Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Karen W. (ReadswhenIcan) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 67 - Page:
11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 284
Review Date: 2/13/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is definitely one of the best books I have EVER read in my life and by far the BEST Stephen King has ever written, in my opinion. I'm not an especially fast reader but I read this one in less than 3 weeks. It was so fascinating and engrossing, I just couldn't put it down. I would even read this one again and I am one to NEVER re-read a book. (There are too many books out there to re-read any book, but this one I think I would.)

I loved the story line, the characters, and the ending. Everything about this book was awesome! I LOVED IT ALL!!! I will miss it now that it's done and I will remember it for a long time! If I could give it six stars or more I would have.


1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1676
Review Date: 8/27/2013


This book, in my honest opinion, is totally overrated. I couldn't even finish it because it was just so dark, dull, and depressing. I really wanted to like this one since it's a classic and it's been around forever. But I got to about page 100 and said, "Is this something I want to keep reading?" and my answer was "NO!" Too depressing for my taste.

After I "tried" reading this, I "tried" to watch the movie......absolutely terrible. This book is definitely not for me.


Above the Thunder
Above the Thunder
Author: Renee Manfredi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/11/2009


This story was extraordinary!!! I was deeply touched by all the different characters in this book. Such a heartfelt story about people who are essentially strangers in the beginning but end up together as a close knit family. This is a book that I will not soon forget! Highly recommended!!


The Age of Miracles
The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 11/9/2012
Helpful Score: 3


This was a very interesting book, to say the least. It starts off right away, no holds bar and gets right down to it....the earth's rotation is slowing down. Birds start dying, then plants, animals, etc.

This story is told out the eyes of a girl named Julia, who is looking back on the beginning of the slowing and how her life has to change and evolve over the course of about a year or so. We see how she and her friends and parents deal with the slowing and her relationship with a boy named Seth. Julia and Seth share a sweet little romance, but in the end, parishes, unfortunately.

Julia mainly focuses on how the slowing effects her life and the people around her, not so much the world as a whole, which I get. She's a teenager and teenagers are typically self-centered and don't focus on much of anything other than their own lives. But, I was left wanting to know more of what happened to other parts of the world due to the slowing and was left wondering what would I do if this actually happened. I even wanted to know more about Circadia and how these "Real Timers" coped with the slowing. I had a lot of questions, and they never seemed to be answered.

I thought the ending was a really lame. We jump from Julia being young tweenager, 11-12 years old, to all of a sudden she's 23. Whaaaatttt???? There is just way too much time in between there that is left unsaid and then the story is done. Just done... Like that......Left hanging there. I read the last chapter and looked around dumbfounded. What the heck!?! Not good, in my opinion.

The rest of the book was great, but the ending was horrid. So disappointing. I feel this story had so much potential to be a fantastic story, but I was just left feeling flat. 3.5 out of 5 stars for me because of the poor ending. I am glad I read it though.


April & Oliver
April & Oliver
Author: Tess Callahan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This was a pretty dark book. Lots of tragedy, heartache, and family dysfunction. I liked this story very much, though it was kind of depressing and the ending kind of left you stranded, wondering what else happened, wanting more from these two people, wondering what became of their torn lives.

Tess Callahan,(not a new writer, but this is her first novel) is very talented. She is very descriptive and I can tell, loves analogies. This is a wonderful, yet disturbing story about two step-cousins, April and Oliver and their lives together as children, growing up together as teenagers, and then separating as young adults only to be brought back together in their late 20's due to a family death. Their love for each other is not only confusing to themselves and each other, but leaves the reader wondering about the sexual tension that is felt between these two friends yet kind of family in a sense.

I had a difficult time putting this book down and couldn't wait until I could find time to finish reading it. It was like a train wreck and I couldn't stop reading it. I had to know what happened next. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys tragedies and stories with heartache and tears.


Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 6/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is absolutely one of the funniest books I have ever read! I was laughing so hard I was crying!! Chelsea Handler is freakin' hilarious!!! Totally loved this book. Would love to post this book, but I definitely think I will want to read it again!!!


Astrid and Veronika
Astrid and Veronika
Author: Linda Olsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 10/15/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was a lovely written story of two women who have lead totally different lives and have come together as friends. Beautifully written,this author has a great talent for describing everything that is being seen, heard, tasted and felt. The story itself was a bit on the slow side and it took me awhile to get through it despite the fact that it's only 246 pages, but it was a truly lovely story and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys descriptive, melancholy, and emotional stories.


Babyville
Babyville
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 7/11/2009


This book was so fun! I really enjoyed all the characters and the plot! Highly recommend it!


Best Friends Forever (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 2/27/2010


I just finished this audio book a few days ago. I really liked this story, though it was a bit long-winded. It had about 50+ chapters in this audio book and it seemed to go on and on. But, the story itself was very interesting and kept me wanting to hear more from these characters and the lives they lead.

It's about two girls, who are complete opposites, growing up together in Chicago suburbia, a town called Pleasant Ridge, and how these best friends grow apart as one grows up and meet new friends and experience different situations while the other has difficulties and challenges in her life. It was amazing to see how each girl sees the other and how the grass is always greener on the other side.

