Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Angie Kathleen L. (stories2tell) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Al Capone Does My Shirts (Al Capone at Alcatraz, Bk 1)
Al Capone Does My Shirts (Al Capone at Alcatraz, Bk 1)
Author: Gennifer Choldenko
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 9/27/2011


Cute story. Engaging on the 10-14 age level. Recommended to my 7th grade nephew.


And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/8/2017


Fabulous writing. Lovely and insightful journey of a man with a disappearing memory, who hopes to prepare his grandson for that eventuality. Worth a listen.
It is not, however, enlivened by the humor of his full length books. He makes this clear at the beginning when proclaiming it was never intended for publication. It was his personal exploration of a friend's comment that when people age they sometimes lose their curiosity.My favorite line was about reaching an age when people stop telling you to do things like to grow up and act your age.


Babe: The Gallant Pig
Babe: The Gallant Pig
Author: Dick King-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/2/2015


Years ago I enjoyed the movie, Babe, but was not aware that it originated from a book. Dick King-Smith's book, "Babe The Gallant Pig," is not only delightful, but has all the sweet impact of the movie without a few extra characters and events found in the movie. A primary character in the movie, the male sheepdog, is NOT in the book. This intensifies the relationship between Babe and Ma with a greater illustration of selfless love. I enjoyed this book so much that I ordered several animal tales by the same author to read the children in my life.


Believing Christ: The Parable of the Bicycle and Other Good News
Review Date: 9/22/2011


Excelent book offering insight to the attonement and it's application to our individual lives.


Belling the Tiger
Belling the Tiger
Author: Mary Stolz
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/20/2014


A favorite story. The mice have a great life except for one thing...the cat is always sneaking up on them. They hold a meeting and decide someone must fasten a bell around the neck of the cat. Two scared, but loyal mice undertake the task. Other stories with these characters are in companion books.


The Berenstains' B Book (Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners)
Review Date: 5/7/2016


LOVE this book because it has a fun linear story. I read it to children and grandchildren so many times that one day I discovered it was memorized--and I could say it really fast! That let me do more fun stuff with it and use it like a group-participation tongue-twister. Adults love playing this and everyone ends up laughing. I always add the word "Pop" at the end, to be the sound of the balloon. -Angie


The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson, Judith Gwyn Brown (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 12/14/2013


DELIGHTFUL! A great one to read every Christmas.


The Christmas List
The Christmas List
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 1/17/2017


Richard Paul Evans' book, The Christmas List, is a modern version of the Christmas Carol minus the angels. It is about one man remembering core human values and attempting restitution after life events had twisted those values into near oblivion. It's also about unexpected loyalty from those who never forgot who he used to be and continued hopeful of a turn-around. Uplifting and fun. Might be worth rereading once a year.


Cinderellis and the Glass Hill (Princess Tales, Bk 4)
Review Date: 12/15/2014


Middling fairytale. Worth a read if that is your favorite kind of story. Not up to the quality of her Newbery Honor Book, Ella Enchanted. Still,there are some interesting twists on the original version of of the glass hill story.


The Coachman & the Bells: A Christmas Story
The Coachman & the Bells: A Christmas Story
Author: Ted Hindmarsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/23/2014


The Coachman & the Bells--A Christmas Story, by Ted C. Hindmarsh follows the successful businessman, Joe Turner through one Christmas Eve. Ted, though a good man, is cynical about Christmas, about mankind, and about his own ability to ever be successful in a relationship. An encounter with a retired man who calls himself the coachman, challenges Ted to test the idea that he can discover the spirit of Christmas and personal change through giving. The challenge leaves him assaulted and in jail before his faith in humanity and himself is restored.

It is a message story. While the message has merit, the writing is stiff and the characters not well developed.


Counterfeit Son
Counterfeit Son
Author: Elaine Marie Alphin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/28/2018


Stunning! While sometimes painful to read because of the twisted verbal and physical abuse that Camaron Miller lives through under the rules of his pedophile, serial-killer pop, Counterfeit Son is a story with a big heart. It is a story of nature verse nurture. It is a story that explores the boundaries of love.
When Pop is killed by police 14-year old Camaron makes the daring decision to take on the identity of one of Pop's victims. He hopes he can fool that family just long enough to reach age 18 and be on his own. He didn't pause to consider a hard-edged policeman that doesn't believe him, medical tests that could challenge his claim, or the pain he might inflict on a family losing their son twice. ~Angie Lund


The Dot and the Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics
The Dot and the Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics
Author: Norton Juster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/24/2017


The Dot and the Line is a classic in our family! Astonishingly clever and delightfully illustrated, it is a winner on many levels. Our young children giggled over the love-sick line's efforts to win the dot away from the silly squiggle. Simultaneously, the young adults were intrigued by the advanced vocabulary and the line's mixing of math and lover's logic. Finally, the seasoned reader might notice embedded questions about creativity, self-deception, peer-pressure, and whether living "reasonably" "happily ever after" might be an perfect ending after all.


