Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Evelyn M. (Foxy1957) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
The Chalice and the Blade: Our History, Our Future
The Chalice and the Blade: Our History, Our Future
Author: Riane Eisler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/4/2012


Good anthropological information regarding the beginning of religion. Some of the information in this book was cited in "Drowing Down the Moon".


Cheap: The High Cost of Discount Culture
Cheap: The High Cost of Discount Culture
Author: Ellen Ruppel Shell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Easy reading about the down side of discount stores. What we think is discount may not be any if we see what is involve. Make you think why the CEOs are making big buck while everybody else is on the bottom and the riches are getting more rich from slavery people around the World. Sad but true!


The Complete Book of Yogurt
The Complete Book of Yogurt
Author: Shaun Nelson-Henrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/21/2014


Good recipes of many items you can do using yogurt as a base. For example, pork chops in yogurt and plain low-calorie frozen yogurt. I enjoy to learn how I can use yogurt in so many different ways.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 505
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This book is very poetic and very descriptive scenes. At some point you gets disappoint it to see how it developed. The characters exploit the good and bad of human characteristics. Some of the scenes are better understand by the India culture.


The Dark Frigate
The Dark Frigate
Author: Charles Boardman Hawes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/17/2010


The story develop very slow at the begining. The action start to pick up the middle where the character begin to develop and the stories run fluently.


Eldest (Inheritance, Bk 2)
Eldest (Inheritance, Bk 2)
Author: Christopher Paolini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 2/2/2015


I thought it was good if you read the first one because is a follow up and the beginning of the next one. The Eldest novel is a description of Eragon's transformation to be a rider. Maybe Saphira is not alone in this journey. Looking for the third book.


The Fabulous Girl's Guide to Life
The Fabulous Girl's Guide to Life
Author: Kim Izzo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/31/2013


This book explained in a funny and easy way how to handle certain situations. Book is divided in nine chapters or sections. I enjoyed reading the book and learned how to handle few situations, for example the public bathroom specially talking in the stalls.


Feng Shui for Success: Simple Principles for a Healthy Home and Prosperous Business
Review Date: 6/16/2011


General information regarding home position (N-S-E-W) and how this affect the flow energy.


The Fixer
The Fixer
Author: Bernard Malamud
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/12/2010


The fixer described the struggles of the Jew male against discrimanation in Russia. Explained how ignorance can blind justices. This a a very good reading no wonder is a classic.


For the Confederate Dead
For the Confederate Dead
Author: Kevin Young
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/9/2010


I enjoyed reading this poetry. It is a refreshing African-American rhythm with new ideas that combine history with today's events. This book remind me of the poetry I read when I was a child in Puerto Rico, "Tun Tun de Pasa y Criferia" from Luis Pales Matos. He is also a great poet. Overall, this book is great.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson, Reg Keeland (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1288
Review Date: 12/30/2010


This is a great book to read. Keep you in your toes all the time wondering what is going to happens next. Multiple mysteries with different endings.


Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead
Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead
Author: Sheryl Sandberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/11/2014


This book is an echo of other people's voices about being a woman in this time. She has the opportunity of working and being mentor/sponsor by powerful-influence people. As a female professional with a master degree sometimes I think is not what you know but who you know to give you the opportunities to develop your skills. Overall I give five stars because is easy interesting to read with clear points and good research to support her points if you want clarification.


Let's Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship
Let's Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship
Author: Gail Caldwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/2/2011


I enjoy reading this book. The writer explained the relationship betweeen two ex-alcholic who find she also develop a theme regarding the grievance process when the youngest died from brain cancer-tumor. These two female there are dogs lover and has a healthy relationship with others.


A Lion Among Men (Wicked Years, Bk 3)
A Lion Among Men (Wicked Years, Bk 3)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 10/8/2010


This is the follow up of the other two books written by Gregory Maguire. In this book you find anwers to some of the questions you have from t previous readings. the main character in this book and some kind of detective is Brr the "Coward lion."


Magical Aromatherapy: The Power of Scent (Llewellyn's New Age Series)
Review Date: 6/9/2011


This book is very simple and easy to follow instructions and information regarding mixing oils for any purpose. This is a keep for future references.


Making Comics: Storytelling Secrets of Comics, Manga and Graphic Novels
Review Date: 2/3/2016


This book was for my grandson who loves comics. He likes it.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1411
Review Date: 1/12/2009


This is a very good story. Remind me of my experience with my dog even I do not have a labrador, but a corgi. The end is so emotional that make any dog owner to think about the life spam of our dogs and a life without our furry friends. I could not avoid to cry as I read the last few chapters. My dog was wondering what was wrong with me because tears were running on my cheeks. Great book for dogs owners.


Mindless Eating: Why We Eat More Than We Think
Mindless Eating: Why We Eat More Than We Think
Author: Brian Wansink
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/22/2011


Nutrional information base in research. Very informative about the way we eat and how we are affect by the environment.


My Teenage Werewolf: A Mother, a Daughter, a Journey Through the Thicket of Adolescence
Review Date: 10/13/2011


This book described the daily relationship between a teenager daughter and his mother. Ms. Kessler explained her feelings regarding her relationship with her daughter and uses book that she read and a baseline regarding other people's experience. One of the topic that call my attention is when she talked about her daughter's dating and she is 13 maybe because I do not feel comfortable supporting a dating for my 13 years old. But hey that me!


Overcoming Frustration and Anger
Overcoming Frustration and Anger
Author: Paul A. Hauck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/26/2012


Very details with simple samples step by step guide to help with anger and frustration. He uses the Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy (REBT)to clarify the source of anger and frustration.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Want fewer ads?