Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Barbara M. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2)
Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2)
Author: Peggy Parish, Fritz Siebel (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/18/2006


My kids are in their 20's now, but they still remember the Amelia Bedelia books with affection.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 11/11/2006


A fun look back at the 60's, 70's, and 80's.


Avoiding Prison and Other Noble Vacation Goals : Adventures in Love and Danger
Review Date: 2/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I have actually read this book and am not copying the description from the back of the book. Believe me, except for some funny family history at the beginning and here and there throughout there is nothing hilarious about this book. The woman who wrote it is completely lacking in common sense and is so desperate for love that she will do the most unimaginably idiotic things to pursue it. She may be bright, but she sure isn't smart. She's lucky to be alive. I don't know if she learned anything because the last page of the book states that she lives in Los Angelos with a guy she "picked up" in Bolivia. I imagine he's long gone by now, but I'm sure she's found a replacement or two in trips back to Central America. She should just save her money and time and check-out the homeless shelters.


Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Author: Jess Walter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Absolutely awful and absurd. I don't know why it got so much positive press when it first came out. I don't think I was the only one disappointed by this ridiculous book.


Catfish and Mandala : A Two-Wheeled Voyage through the Landscape and Memory of Vietnam
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Fantastic book! I've given copies to everyone I like and some people I don't like. Everyone loves it!


Catfish and Mandala: A Two-Wheeled Voyage Through the Landscape and Memory of Vietnam
Review Date: 8/3/2014


This is one of the most moving and interesting books I have ever read. Everyone I lent it to loved it. It is on my list of favorite books. I just don't understand the poor reviews.


The Cats of Thistle Hill: A Mostly Peaceable Kingdom
The Cats of Thistle Hill: A Mostly Peaceable Kingdom
Author: Roger A. Caras
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/18/2006


Very enjoyable for any cat lover.


A Child Called It / The Lost Boy
A Child Called It / The Lost Boy
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 9/15/2006


This is two books in one. Heartbreaking and moving. You won't believe the terrible things a mother (she doesn't deserve the title) did to her child.


The Debt to Pleasure
The Debt to Pleasure
Author: John Lanchester
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/27/2006


Not really a mystery or a thriller. Just a weird work of fiction. Strange and surprising.


The Devil Wears Prada (Devil Wears Prada, Bk 1)
The Devil Wears Prada (Devil Wears Prada, Bk 1)
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1735
Review Date: 9/9/2006


Very entertaining. Better than the movie. And the boss is much meaner than in the movie.


Do They Wear High Heels In Heaven? (Red Dress Ink)
Do They Wear High Heels In Heaven? (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Erica Orloff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 8/14/2006


Not intellectually stimulating, but a quick to read entertaining tear-jerker.


The Dogs of Riga (Kurt Wallander, Bk 2)
Review Date: 10/12/2014


One strange story. Didn't expect to read a Swedish mystery and end up in Latvia. Did not understand why Kurt Wallander who knew nothing about Latvia was the only person who could help, but oh well, that's the story. Enjoyable and I will read the next book in the series.


Faceless Killers (Kurt Wallander, Bk 1)
Faceless Killers (Kurt Wallander, Bk 1)
Author: Henning Mankell, Steven T. Murray (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 10/12/2014


I expected to be a little more "wowed" by this book because I know several people who love this Henning Mankell series. It's okay, but a little dark for my taste. I will read more out of curiousity to see if they get better.


The Five People You Meet In Heaven
The Five People You Meet In Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/26/2006


Enthralling. Very entertaining. I really enjoyed it.


Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2051
Review Date: 8/14/2006


As terrific as the rest!


The Full Cupboard of Life (The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 5)
Review Date: 11/13/2006


Terrific! Like all the other books in the series!


Girl in Translation
Girl in Translation
Author: Jean Kwok
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Okay, and I did care about the little girl and her mother. Of course, I hated the mother's sister who was full of envy. She got the end she deserved.


The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood
The Good Good Pig: The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood
Author: Sy Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 10/12/2014


This is one of the most delightful books I have ever read. I have given it to lots of family and friends and they have all loved it. Who would think a book about a pig could be so touching. Wonderful!


Good Work, Amelia Bedelia
Good Work, Amelia Bedelia
Author: Peggy Parish, Lynn Sweat (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/18/2006


My kids are in their 20's now, but they still remember the Amelia Bedelia books with affection.


Gutted : Down to the Studs in My House, My Marriage, My Life
Gutted : Down to the Studs in My House, My Marriage, My Life
Author: Lawrence LaRose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/15/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The struggles of a newly married couple to renovate a very old and dilapidated house. Spellbinding in a different kind of way. I think I was more stressed than they were about their money problems and pressure on their marriage. Definitely anxiety producing, but very good.


1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
Want fewer ads?