Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Holly M. - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
The 5 Essential People Skills: How to Assert Yourself, Listen to Others, and Resolve Conflicts (Dale Carnegie Training)
Review Date: 1/25/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Extremely interesting and helpful. Gave me some new insight into aggression, assertiveness and passivity. Has helped build my confidence as a professional salesperson.


The Accidental Tourist
The Accidental Tourist
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 8/16/2011


I read Anne Tyler because I like to consume everything wrrtten in, around or about Baltimore--or that is written by a Baltimore author. But I'd have to say I found this to be one of her "darker" books. If you're familiar you know she likes to expose the darker side of the human psyche. But she does it well. Have to say the end surprised me.


Alice Cooper, Golf Monster: A Rock 'n' Roller's 12 Steps to Becoming a Golf Addict
Review Date: 8/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely loved it!! I am not a "rocker." Wasn't even one in my youth. Never knew anything of Alice Cooper beyond his appearance and, of course, "School's Out," which crossed over into every genre. But I saw him in an interview on television and was struck by how articulate he was. Came across this book cheap and decided to gamble. Unbelievable payoff. He is just a remarkably smart, creative, NORMAL guy, whom I believe was destined for fame and riches and just hitched onto the "rock and roll" star. That's all I'll say--check it out.


The Center of Everything
The Center of Everything
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/14/2015


This is my 4th LM novel. Loved them all; have to say this is my favorite.


Chloe (Women of Ivy Manor, Bk 1)
Chloe (Women of Ivy Manor, Bk 1)
Author: Lyn Cote
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely loved it...so much so that I searched out the remainder of the series (of which this is the first). Chloe is born to a MD uppercrust eastern shore family. Of course she's beautiful and her parents want her to be content with this, but Chloe is also intelligent and compassionate. She rebels against them, becoming an advocate for the family's black servants. She also marries someone "not of [their] kind." And the storyline isn't as predictable as you might think.


The Glass Castle : A Memoir
The Glass Castle : A Memoir
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 8/28/2011


I found two things quite striking about this book...the incredible, miraculous spirit of this girl/woman, which has a positive influence on her siblings, as well. This spirit is such that they survive and, in fact, thrive in the midst of the other striking thing...the good-for-nothing parents they were dealt. It sounds unkind and judgmental, but I'll stand by my assessment. It was a very interesting read nonetheless.


Hill Towns
Hill Towns
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/26/2018


Really didn't impress me much. Was very metaphorical, I suppose. I like things spelled out. Started out good--her childhood, her marriage and family. Went downhill when they began travel to Italy.


Home Safe
Home Safe
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 9/14/2011


So enjoy Elizabeth Berg, and this did not disappoint!


Homecoming (Tillerman, Bk 1)
Homecoming (Tillerman, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Voigt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/2/2011


This is actually the first of a "young/juvenile" series my daughter brought home from high school. She was raving about it so I opened it up and that was it. I soaked up this one and the entire series to follow. These kids (led by their oldest sister, Dicey) overcome some incredible odds and change the lives of others along the way.


If I Did It: Confessions of the Killer
If I Did It: Confessions of the Killer
Author: The Goldman Family
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 1/13/2014


So incredibly poorly written. Very arduous getting through it and ultimately never got anywhere because he never presents anything concrete. And of course never admits anything. Don't waste even a few precious hours of your life.


In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 852
Review Date: 8/27/2018


Very disappointed. Writing style just never grabbed me. Pushed myself to read through, only because of great curiosity about discovering what happened to original children. Very anticlimactic.


The Pull of the Moon
The Pull of the Moon
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 8/16/2011


Ok, it's Elizabeth Berg, whom I generally enjoy greatly. So...I got through it. Wealthy 50ish wife runs away from home and intermittently rants to her husband, via mail. The chapters alternate between these missives and her speaking directly to reader. Maybe I'm just resentful because she has way too much time and money on her hands....


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/28/2011


Really hard to say how much I "liked" or "loved" this book, since I always find it so extremely painful reading anything about Nazi Germany, or, in this case, I'll loosely say "Nazi France." I'm sorry if that offends, but at least as this episode is concerned the only difference is the language being spoken. Anyway, definitely one of the most intense books ever--had to read it in small bits, but had to continue. BTW, if you can make it through this, you'll find the move much more tolerable.


SEARCHING FOR CALEB
SEARCHING FOR CALEB
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/2/2011


Really enjoyed this particular novel of Ms. Tyler. Love this eccentric couple, fun to watch them. Also got a kick out of the idyocyncrasies of this clan. I found it a rather sweet ending...not typical of Tyler.


A Secret Kept
A Secret Kept
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/28/2011


Found this cover intriguing and picked up the book...love reading about Europe. Was a nice story. You'll root for the main character--a very good guy. Surprising and interesting turns. Very different from Sarah's Key--which I discovered next!!!! (not for the thin-of-skin)


This Is Where I Leave You (Large Print)
This Is Where I Leave You (Large Print)
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Fantastic!!! Side-splitting, laugh-out-loud funny, and some other good stuff, too. This middle-aged Jewish man comes home to find his wife and his boss goin at it like a couple of gorillas. Then his father dies and he and his siblings have to sit shiva with his mother--holding them all hostage in the house for a week. He has the whole stereotypical "Jewish mother" thing goin on. Really, you'll enjoy this.


True to Form
True to Form
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 8/16/2011


Really enjoyed this quick, sweet read. When you're looking for a little pick-me-up, this is it!


Wideacre (Wideacre, Bk 1)
Wideacre (Wideacre, Bk 1)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 2/16/2014


While I've known of author for a while, and really enjoyed "The Other Boleyn Girl" movie, I never had any great hunger to read. I really just stumbled on this and decided to give it a peek. Wow...one of the best books I've read in years. Dark...no kidding, very intense. This woman will stop at nothing to acquire her family manor. Murder, thieving, incest, masochism are just part and parcel of her great plan. Her manipulation and betrayal of everyone who loves her is mind boggling. On to sequel....


1 to 18 of 18