Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Ellen O. (Sherlock) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Capital Crimes (Will Lee, Bk 6)
Capital Crimes (Will Lee, Bk 6)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 4/12/2008


This one was terrific - it's the first Stuart Woods novel I read and I honestly couldn't put it down. It completely hooked me on Stuart Woods.


Chronicles of Avonlea (Chronicles of Avonlea, Bk 1)
Chronicles of Avonlea (Chronicles of Avonlea, Bk 1)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/5/2005


This is a series of 12 short stories by the author of Anne of Green Gables, set in Avonlea. Anne appears in some of the stories


The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
Author: Helene Hanff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/20/2005


This is the sequel to 84 Charing Cross Road. Miss Hanff finally achieves her dream of visiting England. Presented in the form of a diary, this book describes her adventures visiting various points of interest, meeting Frank's family, and so on. A lovely book - definitely worth reading!


Houdini on Magic
Houdini on Magic
Author: Harry Houdini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/19/2005


This is Houdini's own account of many of his escapes and illusions, along with instructions for performing many classic illusions.


Memory in Death (In Death, Bk 22)
Memory in Death (In Death, Bk 22)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love Robb's "in Death" series. This one is excellent. Although I will admit that I figured out "whodunnit" rather early on - earlier than I usually manage with Robb's books. Despite this, I enjoyed this one A LOT!


The Mother Tongue: English & How It Got That Way
The Mother Tongue: English & How It Got That Way
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/12/2005


Bill Bryson discusses the history of the English language and explains many of the quirks and oddities (such as why "four" has a "u" but "forty" doesn't). It is not a grammar book, but a book about how English is used and misused.


Much Ado about Murder
Much Ado about Murder
Author: Anne Perry (Editor)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/5/2005


This is a book of Shakespeare-inspired mystery stories. The authors of the short stories in this book inlcude Edward D. Hoch, Margaret Frazer, Carole Nelson Douglas, Robert Barnard, and Simon Brett


Palmpilot: The Ultimate Guide, 2nd Edition
Palmpilot: The Ultimate Guide, 2nd Edition
Author: David Pogue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/19/2005


This is a few years old, so it is best for people with older Palm handhelds. But a lot of the information in it applies to the newer models as well. The CD-Rom that came with the book is missing.


The Ruins of Isis
The Ruins of Isis
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/27/2008


This is a pretty good book but it is NOT part of the Darkover series.


Teen-Age Tales, Book B
Review Date: 8/19/2005


Oops! This is actually a hardback, not a paperback - I don't know how to fix this.


The Three Bears
The Three Bears
Author: Carol North (Adapter)
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/19/2005


This is the First Little Golden Book edition, hardcover, toddler size, with lots of great illustrations.


UNO/MURDER/RAB/WAHL
UNO/MURDER/RAB/WAHL
Author: Joseph Rabbi Telushkin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/5/2005


Actually, the title of this book is "The Unorthodox Murder of Rabbi Wahl" and the author is Rabbi Joseph Telushkin. The series is similar in many ways to Harry Kemelman's Rabbi Small series, although the rabbi/detective in this series is Orthodox, rather than Conservative.


Who Dunnit?: How to Be a Detective in Ten Easy Lessons
Who Dunnit?: How to Be a Detective in Ten Easy Lessons
Author: Marvin Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/19/2005


This is a really fun book for kids. It has short mysteries to solve, tips on how to be a detective, riddles, and secret codes.


1 to 13 of 13
Want fewer ads?