Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Karen Z. (momto5ls) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1666
Review Date: 5/25/2012


This was a great read and a lot to think about. I was not excited about the rated R content, and would keep this one on a higher shelf, but there are a few lines in the book that are spot on! It gives us something to fear if we do not start to wake up and take back our country. We could become this!

The reason for the 3 star rating is because there were several places where it is VERY SLOW. Winston has the right idea to buck the system, but then shows no inspiring character in the process. The lack of character in Winston and his female counterpart are underwhelming.


Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/11/2015


This has got to be one of my all time favorite books. I have just read it for the first time. I love the writing style, the amazing way Montgomery has of creating characters that we "know", and the firey personality yet innocence of "Anne with an e;" her honest mistakes, and sincerity in never making the same one twice; the regret for those she cannot love, and the intensity of love for those she can. This is a CLASSIC. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.


The Bird's Christmas Carol
The Bird's Christmas Carol
Author: Wiggin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/25/2019


This is a sweet book about a little sister for Christmas. She changes lives. It will pull your heart strings in all directions. It was written in 1886, and is a true classic!


The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 2)
The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 2)
Author: John Flanagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/14/2014


This is a great series! Great plot and character development. Great characters that are examples of good character traits. Drama that keeps you turning the page (into the night!).

I am not a fan of teen romance, and although the main character in this book is a teen, it is free of mushy romance!

This book is full of examples of real men! Will is learning to be the kind of man we need more of - hard working, focused, and has integrity.

It is also full of great medieval fantasy and action!! I highly recommend it.


The Christmas Sweater
The Christmas Sweater
Author: Glenn Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 7/23/2012


I ordered this book because I had read my mother's copy and wanted a copy in our home! I hope it will become a tradition for our family to read it at Christmas time. The author, in looking inside himself, helps each of us to look inside ourselves. What is really important in our lives?


The Constitution: A Heavenly Banner
The Constitution: A Heavenly Banner
Author: Ezra Taft Benson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/21/2012


Succinct, Basic, POWERFUL. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves The Constitution. It is highly religious, but it is so powerful that it made me cry in several places. I love this country and the document that is the law of the land!


Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations
Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations
Author: Alex Harris, Brett Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/3/2015


This is an inspiring book!! Written by homeschooled teenagers who have a desire to put FIRE in other people to be who they were born to be. We all take the path of least resistance...does it get us what we want? Is that the vision we have for our lives?

Brett and Alex address these questions and so many more. They use examples from their own lives and the lives of those around them to help us see that greatness is in doing hard things - and we can do it!! And more importantly, greatness is in the purpose - not the spotlight.


The Great Escape
The Great Escape
Author: Philippe Dupasquier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/24/2010


This is a wordless children's book. My children will spend hours looking at this book! The illustrations are incredibly detailed without being overwhelming on the page. They are actually set up like a comic book. The great escape is the story of a man who escapes from prison and eludes the authorities as he travels through town. His adventures are captivating to all ages. I have children 3yrs - 16 years and they ALL like to look at this book. GREAT for little ones that don't read! They can read by themselves or with a sibling. Recommended for pre-k readers, of course.


The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 3)
The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 3)
Author: John Flanagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/27/2015


Not as good as the first two...I felt it was a little slow...but still worth reading. It is definitely a big piece of the overall story, and you will be a bit lost if you skip it. Has enough language in it that I took a white out tape to it before giving it to my younger ones, but not as much as what is to come in books 4 and 5. LOVE this series. Such great examples of true character in the apprentices and princess.


The Jackrabbit Factor: Why You Can
The Jackrabbit Factor: Why You Can
Author: Leslie Householder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/26/2014


I loved this book. It had an effect on my life. Can't wait to read it again!


L2   LANDING OF PILGRIMS (Landmark books)
L2 LANDING OF PILGRIMS (Landmark books)
Author: James Daugherty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/12/2014


This is a GREAT history book. Landmark does a good job of telling the real history that we so often miss. This story is an inspiring account of those that sacrificed all to have religious freedom, and those that did not have the guts to stay and get the job done. Not all were strong enough or faithful enough to do so. And many lost their lives in the effort.

This book gave me the desire to further research and read about the individual lives of these founders. It gives a true picture of the sacrifice and hardship they faced, and their courageous characters.


Lord of the Flies
Lord of the Flies
Author: William Golding
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1793
Review Date: 5/25/2012


This book is another uncomfortable but necessary book to read. Although not my favorite - I don't like books that make me uncomfortable - it gives us a chance to study the power of the natural man. What would we do with no one watching. What would our children do on a deserted island without us. These are worthy thoughts to be explored. How do we govern ourselves? How do we lead? And most importantly, how important is strength of character in our lives?

So much forshadowing in this one! The symbolism gives much to be explored. I am sure my children and I will have a few discussions about this one when they finish it for their class. I was puzzled by a few things in the ending...I need to get out the cliff notes for some help here.


The Magic School Bus Inside A Hurricane
The Magic School Bus Inside A Hurricane
Author: Joanna Cole, Bruce Degen (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/18/2014


This was a book I ordered to replace a copy that had been loved until it fell apart! My kids love this book. Lots of meteorology, lots of fun. We have enjoyed most of the Magic School Bus books. (we are not fans of environmental propaganda, but other than that we have all the books AND the full set of TV episodes.)


Mind Your Manners (Greenwillow Read-Alone Guide)
Mind Your Manners (Greenwillow Read-Alone Guide)
Author: Peggy Parish, Marylin Hafner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/12/2017


We checked this out of the library, and I felt it was so good that I requested a copy through PBS! It has traditional manners in it, and my kids learned a lot--About how things "used to be" as well as what is still relevant. The best part is that I see them applying them on a daily basis!


Pelle's New Suit
Pelle's New Suit
Author: Elsa Beskow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/24/2015


LOVE IT! A sweet book, small enough to fit in the child's hands. A rare look at how clothing is handmade from wool, with a little boy who is willing to work to earn his suit (and thank his lamb). Truly a precious addition to our library.


Reaching For Hope : An LDS Perspective on Recovering from Depression
Review Date: 4/8/2016


Excellent!


The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 1)
The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 1)
Author: John Flanagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/13/2016


This is a great series! Drama, action, character - lots of hard work and unfailing loyalty. A young man who is willing to respect a master, learn from him, and do his best. A great rule model for our kids today.


Sarah, Plain and Tall
Sarah, Plain and Tall
Author: Patricia MacLachlan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 6/25/2012


Touching and Real: This book shows the history of America - Mail order brides were a reality - the tender feelings in the loss of a wife and mother, and the sacrifices made by all in forming new relationships. Our children would do well to read more books like this!


Small and Simple Things
Small and Simple Things
Author: Marjorie Pay Hinckley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/23/2012


I ordered this book because the copy we had got dropped in the water! This is such a sweet, powerful book. A lady of great influence reminding us that the things that matter are the small everyday things. I learned much from this little book! We can each be of great influence.


Spaghetti And Meatballs For All
Spaghetti And Meatballs For All
Author: Marilyn Burns
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/13/2016


Great math book! My kids are 5 and 9 and they both enjoyed it. It is one they can grow with. Lots to learn and discover about numbers! It's a cute funny story too.


1 to 20 of 20
Want fewer ads?