOT a "normal" Pamela Palmer book...

It was incredibly disturbing--a violent, sadistic world of vampire Masters & tortured human Slaves. The book was filled with gruesome, bloody sequences that left me nauseous.

Her heroine, Quinn, was a fighter trying to free herself, but acted so stupidly at times I wanted to smack her myself. Her hero, Arturo, was simply put, an ass. He was a self-admitted liar right up to the end.

Paranormal romance?!?! I don't think so...this book was completely devoid of romance. More like straight-up not-gonna-sleep-tonight horror!

After reading her awesome Feral Warriors series--whose heroes are strong, full of honor & respect, and incredibly passionate--this new series was terrible.

I hope she throws something redeeming into book 2. I'm not sure I can stomach much more vampire torture & gore.


Blue-Blooded Vamp (Sabina Kane, Bk 5)
Blue-Blooded Vamp (Sabina Kane, Bk 5)
Author: Jaye Wells
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/23/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I read all 5 Sabina Kane books in 3 days--and it was a WILD ride! Wells' series is one of the best I've read all year long.

I HIGHLY recommend you read all 5--and if you can, read them all at once. It makes the continuity between books flow like a speeding bullet train...and it's worth the ride!

Sabina experiences amazing emotional growth & awesome changes in this fast-paced, smart-ass series, and Blue-Blooded Vamp is an INCREDIBLE wrap-up to the entire shebang.

I was happy with all her twists & turns & plot developments by the end of this final book. She even included a super Epilogue that updated the reader on ALL the important characters from all 5 books.

I can't recommend this series enough! FANTASTIC reading--each book was totally worth my time...and that's hard to find! :)


Bodyguard (Shifters Unbound, Bk 2.5)
Bodyguard (Shifters Unbound, Bk 2.5)
Author: Jennifer Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/11/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this shorter Shifters Unbound story! It takes place in the Austin Shiftertown, focusing on a bear Shifter named Ronan & a human girl, Elizabeth.

Fantastic story--nothing fancy, no great mystery, just a good old-fashioned "Shifter" romance.

I actually preferred this short book over Jennifer Ashley's newest release, Wild Cat.

Wild Cat was a good-enough book, but the Las Vegas Shiftertown it's set in doesn't thrill me much. The characters in her Las Vegas world just aren't as dynamic as the Austin-set books.

I much prefer the Austin-based characters and their Shiftertown world. This is a lovely book & if you enjoyed the characters in Ashley's first 2 Shifters Unbound books, you'll really enjoy this mini-saga.


Bond with Me
Bond with Me
Author: Anne Marsh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/13/2012


I had a hard time getting into this book. Marsh's 2090 world was weird, the descriptions vague & wanting, and the names too strange to remember.

It got better by the end, but I'm sorry I rushed out & bought the second book in this series before reading the first--a waste of money.

Another reviewer compared it to Nalini Singh--aside from the "angels" aspect, I'd have to disagree. Singh is AMAZING--her books rock. Anne Marsh is palatable, but not "great"...oh well, so it goes.


Bonded by Blood (Sweetblood, Bk 1)
Bonded by Blood (Sweetblood, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/28/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was a fantastic book! I enjoyed it just because it wasn't "new" & out-there all the time. It was like walking into a super-comfortable paranormal world where I already knew all the nuances. Easy to read & wonderful characters.

Didn't get too bogged down into extraneous details--the scenes flowed nicely & the story moved along. The characters were delightful. A sexy hero who wasn't afraid to show his emotions...very hot. A heroine who was strong & yet didn't turn into a scared-of-men bitch all the time...rare! I love an independent woman who isn't afraid to be dependent on her man!

Reading their love story was delightful & left me feeling warm & fuzzy. A sweet story with a sweet ending. (Pun intended.) :) Excellent first book for Laurie London!


The Buckhorn Legacy (aka Casey) (Buckhorn Brothers, Bk 5)
The Buckhorn Legacy (aka Casey) (Buckhorn Brothers, Bk 5)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/21/2012
Helpful Score: 2


The Buckhorn brothers series was published years ago--and they're fantastic! I loved all 5 books!

Enjoy these re-released novels...Lori Foster knows her romance.


Caleb (Circle Eight, Bk 3)
Caleb (Circle Eight, Bk 3)
Author: Emma Lang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/5/2013


Caleb is a FANTASTIC addition to Lang's "Circle Eight" series! I am SO glad Beth Williamson/Emma Lang chose to self-publish future additions to this series when her publisher stopped...well worth it!

Caleb is a rough & tough, arrogant Texas Ranger, who is challenged by an equally tough lady blacksmith, Aurora Foster.

Caleb and Aurora have a great adventure together in this book, and their love-hate romance is scintillating! A delightful addition to a smooth-reading series...check it out!


Changeling Dawn (Changeling, Bk 3)
Changeling Dawn (Changeling, Bk 3)
Author: Dani Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/8/2012


This was another delightful Changeling story from Dani Harper...however, it was NOT her best book. The first 2 books in the series were much better.

I am glad we were given Kenzie's story--and I am happy it ended as it did. The book just wasn't as riveting, and it didn't transport me into the Changeling world as much as the first 2 books.

Enjoyable, but not a must-read. :)


Dakota Marshal (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1298)
Dakota Marshal (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1298)
Author: Jenna Ryan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/6/2011


Totally confusing book! Confusing characters, incomplete plot line, hard-to-follow action sequences, strange flashbacks & memories confusingly tucked into normal conversations.....argh!


Dare You To
Dare You To
Author: Katie McGarry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/2/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I received an ARC of this book--and devoured it in one night! It was AWESOME!

McGarry has done it again--she has written an amazing novel! It may be listed as "young adult" or "teen" fiction, but it is FAR FROM IT. Her writing is complex, and gripping, and fast-paced.

Her stories are romantic, and beautiful, and haunting, and heart-breaking...all at the same time. I cry, I laugh, I cheer for the hero & heroine.

Dare You To hits all the marks, once again. She includes some of the characters from her first book, Pushing The Limits, and yet delves into a whole new world at the same time.

Beth is thrown into a new life in this book, and we see her go through a cycle of growth greater than most teens could ever conceive of...by the end I wanted to raise the roof for Beth! Her hero Ryan is all that a hot teenage male should be--charming, funny, respectful, daring, hot, smart, and athletic. He's the whole package!

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book--rarely have I found a book so enchanting, that I want to read it again & again...tears, laughs, and cheering included!


Dark Whisper (Deep Kiss of Winter) (Italian Edition)
Review Date: 7/13/2012
Helpful Score: 1


THIS BOOK IS IN ITALIAN...Just in case you're not fluent in reading Italian. :)


Darker After Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 10)
Darker After Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 10)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 5/11/2012


Lara Adrian doesn't write pulse-pounding heart-stopping action or real brain-teasers. Her Breed series is pretty predictable & plods along at a nice steady pace.

However, her books ALWAYS leave me satisfied at the end--which says a lot! This book introduced some new twists & turns & characters that set "the Order" on a new path. It was a very nice way to transition from the old to the new.

This was a delightful story for Chase. I never felt it was too stale or boring, it kept moving forward just fast enough to keep me going. She'll never be as riveting a read as JR Ward, but I continue to enjoy her vampire genre nonetheless.


1 to 20 of 79 - Page:
Want fewer ads?