Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

SusanRachel F. (SusanRachel) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 9/15/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A strange and wonderful synergy between a young magician and a djinni. An excellent book.


Dustoff: The Memoir of an Army Aviator
Dustoff: The Memoir of an Army Aviator
Author: Michael J. Novosel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/8/2009


A gritty well-written memoir from Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient Michael Novosel who flew in three different wars on all varieties of aircraft including numerous decorations as a Dustoff (MEDEVAC) pilot during Vietnam. Speaking as a present-day Dustoff crewmember, I found myself "flying" with him on mission after mission. Well done.


An Inconvenient Book: Real Solutions to the World's Biggest Problems
An Inconvenient Book: Real Solutions to the World's Biggest Problems
Author: Glenn Beck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Terrific and thought provoking.


Island in the Sea of Time (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 1)
Island in the Sea of Time (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 1)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 1/20/2012
Helpful Score: 3


The story was interesting, but the author has a very dark place in his soul that comes out in the form of described rape, torture, etc. I finished book one, but am opting out of the rest of the series. If that sort of thing doesn't disturb you, the book was well written. If it would bother you, you'd best pass. Also, very poor research especially in the medical field. I had a number of eye roll moments from that.


Lest We Forget: An Army Ranger Medic's Story
Lest We Forget: An Army Ranger Medic's Story
Author: leo jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/12/2015


A disappointment. This book had numerous military errors, spelling and grammar errors, and was overly focused on juvenile alcoholic behavior. I gave up halfway through. And seriously, Mr. Jenkins, if you don't know the difference between INDEX and ENDEX, you might want to look it up before using it as the opening scene to your book.


My Grandfather's Son: A Memoir
My Grandfather's Son: A Memoir
Author: Clarence Thomas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely amazing story of the ultimate in the American dream. Whether you think you know about the life of Justice Thomas or whether you know that you don't, you will be moved by this powerful book.


The Road to Reality: Coming Home to Jesus From the Unreal World
The Road to Reality: Coming Home to Jesus From the Unreal World
Author: K. P. Yohannan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/10/2007


If you're comfortable an happy in your Christian life, if you don't want to be challenged or made uncomfortable, do NOT read this book. It will stretch and challenge you in ways you never considered and will alter your view of yourself, your life, and everything you do.


Toxin
Toxin
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 3/26/2012
Helpful Score: 5


A horribly researched, factually inaccurate book. I can't remember ever doing this before, but I quit reading it halfway through and actually threw it in the garbage rather than give it to someone else. Don't waste your time.


We Were One: Shoulder to Shoulder With the Marines Who Took Fallujah
Review Date: 9/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


An unbelievable inside story of the assault on Fallujah. This is a must-read for all Americans.


1 to 9 of 9
Want fewer ads?