Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Kathryn P. (ladysarina) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 2/27/2020
Helpful Score: 3


This book starts exactly at the moment the first, Body Movers, leaves off with a phone call from her errant, bail-jumping father. Carlotta drops the phone and through a series of unfortunate incidents is unable to take the call. Her life becomes more complicated as her identity is stolen and her double winds up dead.

Her brother is still in a lot of trouble with loan sharks and his probation. Three men are pursuing Carlotta for romance but with her identity stolen, her parents on the lam, her disingenuous brother constantly making mistakes, she barely has time to think let alone fall in love.

This series is light, clever, witty, and engaging with likeable fun and funny characters and interesting story lines. The endings are not predictable. I look forward to reading the others in the series. I like Carlotta and her brother and no wonder she has trouble choosing among the men, though I do have my favorite.

Wise cracking chick lit meets light hearted mystery!


An Affair with a Notorious Heiress (Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James, Bk 4)
An Affair with a Notorious Heiress (Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James, Bk 4)
Author: Lorraine Heath
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/27/2020


While I appreciated the strength of the heroine, I found it a little bit unbelievable for the time.
I loved her unconditional love of her sister and her unwavering support of her! I loved how protective she was and how she tried to avoid her sister making the same her mistake in marriage.

Also the hero, while portrait as an intelligent man, was too stupid to believe that marrying a respectable woman somehow that respectability will make him even more respectable in the eyes of the ton! Still I liked him even if he refused to recognize that he could have the same love his parents had and stubbornly resisted his love for the heroine.


Almost Perfect  (Perfect, Bk 1)
Almost Perfect (Perfect, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Ortolon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 9/19/2019


Three friends decide to risk it all after a college roommate uses them as examples of how women let fear hold them back. In this first book, Maddy Hills sets out to get a piece of her art into a gallery, and as a stepping stone, she takes a job at the camp of her high school sweetheart, Joe, whose heart she broke when she put her independence ahead of his marriage proposal.

I enjoyed this book a lot, though I think it could have had about sixty more pages added to it. Joe and Maddy have undeniable chemistry and honest issues to work through, like Joe's resentment of the past, Maddy's fear of failure and losing her independence, and the fact that they live in two different states. Maddy is a character you can imagine beings friends with and she's a very real, very flawed woman. There were a few things that I would have liked to see more of, namely interactions with the campers, a little more sexual tension (they jump into that part of the relationship fairly quickly) and more inner dialogue as Maddy worked through her issues.


The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Kate Chopin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 11/11/2012


Chopin's last novel, The Awakening published in 1899, aroused a storm of controversy. The fact that this story was written back then shows where women were.... NOT where they are now. I find the 1-star reviews absolutely negative to this writer. Can you imagine living back when women didn't work? Their only job to please the husband that they may, or may not have chosen and care for their children? With barely any choices in their own life. I found this story compelling in the simple truths that it showed of marriage and sexuality back then.

Re-open your eyes and read this story. Take it for what it is, what it was, and gather strength in how far WE as women have come. Remember that Kate Chopin was socially ostracized for writing something that we now consider "real life"


The Awakening (Vampire Huntress, Bk 2)
The Awakening (Vampire Huntress, Bk 2)
Author: L. A. Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 2/27/2020


So, the saga continues. What left me hanging in the 1st book, turned out to make the 2nd book better than the 1st. Of course, you are still left hanging, because you know there is a 3rd book.
The Damali-Carlos union is definitely not over. Poor Carlos. You really do want this guy to be the good guy and maybe he will, master-vamp, or not.
But what about the detective? The epilogue sure makes you think he may be a vamp, too. Hmmmm.........
The book is good and I'll definitely move on to the next one. A little slow at times, with too much discussion, but I guess you need that sometimes to find out what is going on with the Neteru/Damali.


Beyond Seduction (Bastion Club, Bk 6)
Beyond Seduction (Bastion Club, Bk 6)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/27/2020


I really enjoyed the beginning of the book with the disclosure of Gervase's difficulties in his estate and the reasons behind. I really liked how he had his eyes opened thanks to his sisters' interference and how he came to see Madeline differently.
Though she had many characteristics redundant with previous heroines in the series - 29 yo, spinster, willing to try out intimacy with a man, she seemed more real and interesting than previous others.
I also really liked the investigation plot, with the last traitor treasure being discovered by accident and the subsequent sequences. What I also appreciated was the strong links between the investigation and the development of the romance, which felt really strong and long-lasting.
One of my favorite books in this series so far.