Down Is Up for Aaron Eagle: A Mother's Spiritual Journey With Down Syndrome
Review Date: 10/22/2015


This book has plenty of insightful clues about one boy's response to Down Syndrome. That response is fully integrated with his mother's holistic/spiritualist approach to helping Aaron Eagle reach personal potential in each of his interests. Both aspects of the book are interesting. It is not a text about Down Syndrome in any general sense.


The Fairy's Mistake (Princess Tales)
The Fairy's Mistake (Princess Tales)
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/22/2014


Okay. Worth it for fairytale lovers. Interesting problem. Not the author's best.


The Fiber35 Diet: Nature's Weight Loss Secret
The Fiber35 Diet: Nature's Weight Loss Secret
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/13/2012


I enjoyed the enthusiastic and informative nature of this author-recorded book. If I needed more reasons to focus on fruits and vegetables this put my decision over the top. I really appreciated her specific directions for strength training with portable and inexpensive bands. Her program is lavish with down-to-earth logic.


Five Live Bongos
Five Live Bongos
Author: George Ella Lyon
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/4/2017


"Bang Crash Artichoke!
Ratta-Tatta Chink!
Daddy couldn't mix his paints
Mama couldn't think."

"Not with five live bongos around...making wonderful sounds with bread pans and pot lids as they drum their way all over the house; and get sent to the garage" where they continue to gather odd objects, "create an amazing musical contraption and invent a name for themselves--The Found Sound Band." Lively, inventive illustrations! This could be a fun read-aloud with listener participation.


A Girl of the Limberlost (The Library of Indiana Classics)
A Girl of the Limberlost (The Library of Indiana Classics)
Author: Gene Stratton-Porter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/29/2011


This is the semi-autobiographical tale of a young girl raised in back-woods poverty by a bitter mother who never recovered from watching her husband drown in a swamp. It is a wonderful and amazingly sweet story that includes drama, conflict and romance. It was written before editors had the clout to demand increasingy edgy writing over simple, honest storytelling. I hope this classic never goes out of print; and am sad that it is apparently being removed from many libraries. While I had previously enjoyed Stratton-Porter's book, "Laddie", (which is a prequel to Girl of the Limberlost) I only recently read this book because of the recommendation of my teenage granddaughter. Once I finished the book, I felt deprived to have missed it in younger years. I hope this book will find a resurgance of it's origional best-seller popluarity with a new generation of readers seeking sincerity over sensalationism.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3430
Review Date: 10/27/2011


Loved it! Astonished by it! Who knew there were people who lived this odd way and children who survived it? --Can't wait to get a copy of the second book--a pre-quel.
-Kathleen


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 9/25/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I recently reviewed this book for our new book club. While I had read and loved it when it first came out, for the review I listened to it on CD and found the many voices brought it even more to life. Any version is wonderful and I wish it would be made into a movie! This historical fiction highlights the only British territory occupied by the Germans during WWII. It takes place in 1946 immediately following the occupation and after the 5,000 evacuated children are returned. Islanders are still awaiting return of some interred citizens. It has humor, love, courage and cruelty.
The story revolves around books and the accidental formation of a literary society by a group of farm people who were not avid readers. Because books were still scarce on the island, a correspondence develops between an island man and the person who's sticker-of-previous-ownership appears on a book he is reading. The previous owner happens to be a writer who is delighted to learn about the literary society and enlarges her correspondence to include other members. Told entirely through letters (lovely and reveling letters) this is the only novel by Mary Ann Shaffer, as she passed away shortly before publication.This was a great loss; but I am left with a love for Guernsey Island and the memory of some unique characters my heart treasures as friends.


A House With Wings
A House With Wings
Author: Sherrie Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/16/2012


A House With Wings seems geared for 10-12 year old girls. It explors the validity of secrets and the possibility of forgivness. Set in pioneer times, the main characters are a Mormon family that was driven out of their home by mobs and is now struggling to reestablish themselves in a new area. The writing is clear and the emotions well drawn.


1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Want fewer ads?