Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Susan S. (sulock) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 83 - Page:
The Affair of the Thirty-Nine Cufflinks
The Affair of the Thirty-Nine Cufflinks
Author: James Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/5/2020


This gem has been waiting years for me to pick it up. Loved it reminiscent of Dorothy Sayers, Wodehouse, Christie and others. Good English country house murder with plenty of suspects and unassuming detective. Enjoyed the characters and the prose. Anyone who wants an old fashion who done it. This book is for you.


Aftermath (Vino and Veritas)
Aftermath (Vino and Veritas)
Author: L.A. Witt, Heart Eyes Press LGBTQ
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/10/2023


This book had it all, romance, great characters that you can empathize with. Family dynamics that are well plotted if disfunctional. People caught in lifes messy circumstances and how they handle them. This is a M/M rom if that bothers you skip it but this book handles how people with handicaps stuggle to cope with all the things we hale people do but how it effects their lives. Kept me up late into the night.


The Aquatic Ape
The Aquatic Ape
Author: Elaine Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/31/2008


Elaine Morgan, gives theories of why humans might have evolved and related it to other aquadic species of mammals, thought provoking. This book points to many features allegedly "unique" to man but extremely common among aquatic mammals such as whales and dolphins, seals, manatees and sea otters. It suggests that a period of aquatic adaptation followed by a return to land, was the decisive factor the evolution of man.


Bad Swipe (Billionaire's Club, Bk 12)
Bad Swipe (Billionaire's Club, Bk 12)
Author: Elise Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/12/2022


This writer builds a good story backed by solid character building. A great romance that keeps you actively rooting for both main characters to make the match work. Good twists to standard man meets woman...falls in love.


Balefire (Whyborne & Griffin) (Volume 10)
Balefire (Whyborne & Griffin) (Volume 10)
Author: Jordan L. Hawk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/10/2022


I am nearing the end of this series. It is complex and well written. Sorcery and earth magic collide in action packed books that are sure to pull you thru. I read the first 9 in e books then found the two last in paperback. The two male protagonists are from two different walks of life that have met and are now in book ten married. There are many paranormal events in each book that are leading to the end times. These books are well written and well edited with enough adventure for anyone. Love the characters and the plotting.


Beast of Wonder: A Novella
Beast of Wonder: A Novella
Author: Lilith Saintcrow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/12/2022


Atmospheric
This book starts you out with just a hint of tragedy. Goes from there to spooky without being overly scarey. The writing just hints at horror and magic. The female characte Cara is in a night mare or is she.


Beneath the Bleeding (Dr. Tony Hill / Carol Jordan, Bk 5)
Beneath the Bleeding (Dr. Tony Hill / Carol Jordan, Bk 5)
Author: Val McDermid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/1/2016


Well I started this over the weekend and finished today, why it had been on my TBR list for over 2 yrs, who knows. This is a well written Mystery and the only draw back I see is it's very British with some British slang thrown in on top of football (soccer) added to it. This book is the first I have read of McDermid and it is number 5 in the series. I wish I had read the first 4, there is a tension between the 2 MCs that probably would be explained if I had read the earlier books. But considering the above mentioned 2 draw backs I loved this book. There were a lot of layers and the characters in the detective division interaction is believable. The is a high profile death of a star football player, the profiler Dr Tony Hill helps his colleague DCI Carol Jordan investigating this death. There are many turns and more deaths before they start to zero in on the killer. Don't let the length of the book daunt you as it probably did me, this one kept me awake reading late into the night. I would recommend it to anyone who likes their mysteries complicated and realistic without too much graphic detail. It is messy trying to untangle all the false clues and misdirection. A Great book would give it a 5 star rating (ignore the ocassional incomprehensible British slang word).


A Book of Tongues (Hexslinger, Bk 1)
A Book of Tongues (Hexslinger, Bk 1)
Author: Gemma Files
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/31/2020


Just finished A Book of Tongues (Hexslinger, Bk 1) Author: Gemma Files it's the oddest book I have read in a long time. Loved the cover and thought I knew going in what this was going to be like, but I was mistaken. I thought it would be a mix of western/paranormal since it was book one of the Hexslinger series. Well I was somewhat right a preacher who spouted bible verses, was partnered with a dangerous psychopath, gay man. Yes I know and then mix in Mayan demi-goddess and those names with too many consonants and the whole book was like watching a train wreck. interesting enough to rivet you but you really don't want to read it. If you like your mythology scrambled and you don't mind sex M/M and you don't mind your main character being a serial killer, this is the book for you. And there are two more. Needless to say I am not going to try to acquire them.


Briar Rose: an Everland Ever After Tale
Briar Rose: an Everland Ever After Tale
Author: Caroline Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/3/2022


A short book but complete with character developement and good story line. This series of books are all western romance then the author ties it pretty flawlessly to a fairy tale. Rather enjoyable to keep looking for how the fairy tale will tie in with what is an essential clean western romance. I have read all but one and enjoyed each one. Who doesn't want a romance with a little fairy godmother thrown in.


Bryant & May and the Burning Man (Bryant & May: Peculiar Crimes Unit, Bk 12)
Review Date: 5/15/2022


Always an interesting mystery, quirky characters and deep London history, complicated murder plots. Love these books. Two lead characters have opposite techniques for solving murders. Modern day London is the location and historic facts litter the book. Try these mysteries and get hooked.


China Basin (Cyrus Skeen, Bk 1)
China Basin (Cyrus Skeen, Bk 1)
Author: Edward Cline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/12/2018


Set during prohibition in San Francisco the MC is a PI I enjoyed the writing style and the characters portrayed, the secretary is an evolving character and she seems to be coming into her own in this first book. The investigative style is more realistic than some as it takes some going from one person to another to elicit the facts. The characters are involved in the theater and seem more literate that alot of the PI novels. Kind of like the Thin Man of a different era.


Chosen by the Vampire Kings (The Chosen Series) (Volume 1)
Chosen by the Vampire Kings (The Chosen Series) (Volume 1)
Author: Charlene Hartnady
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/31/2023


I want to say I was surprised how good this book was, the characters were complex and the story line started out kind of standard and I was prepared to be underwhelmed. But it didn't take long for this author to get my attention yes there were alpa males the girl next door but things get complex and I was pulled thru this book all 474 pages in 2 days. If sex is not your thing avoid this book but if you want some exciting take on vampire/human story this will do it. Now to find more books by this author.


Cinnamon and Gunpowder: A Novel
Cinnamon and Gunpowder: A Novel
Author: Eli Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/14/2016


I picked up this book because of the title and I didn't recognize the author. I do this so I know I haven't already read the book. Sometimes you get lucky and find a jewel like this book, mixing a pirate and a chef. I went into it with no expectations, but was gripped by the characters so opposite of the other. A female pirate captures a chef on a whim, his job on ship board to produce a meal for the captain once a week. There is little on board to make a meal. The mix of intelligent chef concocting meals from nearly nothing and the pirate being more than ruthless make this a feast. Throw in history of the opium /silk /tea trade and you have a great story. I loved it.


Cold Hearted (Yancy Lazarus, Bk 2)
Cold Hearted (Yancy Lazarus, Bk 2)
Author: James A. Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/5/2016


I thoroughly enjoy Yancy Lazarus the plots twist and turn and travel thru time and dimensions. He is a Magi but not one of the group, he is a jazz player who is a fix it man. This book gathers numerous odd happenings and different paranormal individuals together and it works. I have read Jim Butcher, Ben Aaronovitch and many others who write about magic users Mr Hunter's books are as good or better. I like the MC but also the additional characters he has around him. I have already ordered his 3rd book. Try them if you like other worldly and different books.


Conventionally Yours (True Colors, Bk 1)
Conventionally Yours (True Colors, Bk 1)
Author: Annabeth Albert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/15/2021


Loved the writer's character development they were complex but relatable. I know nothing of the gaming world and enjoyed being given a glimpse through this book. I truly loved the authors ending and the characters growth.


Couldn't Cheat Death (Paul Monroe, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/14/2021


Good balance of murder mystery and romantic tension. Murder committed in a large convention hotel in their parking garage brings face to face old acquaintances. Police detective and hotel manager, who was best friends with the detectives younger brother when children meet again. The murder is a young bartender from the hotel bar and his life was complicated by a very busy sex life. There are many suspects to look at and many with a reason to hate the victim. Good writing style and the start of a complicated romance between an openly gay hotel executive and a closeted police detective.


Coyote Sky
Coyote Sky
Author: Gerri Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/19/2016


I picked this book up thinking it was a mystery, well it is about a mystery writer who is lesbian. It is a novel with some romance thrown in. I actually thoroughly enjoyed this book the characters were wonderful and quirky and the MC did not bore me. There is the sexual tension and moral tension, one is in what she considers a committed relationship. The writing is smooth and the setting in the desert high country is well drawn. I loved the characters pictured, odd and endearing. I think the love interest didn't bother me as it is as old as time. You can't pick who you love....


Craft Brew (Trouble Brewing, Bk 2)
Craft Brew (Trouble Brewing, Bk 2)
Author: Layla Reyne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2021


I enjoyed this book there are various mysteries and between one character being with the US attorneys office and the other being with the FBI there is plenty of action. I missed some of the interaction because I hadn't read the first book but didn't hinder the enjoyment. Good writing style.


Dead Egotistical Morons (Paul Turner, Bk 7)
Dead Egotistical Morons (Paul Turner, Bk 7)
Author: Mark Richard Zubro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/29/2020


Chicago detectives investigate a murder of a member of the most famous Boy Band just after their concert. Hollywood music mogul, corrupt critics, contradictory stories. Then another member of the band is found murdered. There is confusion, lying, obstruction and late nights for the pair of detectives. Sexual extorsion is uncovered and lots of secrets. Well written good mystery.


Dead Harvest: Discreet Demolitions (Volume 1)
Dead Harvest: Discreet Demolitions (Volume 1)
Author: Jeanette Battista, Tracey Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2017


Picked up a book 'Dead Harvest' by Jeanette Battista and Tracey Phillips, was a great book unfortunately was self published and doesn't appear to have a second in the works. The 2 main characters are seemingly average women but they come together because they are both not all together human. One is an escapee from an insane asylum that sees monsters that no one else does. She has anger issues and when in a rage changes to a larger and stronger version of herself the other is a woman living in the underworld and can work magic. When they meet they form a team of unlikely detectives. There was humor and action and really made you want to follow them to see what they really were. There weren't allot of answers in this book but twists and turns and hints of future exploits Demons and magic mirrors. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I will keep my eye out for future books, she does have another few books out that seem to be a series.


1 to 20 of 83 - Page: