Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Michelle G. (mikeylou) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Blood Call
Blood Call
Author: Lilith Saintcrow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I really don't know what to think of this book. The beginning really turned me off and I could not excuse that sort of behavior. I still read the whole thing and overall, I felt like it had much more potential, and what happened in the beginning was unnecessary.


Confidence Game (Five Countries, Bk 1)
Confidence Game (Five Countries, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle M. Welch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/2/2013


The story had a lot of potential, but I felt like it just didn't pull together like it should. Despite the choppy flow, I kept coming back so I could read more of the story. In the end, however, I felt really let down.

I doubt I will read the sequels.


Fire Raiser (Spellbinder, Bk 2)
Fire Raiser (Spellbinder, Bk 2)
Author: Melanie Rawn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/18/2012


If you love Melanie Rawn's other books, you'll be in for a treat. Spellbinder was fairly mediocre. I am wishing I read something else instead of wasting my time on Fire Raiser.

The plot had a lot of potential which was never reached. Instead, we're treated to the main character launching into political rants relevant to events 7-8 years ago, as well as certain hot-button topics. Despite the fact I lean the same direction, the excessive ranting in the form of dialogue was not connected to the plot in any way - it was a major distraction. Had I not been quite comfortable in the bathtub, I would have set it down and found something else to read.

While Spellbinder was not up there with Rawn's other books, I gave it a lot of leeway as it was a significant detour from her other works. Fire Raiser was nothing more than Rawn using a short-story plot line as a medium for her own political rantings.


The Goblin Emperor
The Goblin Emperor
Author: Katherine Addison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/3/2015
Helpful Score: 2


This book did not feel sluggish to me. Every time I had to put it down, I was unhappy about doing so. Now I am unhappy that I have finished and there is no sequel!

It is an interesting tale of how an exiled half-breed fourth son becomes Emperor and how he handles his new role.

The names and titles do become a bit confusing, however there is an appendix in the back of the book that explains naming conventions and their Mr/Mrs/Miss prefixes and how rank modifies them.


Harrowing the Dragon
Harrowing the Dragon
Author: Patricia A. McKillip
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/19/2008


As with most collections, some short stories are very good, some are not, and the rest are good reads which are quickly forgotten. McKillip has a way of writing that can either confuse the reader, leaving them lost in her ethereal worlds or immerse them in a wonderful world, yearning for more. This collection tended to alternate between immersion and becoming lost.

There are a few stories in the collection that I enjoyed. "The Fellowship of the Dragon", a tale of 5 companions on a rescue quest.

"The Lion and the Lark", a retelling of the German fairy tale, which we more commonly know as "Beauty and the Beast".

A more modern retelling of "The Snow Queen".

"Star-Crossed", a mystery based upon Shakespeare's "Romeo and Juliet", is also an enjoyable tale.


The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, Bk. 3)
The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, Bk. 3)
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/17/2009


I had trouble getting into it at first. I read a few chapters, put it down, read a few other books, came back, and doggedly started reading. A third of the way through the book, I couldn't put it down. I'd managed to figure out what had happened in the previous two books and the story was no longer so hard to figure out.

Yes, the ending wasn't what we would have considered "right". It was still moving, and appropriate for the story. The trilogy wasn't just about the main characters, it was about the people, the fight, the world, the balance.

In the appendix, there are summaries of the previous two books. I laughed when I saw that. I needed them when I started the book, but there, at the end, where I no longer needed them, there they were. If you find you need the summaries, head to the end.


Ink & Sigil
Ink & Sigil
Author: Kevin Hearne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/20/2020


I really enjoyed this return to the world of the Iron Druid.

The new magic system is notable and I want to see more of how it works and what future abilities there may be.

The characters are interesting and amusing. I found the workaround to the curse to be innovative, if a tad time consuming.


Kushiel's Chosen (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 2)
Kushiel's Chosen (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 2)
Author: Jacqueline Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 329
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 13


I will admit, when this series was first recommended to me at amazon, I looked at the cover and thought "nah". Oh a whim, I picked up Kushiel's Dart through PBS.

Oh wow. The tale is riveting. The characters are well formed and multi-faceted. It's a story of loyalty, deceit, friendship and strength of character rolled into one. You will find your friends in the least likely of places.

I grew tired of twiddling my thumbs waiting for this book to come my way via PBS and bought it. I am glad I did. The only thing that kept me from reading the book straight through is losing consciousness from exhaustion (not boredom).

Do NOT judge these books by their cover.

[PS: I agree with the statement at the end of the book.]


Singing the Dogstar Blues
Singing the Dogstar Blues
Author: Alison Goodman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I first read about Joss and Mavkel in Firebirds Rising. I enjoyed the short story so much that I decided I wanted to read their entire story.

This is classified as somewhat of a "Young Adult" book. Do not let that dissuade you! It is an action filled and thought provoking book as Joss strives to find some answers and to save the life of her new alien friend. Whether she sees it or not, Joss and Mavkel are ambassadors, as their class partnership is a groundbreaking event between both of their worlds.

It's definitely a good read. At one point I was rolling with laughter, yet another I was blinking away tears.


Review Date: 12/4/2013


This was an interesting collection of short stories touching on family, love, and duty. As the title indicates, the theme was treachery and treason.

There are submissions by well known authors, but it was tales written by authors I had not heard of that stuck with me.

"Suspended" by Michelle R Gawe is about a guardian angel who has lost his halo.

"Frozen" by Tom Cool - What a woman will go through to get her revenge.

"The Judas Lesson" by Jerry Oltion - What if we celebrated Judas instead of Jesus?

All of the stories are worth reading. I found none of them boring and some had interesting twists. I love anthologies as they are a great way to read new authors.


1 to 10 of 10
Want fewer ads?