Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Roberta S. (nissasmom) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Art Thief
The Art Thief
Author: Noah Charney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/26/2012


A bright entertaining read, that combines an insider's view of the art world and the twists and turns of a whodunnit. Great fun!


The Chalk Girl (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 10)
The Chalk Girl (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 10)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Not her best but not her weakest either. I am just so happy to see her back.


Death Comes as Epiphany (Catherine LeVendeur, Bk 1)
Death Comes as Epiphany (Catherine LeVendeur, Bk 1)
Author: Sharan Newman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/17/2010


This is a fabulous introduction to a series on 12th century Paris, a real treat for anyone interested in art and architecture, medieval society, particularly the roles of women within society and the Church. The heroine Catherine LeVendeur, is strong, bright, impulsive and everlastingly curious. The series also addresses the uneasy relationship between the Jews and the rest of society.


Long Ago in France
Long Ago in France
Author: M.F.K. Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/26/2012


I fell in love with her voice many, many years ago. This is a special treat for anyone who loves food, France, travel, and/or a cozy chat with a smart, funny family friend.


Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Author: Helen Simonson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I loved this book! Wittier and stronger writing than might be expected but not so weighty to deflect from the flow of an enjoyable tale. I can not wait to share with my friends


My Lady Judge (Mystery of Medieval Ireland, Bk 1)
My Lady Judge (Mystery of Medieval Ireland, Bk 1)
Author: Cora Harrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


For fans of female sleuths and medieval historical mysteries. This first in her series, features a strong woman who is more lighthearted than Sister Fidelma. It features enough color, historical texture, and engaging plot to make for good storytelling


The New Russians
The New Russians
Author: Hedrick Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/11/2019


I read it years after its release, but Smith provides superb, meticulous narrative about the Soviet Union and the impact that Gorbachev had (and didn't have) on his country. The speculations and action near the end bogged down the flow, especially since change was accelerating and uncertain of direction. Smith's skill as a journalist created a story worth following, despite the daunting unfamiliarity the Western readers have with the politics and society. Definitely worth the investment of time to have a balanced appreciation of this hidden world.


The Painted Kiss
The Painted Kiss
Author: Elizabeth Hickey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/26/2012


This is a lovely imagined work about Gustav Klimt and the opulent Austria that informed so much of his work. An interesting juxtaposition of the scandalous free spirited life of Klimt and the staid bourgeois world of the narrator, and subject of one of his celebrated paintings. A delight for the fan of historical fiction, particularly art history


Second Horseman
Second Horseman
Author: Kyle Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/17/2010


I didn't think that I would enjoy a fast action, intense book like this, but I liked this a lot. A good travel or vacation read


Tether's End (aka Hide My Eyes) (Albert Campion, Bk 16)
Tether's End (aka Hide My Eyes) (Albert Campion, Bk 16)
Author: Margery Allingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/30/2010


I really enjoy Allingham's books. Although she is a contemporary of Christie, they are more sophisticated and intelligent without being "hard-boiled" Better character and plot development, too. Although you know the villain from the beginning, the adventure is nonetheless enjoyable as the case unravels


1 to 10 of 10
Want fewer ads?