The Billionaires: The Bosses (Lover's Triangle)
The Billionaires: The Bosses (Lover's Triangle)
Author: Calista Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/27/2020


This isn't my first Calista Fox book, but it is my first in this series (which is no big deal). I think she reached a little too far with this one. It drags a bit in places and while steamy and hot, it's a bit predictable and way too easy to skip over parts.

Overall, well written and hot, just not a ton of things to sink your teeth into


The Birth House
The Birth House
Author: Ami McKay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 2/4/2012


Dora Rare makes this story compelling. Reaching out from the cold hard winters of Nova Scotia, in the times of woman's sufferage, this coming of age novel grabs you from the beginning, makes you feel what this young woman of 17 feels on her wedding day, the skills she learns as a midwife and as a fugitive from men. You cannot but hope that this story helps other young women, and older women for that, understand that to accept some hardships in your life for the greater good, is what it's all about.

Ami McKay has bathed this young woman in a beautiful light, we would be good to remember that it wasn't so long ago that women had to hide from men for fear of persecution. Although a work of fiction, this book resonates with me and the recent turning from "modern" to more home births.


Born to Bite
Born to Bite
Author: Hannah Howell, Erica Ridley, Diana Cosby
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/27/2020


Simply Yummy! I needed a break from my historical romance books, every so often I need to put them down and read a paranormal-vampire-shifter-fantasy book. The blurb on this looked like to combined both my need for paranormal but also kept my focus on historical/highlanders.

Dark Secret by Hannah Howell

I tried looking to see if this is a novella from an existing series but I couldn't find one. So readers, would love your help- can you let me know if this is part of a series. I just felt like I was missing something, like I jumped in the middle of an existing story, it is not that I felt unconnected, I just had this feeling there was more to the characters both primary and secondary. It was an enjoyable read, but as it ended there was sort of a cliffhanger, I didn't feel like there was resolution.

Highland Vampire by Diana Cosby

I am writing about this second, as this was how it appears in the book I read. This was a beautiful love story- almost like the boy from the wrong side of town meets girl. So what do you do when you find yourself in love with a girl that is forbidden? Will you go against all odds to have your true love and live HEA?

Never Been Bitten by Erica Ridley

I would say this was my favorite of the three, maybe because it had both "the ton", my hunky highlander and what's better my highlander is a vampire. (( Sigh )). Although this book was not a full novel, the author didn't make it feel rushed, but again on this one, I would like to see if there is more stories out there that tie into this one. The premise of the story is cute, a plain jane is asked to investigate the a man where woman simply fall to their feet when he enters a room, could he be a "vampire". Well in the middle of the investigation she uncovers her own personal secrets... very cute.

I enjoyed all of these books, I didn't feel any of them were rushed and put together quickly. Each author provided sufficient development of the characters, they set the background nicely, and in the end, true love prevails. Now this is a book you can sink your teeth in. Happy Reading


Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 2/27/2020


zzzzzzzzzzzzzz, oh Mother of All Darkness is back. Once again we have a triad that doesn't work because Anita is a self centered slut who has issues with being a slut. Richard is a dick in all manner of ways.

Why do I continue to read this series? I could ask the same of people watching the "Housewives of [insert county]" and Jersey Shores. Why do you watch realty TV Shows? Every once in a while, I like to read books of the same caliber. This series is a hoot.


Choose Me
Choose Me
Author: RC Boldt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/12/2020


A little younger than I normally read these days, but I adored the emotion in this story. The way the author went back and helped us through the friendship that the MCs built really made it. A little on the slow side for me, but truly a good story.


Collateral Damage (Deadly Captive) (Volume 2)
Collateral Damage (Deadly Captive) (Volume 2)
Author: Bianca Sommerland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/18/2019


Stolen. Away from her perfect life. Stolen. Nicole can't believe it, and it's not a nice trip. Vince knows he wants this teacher. And he's going to get her. Even if he has to steal her from the person that stole her in the first place.

This is a dark story. It's erotic, has vampires, and it's DARK. Let me remind you one more time... it's DARK. You have been warned.


