Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

CAT T. (Hairsprayartist) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
Above and Beyond (Duty, Bk 2)
Above and Beyond (Duty, Bk 2)
Author: Betsy Brannon Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/19/2008


This is the second book in the series. Hazardous Duty is the first. EXCELLENT Books both but be prepared that both lead to the next book coming. I didn't know that so that left me a little frustrated with both books, though I really enjoyed both stories.


Allah's Fire (Task Force Valor, Bk 1)
Allah's Fire (Task Force Valor, Bk 1)
Author: Gayle Roper, Chuck Holton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 12/19/2008


This was a very realistic story!!! Be prepared. My husband that has been in combat started to read it because I said there were things I didn't quite understand and he said it was a little too close to home for him. And he's NO WIMP! I still enjoyed the story though there were times that I wished there was a glossary to define certain terms or items described so I could have a better mental picture. I would say it's a good read for any Wife trying to understand her Husband that is or has served our country in combat.


Arrows of the Queen (Heralds of Valdemar, Bk 1)
Arrows of the Queen (Heralds of Valdemar, Bk 1)
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 309
Review Date: 9/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I have loved this book since I was a teen. I've read it a couple of times since and I'm not a type to read books more than a once. I've even passed them on to my girls and they enjoyed the series. Don't stop with "Arrows" series... there are others that are great. Leave me a note if you want suggestions of which.


The Blue Sword
The Blue Sword
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/20/2008


Wonderful, Wonderful Story. Strong Can Do Girl! Loved it!


Book of a Thousand Days
Book of a Thousand Days
Author: Shannon Hale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/27/2012


First of Shannon's books that I've read, ok correction listened too. My daughter has read them all and I was curious what had drawn her to this author. Don't get me wrong I'm concerned on what my children read.. and had not a true treasure suggested it.. I would of taken a closer look. I wish I'd taken interest sooner.. sadly lost time.
Loved this book!! Written in journal form which I wasn't use too but it worked well for this author. Some very great teaching moments in my opinion but I'm sure my daughter didn't even notice. (Maybe subliminal ha ha.) Take a moment and read it.. you'll be glad you did.


The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 2)
The Burning Bridge (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 2)
Author: John Flanagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/28/2009


Really enjoyed this book, so much so I suggested it to my husband Whom LOVEd it too!! Had to get the hard copy for a keeper!


The Crow
The Crow
Author: Alison Croggon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Suggestion coming from Tamora Pierce, My girls have loved her writings. Then suggested to be similar in the Tolkien writings. I grabbed the book and Started the series. This is the third, of four.

I was much happier with the book than with the "Riddle". This story is mainly about Maerad's Brother, Hem. He has much of this sister's attitude "can do" and follows his quest. I enjoyed the magic (white) and they added a twist with the Crow. Continued fight "good vs. evil" my adrenalin was pumping. This book doesn't let you down, I grabbed book four before I was even done.

Adventure and suspense had me holding my breath several moments. This book follows suit to give you a little more at the end according to the translations and culture, cool.


Crow (Books of Pellinor)
Crow (Books of Pellinor)
Author: Alison Croggon
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2011


Suggestion coming from Tamora Pierce, My girls have loved her writings. Then suggested to be similar in the Tolkien writings. I grabbed the book and Started the series. This is the third, of four.

I was much happier with the book than with the "Riddle". This story is mainly about Maerad's Brother, Hem. He has much of this sister's attitude "can do" and follows his quest. I enjoyed the magic (white) and they added a twist with the Crow. Continued fight "good vs. evil" my adrenalin was pumping. This book doesn't let you down, I grabbed book four before I was even done.

Adventure and suspense had me holding my breath several moments. This book follows suit to give you a little more at the end according to the translations and culture, cool.


The Crow (Pellinor, Bk 3)
The Crow (Pellinor, Bk 3)
Author: Alison Croggon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/14/2011


Suggestion coming from Tamora Pierce, My girls have loved her writings. Then suggested to be similar in the Tolkien writings. I grabbed the book and Started the series. This is the third, of four.

I was much happier with the book than with the "Riddle". This story is mainly about Maerad's Brother, Hem. He has much of this sister's attitude "can do" and follows his quest. I enjoyed the magic (white) and they added a twist with the Crow. Continued fight "good vs. evil" my adrenalin was pumping. This book doesn't let you down, I grabbed book four before I was even done.

Adventure and suspense had me holding my breath several moments. This book follows suit to give you a little more at the end according to the translations and culture, cool.


Danger in the Shadows (O'Malley Prequel)
Danger in the Shadows (O'Malley Prequel)
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 12/19/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This is an excellent read. High drama FBI type. A good story with a dab of romance to round it out. On the edge of your seat the whole time.. And she ended it excellently and your not left hanging. That's a pet peeve of mine. I think I'm hooked on this author.


The Deep End
The Deep End
Author: Traci Hunter Abramson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/19/2008


Great story! Excellent Faith builder. Suspense! And Holding on to what is right no matter the cost. Love this series.


The Dog Who Had Kittens
The Dog Who Had Kittens
Author: Polly M. Robertus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/27/2011


Sweetest Story of a basset hound, Baxter. He feels displaced by a new batch of kittens that have come to his home. Much to his surprise his feelings change from his feeling left out/abandoned to feelings of protectiveness and endearment towards the kittens. Once the kittens have grown, he returns from a romp and finds them gone. He finds himself mourning the kittens. Only when he finds solace in sleeping in the old box does the Mother Cat come to discover that she too feels "mellon collie" and appreciates that she has still one kitten in Baxter.
I loved this story that proves that "different" people or species doesn't mean at odds or inhabitable with the other. Just because it doesn't have our personal "blood" doesn't mean we can't Love "it" with All our hearts.


The Edge on the Sword
The Edge on the Sword
Author: Rebecca Tingle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful Wonderful Book! Rebecca Tingle writes such that you are a few chapters farther than you planned when you take a minute to look up. I am eager to pass it on to my daughters to read. It teaches to use your WITs with your problems. I enjoyed this book SO much that I am writing the author with pleads to continue this book with a series. I don't usually write authors. My only compliant is that it ENDED.


Emperor Mage (Immortals, Bk 3)
Emperor Mage (Immortals, Bk 3)
Author: Tamora Pierce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 11/12/2008


Lots of action and suspense! A little romance. Great details! For youth to adult! Both will like!


Evidence
Evidence
Author: Clair M. Poulson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/18/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Ok so I like action, FBI, Law books. So I'm wondering if this was too much like a mystery novel for me. I seriously had to read the book faster out of spite. Let me explain. There were so may twists and turns in the story that I started getting frustrated... So I ended up finishing it in the wee hours. I think my daughter who doesn't like the plots so easily figured out would possibly enjoy this but I'm the kind that likes give me a little to chew on and then a little more.. not give me a little then take it back then give me something else then take it back too. That's why it frustrated me.
Now don't get me wrong it was a good read when I finally figured out where all the pegs went in the story but I didn't enjoy the ride like I thought I would. Sorry author.


Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 18)
Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 18)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 4/24/2012


Got the book from the Library.. and Loved it! This is one of the good ones from Janet. Some of her other ones make me think of the "drug store" books. Predictive and leave you feeling like it's a shell of story. Not this one.. it's well written. And Steph, Granny and Lula leave you in stitches. ;o)


Far Traveler
Far Traveler
Author: Rebecca Tingle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent second book! Just wish she had more to keep reading!! Or that the book was ThIcKer! LOL!

Wonderfully written and so interesting that the book is over before you know it. ;o(


The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate
Review Date: 2/7/2009


You know.. I didn't think anything would help our marriage, short of Father in Heaven coming down and knocking some sense into my husband. (I'm still working on that too. lol) It was a little tough to cram my hurt BUT I tried this from my ended.. I started doing little notes of what made me feel good and why; when he did them. And trying to figure out what was his "languages." It's WAS surprising that he's responded. ReAlLY. He responded! I told him if he was wondering what I was up too that he could "LISTEN" to the audio download that I had put on the Ipod. I think he did because my copy of the book hasn't moved. It's been a wonderful two weeks since I started this "challenge" and it's gotten easier to try to love him again. I now think there might be a chance to save our marriage because I no longer feel like I'm the only one trying to make things work.
I believe it helped me listening to the audio book and reading both, getting it in both sides of the brain so to speak. I know my Challenges aren't through but now I have hope to feed the willingness to TRY.


Freefall (Saint Squad, Bk 1)
Freefall (Saint Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Traci Hunter Abramson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/12/2008


This is a great present day high action drama with romantic twists and a dash or two of religion added. I liked it especially because of the main character is a strong young woman that is struggling to be herself with a family that wants the norm not irregular. I enjoyed the action filled writing of this author. Never a dull moment. I'm keeping mine so that's a clincher for those that know I usually toss those that I've read and rather not read again. Good luck in finding one... CUZ it's Good!


The Gift: The First Book of Pellinor
The Gift: The First Book of Pellinor
Author: Alison Croggon
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2011


The Suggestion coming from Tamora Pierce, My girls have loved her writings. Then suggested to be similar in the Tolkien writings. I grabbed the book.

I like strong heroine type that can be frustrated but have the "can do" attitude. I enjoy magic (white) and of course the "good vs. evil" always seems to get my adrenalin pumping.
All adventure here. And to hear that this could be drawing on actual facts makes it even more intriguing. (At the end of the book there is a section that tells of the translations it's drawing from. Cool.)


1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
Want fewer ads?