Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Jennifer A. (jenaus0524) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Coraline CD
Coraline CD
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is read by the author and the pace is excellent. I enjoyed it and actually thought it was pretty scary. His attention to detail is fantastic.


Dark Summer
Dark Summer
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 11/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is my first read by this author. I found the subject to definitely be original if a little far-fetched. I liked the look into the world of search dogs. The dialogue was stilted at times -- especially in the sex scenes. I "read" this on audio and will give Iris Johansen another listen.


The Graveyard Book CD
The Graveyard Book CD
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/8/2009


Wow! What an introduction to Mr. Gaiman's works. An excellent story and so well-read by author. Multiple voices without ever sounding hokey. The music by Bela Fleck will stay with you and lends to the tone of book. I so enjoyed and recommend it for all ages....Coraline is next.


Heart's Blood  (Pit Dragon Chronicles, Volume Two)
Heart's Blood (Pit Dragon Chronicles, Volume Two)
Author: Jane Yolen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/28/2009


My daughter (11) loves this series and has read it twice. There is now a fourth book (2009 release I think) and Vol Two was a little harder to find. So happy she has a full set now.


Here If You Need Me: A Memoir
Here If You Need Me: A Memoir
Author: Kate Braestrup
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I have had this book on my wish list for some time and came across an audio copy. Excellent. It gave me a look into some careers I never knew anything about -- game wardens and game warden chaplains. The stories are of people and nature are genuine and touch the heart throughout. It's a look at motherhood through the eyes of someone you would expect to always do it "right" but like all of us, makes mistakes. I really enjoyed it and plan to put it at the top of my gift idea list for others as well.


I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/25/2009


This book covers a wide subject matter and gives a New Yorker insider perspective that's always enjoyable to hear. I am laughing out loud and found connection and good advice in every chapter.


Knit the Season (Knitting Club, Bk 3)
Knit the Season (Knitting Club, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 11/25/2009


I enjoyed this third installment of the FNKC series. I like the path most of the characters are on, however, I thought the review of specifics from first two books to be tedious. I think author could have had more faith that her readers were up to date on characters. I liked the "new" flashbacks and look forward to a next book if there will be one. Appreciate the knitting patterns and recipes in this book. Nice for book clubs to either make treats or have a knit-along.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 373
Review Date: 11/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If I could remember who recommended this book to me, I'd still be mad at them. While it's raw, honest fiction, it was one of the most disturbing books I've ever read. I read a lot of crime fiction so it wasn't the violence that got to me. Maybe because I have a young daughter it unnerved me, but it is something I wish I hadn't exposed myself to.


Made from Scratch: Discovering the Pleasures of a Handmade Life
Made from Scratch: Discovering the Pleasures of a Handmade Life
Author: Jenna Woginrich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/8/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I am a knitting suburbanite who always thought it might be cool to have one of my own fiber animals. I appreciated this book because while it's made me realize that my own angora bunny isn't really the way to go right now, I also am encouraged to plant a container garden. Her style is easy to read, specific and plenty of other references are made available. Jenna also shows you that no matter what your space, time and financial limitations are there are so many things you can do to feel a little more down to earth.


1 to 9 of 9
Want fewer ads?