Copper Girl
Copper Girl
Author: Jennifer Allis Provost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/27/2020


I feel like I'm missing something with this book. Like there should have been a book before this to introduce us to the Raven family. It was just ok for me, while interesting in parts, I felt there were some parts that were just words. Not one character stands out as the leader of the story, although I'm sure the author wanted us to think Sara was. The mashing together of Elementals and Elves kinda freaked me out too.


Crazy Rich Asians
Crazy Rich Asians
Author: Kevin Kwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/27/2020


âCrazy Rich Asiansâ was an interesting, unexpectedly intense and somehow educational book. It kept me entertained and forced me to read on because I always wanted to know what would happen next. Rachel and Nick were a great couple and I'm already curious about the second book. As it seems it's not only about them but also about Nick's cousin Astrid as well and after her encounter with her ex-boyfriend Charlie I'm really beyond excited to see where this is heading. Because let's face it: As much as I liked Nick, Charlie is still the best!!!


Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark, Bk 6)
Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark, Bk 6)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 534
Review Date: 2/18/2012


More! I wanted more! Great book, can't wait to pick up the next.


Dark Needs at Night's Edge (Immortals After Dark, Bk 5)
Dark Needs at Night's Edge (Immortals After Dark, Bk 5)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 601
Review Date: 2/18/2012


The weakest in the series I believe. But won't stop me reading them.


A Deep Kiss of Winter: Untouchable / Tempt Me Eternally
A Deep Kiss of Winter: Untouchable / Tempt Me Eternally
Author: Gena Showalter, Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 2/18/2012


Perfect. Wonderful. Romantic. Murdoch Wroth and Daniela is a small story told in a large way. To not be able to touch and being immortal would be horrible. I loved the beginning of their story and how they made "it" work. And the four brothers finally together with their fated brides made it even more perfect as a holiday story. Good job Ms. Cole.. as always a devoted fan.


Demon from the Dark (Immortals After Dark, Bk 10)
Demon from the Dark (Immortals After Dark, Bk 10)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 2/18/2012


I liked this book in the series, just not as much as the others. Kresley Cole is still an author that I will continue to pick up book after book, because she just knows how to write.


Divine Misdemeanors (Meredith Gentry, Bk 8)
Divine Misdemeanors (Meredith Gentry, Bk 8)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 9/18/2019


Divine Misdemeanors is book 8 in Laurell K. Hamilton's Merry Gentry series, where pregnant Merry returns Los Angeles to contribute as a private investigator in the Grey Detective Agency in solving brutal murders of Demi-fey.

Merry is hounded by paparazzi generating lots of theatrics and Seelie court and Unseliee politics along with Demi-fey. How about that snakegoblin? And of course tall folks like Barinthus make the story more interesting.

This book was an improvement over previous stories in this series, but somehow felt that some plot lines were unresolved. Adult fans of LKH would enjoy this book.


Eternal Echoes (Sisters of the Divine)
Eternal Echoes (Sisters of the Divine)
Author: Anastasia Virgas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/18/2019


Being the Ambassador to the governing body of earth is a dream come true to Teagan Moss. Being blown out of the sky into the depths of the ocean to be eaten by something that comes from nightmares is definitely NOT! If not for the watchful eyes of the Sentry, Ariston Dago, watching over the sea that night, she might have been lost.

Teagan's lost some time. Waking up in a "palace" with men that look like gods is a bit unnerving, but she's the kind of gal that shoots first and asks questions later. After making sure she's healthy, with the exception of some loss of memory, Ariston fills her in on what has happened. There is unrest in the new territories and someone is out to discredit her.

I stopped everything to read this book today. And I mean everything! I've been ready for this type of paranormal romance forever it seems. Don't be afraid of the man in the kilt ladies.. he has so much more for you. Ari is your strong, protect the woman kind of guy, but won't get in your way if you know how to do it yourself. And Teagan can do it herself. This story has two Alphas.. and they have rocked this story and the foundations on what can come behind it.

I never thought of an octopus shifter story before, but this is so much more than I was expecting. I can't tell you. I won't spoil it for you. The politics between all the factions, the romance between Ari & Tea, the Gods & Goddesses. There is, again, politics, romance, intrigue & most of all, hot shifter sex that you cannot imagine, as well as the author has for you. Down to telling you about the awesome sea glass shower that is installed in Teagan's guest room, to the amazing description of Ari's awesome tentacle tattoo.. that changes! GASP! Don't get me started on the tentacles and mating ritual. Read it for yourself, and immerse into the world of octupus shifters.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
Want fewer ads?