Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Alice T. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy Part 2: The Revenge of the Ridiculous Robo-boogers
Review Date: 10/24/2007


according to the cover, this is actually the 7th Epic Novel, not Book #6.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 805
Review Date: 3/17/2010


My 13-year-old daughter really loved this book. Like many of his books, it was a little sad, but she enjoyed it nonetheless.


Death Al Dente (Food Lovers' Village, Bk 1)
Death Al Dente (Food Lovers' Village, Bk 1)
Author: Leslie Ann Budewitz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 8/5/2016
Helpful Score: 1


Best cozy mystery I've read in awhile. Likable characters, good mystery, great writing.


The Diva Frosts a Cupcake (Domestic Diva, Bk 7)
The Diva Frosts a Cupcake (Domestic Diva, Bk 7)
Author: Krista Davis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/24/2017


I love all of the Domestic Diva books. They are honestly my favorite cozy mystery series.


Eagle Strike (Alex Rider, Bk 4)
Eagle Strike (Alex Rider, Bk 4)
Author: Anthony Horowitz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/27/2010


my 11-year-old son really likes this series. There's action and intrigue, a little bit of violence; all the things boys like. He would recommend this book and this series.


Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 4)
Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 4)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 10/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I did not like this book nearly as much as Silence of the Lambs or Red Dragon. It almost seemed like it was someone writing trying to copy the style of Thomas Harris. However, I also did not like Hannibal as much as the other two. If you are fan of the story of Hannibal Lector, then most likely you will enjoy this prequel.


Home for the Holidays (Tales of Grace Chapel Inn, Bk 7)
Home for the Holidays (Tales of Grace Chapel Inn, Bk 7)
Author: Rebecca Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/22/2016


I love this series. Is it going down in the annals of great American literature? No. Is it going to bring a couple hours of happiness? Yes. This Christmas one is one of my favorites. They are cozy without being schmaltzy, religious without being overpowering.


In God We Trust : All Others Pay Cash
In God We Trust : All Others Pay Cash
Author: Jean Shepherd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. It is the basis for A Christmas Story, but it contains much, much more than the movie. What helped me is that the narrator from the movie is the author, so it was like I could hear his voice reading it. It was perhaps a bit darker than the movie, but all in all a good look at this boy's childhood.


The Secret Lives of Dresses
The Secret Lives of Dresses
Author: Erin McKean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/18/2016


I loved this book. I thought the story moved well, I appreciated the characters, and I liked the way it ended. I enjoyed it so much that I gave my copy to a faculty member at the college where I work, and I ordered myself a second copy!


Shakespeare's Christmas (Lily Bard, Bk 3)
Shakespeare's Christmas (Lily Bard, Bk 3)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 7/24/2013


This is my favorite of the Lily Bard books. Lily is a strong female protagonist, and I really enjoy the writing in this series. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes the Sookie Stackhouse books or really any mystery series with a strong woman with an interesting backstory.


She Got Up Off the Couch: And Other Heroic Acts from Mooreland, Indiana
Review Date: 9/20/2016


I thought this would be a heartwarming walk down memory lane. Instead, her parents are horrible, and she is bitter, but tries to pretend that she isn't. It had some good parts, but it was not what I was expecting.


The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale
Author: Diane Setterfield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 819
Review Date: 4/23/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I may be in the minority, but I did not really like this book. It got better, and I finished it, but the whole time I was reading it I felt like I was reading a paper by a college kid who wanted to show her professor how smart she was. It felt pretentious.


The Vampire's Kiss
The Vampire's Kiss
Author: Ruth Ann Nordin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/21/2010


I really did not like this book. I guess I expected too much from it. I felt like it was almost a parody of other vampire books. To me, it read like one of the teen romances I read in the 80s, but with some supposed-to-be spooky stuff thrown in.


1 to 13 of 13
Want fewer ads?