This book starts out in the present time after each girl has grown up and due to an uncontrollable incident at their high school reunion brings them back together after 15 years of each living totally different lives. Valerie is now a weather girl for a Chicago network and the other girl, Addie lives alone, as an artist, painting pictures for greeting cards. Valerie "accidentally" hits a guy from their class with her car and she ends up on Addie's front porch. This lead to a hasty trip south to Key West in order to let things "settle down" and hopefully figure out a plan. Along the way, there are many trips down memory lane to their childhoods and how each one saw each others lives and how each friend's lives went a different way. In the meantime, a detective from Pleasant Ridge is following them to FL in order to find them and figure out what happened at the reunion.

This story had a lot of detail and depth to it and you really begin to feel you know these girls and their stories. Perception is all relative, that's for sure. This was a great story and would recommend it to anyone!!! Two thumbs up for me!!!!


Review Date: 1/26/2010


This book was just okay for me. I thought it was kind of funny in parts, but I didn't laugh out loud like I was hoping. Jen Lancaster just comes off like a spoiled brat and quite pathetic just because she loses her job and a few of her luxurious items had to be sold on Ebay. I didn't feel very sorry for her and I can't believe there are people out there that actually act like she did in this book. I guess, it's called Karma, Miss Lancaster....AND, I don't think I will be reading any of her other books if they are like this one. Too negative and way too bitter without the humor to back it up. Don't waste your time. Glad I didn't actually buy this book and I can't wait to send this one on.


Bob the Dog
Bob the Dog
Author: Rodrigo Folguetra
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/21/2011


What a funny little book. Got this one the other day and my son wants me to read this to him all the time now. Very silly story of a dog who accidently eats a canary because the canary doesn't want to clean his room and is hiding from his mommy. Cute story, for sure!


Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 312
Review Date: 8/12/2009


This book was just okay for me. Not bad, not great. It was a fast read. Happy ending, yet very unbelievable. Kind of cheesy in some parts.


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1980
Review Date: 1/21/2013


Okay, so I had the chance to finally read this book. Not sure what all the fuss is about though. Seems like it's kind of flat to me.

So it's about this kid named Holden Caulfield. To me, he just seemed like a typical, lazy teenager who can't seem to get his life together. He doesn't like school, he doesn't like other people, he's depressed, and he's sexually inept.

I'm not sure if this why this book was banned other than the language for the 1950's was probably too harsh, but I found it fairly tame compared to other books written today. It definitely doesn't hold up to today's standards of writing.

It was an okay book, I liked it. Would I recommend it? Not really, unless you are one that wants to read banned books and or controversial books of the times. Otherwise I would pass and read something a little more substantial.


A Change in Altitude
A Change in Altitude
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 5/31/2010


Decent little book. Quick read. Not one of Anite Shreve's best books ever, but decent. I liked it, but didn't love it. 3 out of 5 stars for me.


Change of Heart
Change of Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 2/18/2010


This book was good, not but not great. I love the style that Jodi Picoult writes, all the different characters written in the first person. Yet, I couldn't help but wonder if she got some the ideas from this book from other authors, i.e. Stephen King's "The Green Mile" and Grisham's "The Chamber." This story focuses on capital punishment and inmates producing miracles and redemption of sins. It's one of those stories that make you think about how you feel about the death penalty and religion and seperation of church and state.

The storyline was a good one, but not original, by any means. But if you like courthouse dramas and stories where there are tough choices that a mother has to make in order to save their child, then this is definitly the story for you. It's a very heartfelt story, but definity not earth shattering or mind blowing.


Cocktails for Three
Cocktails for Three
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 434
Review Date: 5/5/2009


This was a fun book to read. Very entertaining. Highly recommend for a fast, easy read.


Curious George Makes Pancakes (Curious George)
Curious George Makes Pancakes (Curious George)
Author: H. A. Rey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/21/2011


One of my all time favorite Curious George adventures. My son and I read this one all the time. Very cute and funny!! Truly, a classic!!!


Cut, Crop & Die (Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-N-Craft, Bk 2)
Cut, Crop & Die (Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-N-Craft, Bk 2)
Author: Joanna Campbell-Slan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 1/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second book in the Kiki Lowenstein scrapbook mystery stories. It's a follow- up book to Paper, Sissors, Death. I love the main character Kiki Lowenstein. An amature slueth, mother, and scrapbooker trying to solve a mystery of the death of a fellow scrapbooker who died at her employers crop. A fun who-done-it mystery and I didn't figure out the mystery until the very end.

Great mystery with a bit of a love story thrown in for good measure. Also some great scrapbooking tips added for the scrapbook lover, as well. LOVE LOVE LOVE this story!!! Fun, easy, great read and I would give this two thumbs up.


Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Lindsay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 354
Review Date: 6/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I love love love Dexter. This book totally surprised me. I did not expect the ending to be like that. I have followed the show from beginning through the fourth season and this is the first Dexter book I have read. At first, it reads like season one but it ended completely different. What a wonderful, terrible, exciting twist of events. I can't wait to read the second one. Two thumbs up from me!!!!


Dearly Devoted Dexter (Dexter, Bk 2)
Dearly Devoted Dexter (Dexter, Bk 2)
Author: Jeff Lindsay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 7/27/2010


This was such a good book. This is the second book in the Dexter series and it did not disappoint. I love that the story is completely different from the show, yet you have most of the same characters, so there is always a face to the names. What an amazing story this turned out to be. Two thumbs up for me! I Love Dexter!


1 to 20 of 67 - Page: