Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Cindy L. (shurrwill) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Arthur & George
Arthur & George
Author: Julian Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/6/2007


Very enjoyable format for a mystery. I wish I had thought of this idea. Very good read.


Atlas Shrugged
Atlas Shrugged
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 348
Review Date: 2/25/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Incredible book and philosophy. I enjoyed it, but it took me years to finish the actual ending. Not sure why! Perhaps too much to digest at one time. Dagny was quite the hero.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 777
Review Date: 9/6/2007


Super good King horror. The ending does not leave you up in the air. I know again why I truly hate cell phones!


Christine
Christine
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/6/2006


Another fine mystery thriller book by Stephen King. I enjoyed this book but sure did not like going around old cars at night by myself after I read it! Enjoy this one.


The Colorado Kid
The Colorado Kid
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 2/25/2006


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Pure entertainment from the master of horror turned mystery pulp fiction writer. Great job, Mr. King!


The Conjurer's Bird
The Conjurer's Bird
Author: Martin Davies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/6/2007


Nifty mystery. Written in a very odd way, but still a really good mystery.


The Covenant
The Covenant
Author: James A. Mitchener
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/6/2007


Excellent book about South Africa and the apartheid as only Mitchener can tell it. From the very beginning!


The Dark Half
The Dark Half
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/6/2006


This book typifies the essential Stephen King. Very much like 'The Secret Window', this story has many things that surprise you. As always, Mr. King has done it once again. Thanks for the good read, Mr. King!


Darkest Instinct (Jessica Coran, Bk 4)
Darkest Instinct (Jessica Coran, Bk 4)
Author: Robert W. Walker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 2/25/2006


Very suspenseful novel. This copy is even signed by the author! I enjoyed it quite a bit, so much so that I read it in record time for me!


Dead Cert
Dead Cert
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 7/24/2014


Really good read. I could tell it was his first novel since I have read so many of the others. But as always, Dick Francis creates great interest in steeplechasing and just the entire British thing as well. Everyone who likes a good mystery should try this one out. It is now part of my collection and I am sure I will read it again someday!


The Dead Zone
The Dead Zone
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/20/2005


Really a gripping book. Not a bad television series either! But then Stephen King knows how to weave that magic. This is a very entertaining book. Scary too!!


False Memory (Random House Large Print)
False Memory (Random House Large Print)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Gripping and typical of Koontz! Must read for any Koontz fans. It will keep you on the edge of your seat for the entire reading. Very enjoyable.


Haiku Master Buson
Haiku Master Buson
Author: Yuri Sawa, Edith M. Shiffert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/25/2006


Masterful haiku collection. Truly enjoyable for haiku fans. Just wanted to share with others.


In Praise of Slowness
In Praise of Slowness
Author: Carl Honore`
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/2/2006


I enjoyed this book about taking life a full notch back. It was insightful and enjoyable to read. But the actual text is really the lesson we all should read and take to heart.


The Labyrinth of Dreams (G.O.D. Inc., Bk 1)
The Labyrinth of Dreams (G.O.D. Inc., Bk 1)
Author: Jack L. Chalker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


What a wonderful hook to get you engrossed in the trilogy! I truly enjoyed this book of Chalker's as I did enjoy the series. A very plausible story line with some really fun characters make this one a must read for anyone who enjoys Chalker or any sci-fi or sci-fantasy book.


Mary, Called Magdalene
Mary, Called Magdalene
Author: Margaret George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 9/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Unusual book, but very well done. It is a fictional book and a good one. Some may find it problematic, but it is really good.


The Maze in the Mirror (G.O.D. Inc, Bk 3)
The Maze in the Mirror (G.O.D. Inc, Bk 3)
Author: Jack L. Chalker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/20/2006


Since it was the last in the series, I guess it was the best. Really good ending! I highly recommend it to sci-fi and sci-fantasy readers alike. Good read y'all!


Mule Bone : A Comedy of Negro Life in Three Acts
Review Date: 9/6/2007


Good book, but it is sort of hard to read about some of your favorite authors and their dirty linen, so to speak. Too bad they never patched up their differences and produced this play. It would have been well received even back in the 30's!


Noble House
Noble House
Author: James Clavell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/20/2005


Another great work of historical fiction by James Clavell. He builds on the Shogun work and leads you to the Tai-Pan as well. If you enjoy historical novels, his work will keep you enthralled!


The Shadow Dancers (G.O.D. Inc., No. 2)
The Shadow Dancers (G.O.D. Inc., No. 2)
Author: Jack L. Chalker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/20/2006


Excellent as the second of the series as it keeps you hungry for more of the story of Sam and Brandy and the eternal struggle. Not sure if this one is the best of the three or not, you be the judge.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Want fewer ads?