Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Lucero L. (lucylara) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Author: Anne Frank, B.M. Mooyaart-Doubleday (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 7/17/2014


I first read this book years ago, yet I could read it all over again and it will still hit me hard. It is touching, moving, and painful all at the same time knowing that this happened in real no fictional story is just amazing!


Bodies of Evidence: The True Story of Judias Buenoano Florida's Serial Murderess
Bodies of Evidence: The True Story of Judias Buenoano Florida's Serial Murderess
Author: Chris Anderson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/17/2014


Very interesting read from beginning to end! By the time I'm ending the book I was glad that the detective on the case was so detailed. Anderson did a great job in writing in such a specific manner.


Friends of the Family: The Inside Story of the Mafia Cops Case
Review Date: 7/17/2014


Funny how law enforcement is knowing to tell criminals 'you can run but you can't hide'. Years went by until these two had their past brought into their present.The detectives also have their characters richly written. The book was all in all great.


History of the Holocaust, A: From Ideology to Annihilation
Review Date: 7/17/2014


Read this book because of a college course. I have to say that it is informative. I would recommend this book to someone that needed to do research on this subject.


The Innocent Man
The Innocent Man
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 7/17/2014


I generally love and enjoy reading true crime, on top of that John Grisham is a great writer, but this was the longest read ever! There are certain parts that you just want to skip because they are so dry.


L.A. Secret Police: Inside the L.A.P.D. Elite Spy Network
Review Date: 7/17/2014


Interesting and informative about the OCID, but nothing new. Just like we want to respect law enforcement, because there are great law enforcement individuals, there are also bad ones. Which this information about 'dirty cops' isn't something Americans haven't heard about not just in LAPD but also in NYPD. Good read but it's usual.


Mammoth Book of the Mafia
Mammoth Book of the Mafia
Author: Nigel Cawthorne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2014


Gives good information about individuals in the mafia. There are parts that go off tangent, but other than that it's pretty decent.


Most Evil: Avenger, Zodiac, and the Further Serial Murders of Dr. George Hill Hodel (Berkley True Crime)
Review Date: 7/17/2014


I was doubtful that someone could get so much information that they could blame them for such murders. But Steve does a wonderful job to provide evidence, pictures, and letters from Dr. Hodel. All this stacks up well against Dr. Hodel, if only the departments would have more Steve Hodels. Very great book which makes it an easy read.


Serpico
Serpico
Author: Peter Maas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/17/2014


It is a pretty decent read. We've heard the stories about corrupt cops that's nothing new, or even cops being bought out by the mob. But it is a nice insight of the NYPD in that era it was well written, doesn't drag stories, and doesn't have large dry parts.


True Stories of Law & Order: Special Victims Unit
True Stories of Law & Order: Special Victims Unit
Author: Jure Fiorillo, Kevin Dwyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/17/2014


If you enjoy watching the show then you just might enjoy reading these short stories. Even though this is a fast read it gives enough information of all these crimes. It obviously isn't as specific since they are short, but it gives enough information that you can do some research on them.


Underboss: Sammy the Bull Gravano's Story of Life in the Mafia
Underboss: Sammy the Bull Gravano's Story of Life in the Mafia
Author: Peter Maas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 7/17/2014


This has to be one of my favorite books. It is written in such a manner that the book is hard to put down. Usually some books have parts where you can put it down, but not this one. It is a good insight in the mob, and Gravano and Gotti's life. It doesn't slow down not even for descriptions of murder.


1 to 11 of 11