Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Rara - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Best Served Cold
Best Served Cold
Author: Joe Abercrombie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/27/2016


Wow! Where do I begin? There is much going on in this book and the characters have so much personality. Granted this is a book about revenge, yet I laughed so much while reading. The author has a fabulous sense of humor, exceptional one liners. I fell in love with the drunkard. There are so many twists and turns and action, it will be hard for you to put this book down. This would make a fantastic miniseries!


Dark Demon (Carpathians, Bk 13)
Dark Demon (Carpathians, Bk 13)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 816
Review Date: 6/20/2009


I really enjoyed this book. Natalya is a Carpathian woman who is a fighter/warrior in her own right and takes care of business. I like that it gives more background into the Dragon Seeker heritage. Would love to read more like this. All in all a great read.


Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell Audio
Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell Audio
Author: Susanna Clarke
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Initially, I didn't know what to think as I listened to this book; however, as the story continued, I became engrossed and couldn't wait to put in the next disc. Mr. Norrell is portrayed as this old, dry Englishman, but he knows his "magic." He is a bit prideful and very set in his ways. Along comes Jonathan Strange as his apprentice and becomes quite skilled, but very ambitious,headstrong and wants to change the "old and busted" with the "new hotness." But there are consequences for his brash actions. It is a strange, but fascinating story. The writer is very descriptive and detailed and your imagination paints these fantastic scenes. I think you'd like the book, but you've got to give it a chance and pay very close attention.


Kiss of Darkness (Alliance Vampires, Bk 7)
Kiss of Darkness (Alliance Vampires, Bk 7)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 319
Review Date: 6/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very good read. It has suspense, romance, and a little mystery. Great plot, great characters. This is the first book I've ever read by this author and I'm sure I will be reading another one.


The Serpent Bride (Darkglass Mountain, Bk 1)
The Serpent Bride (Darkglass Mountain, Bk 1)
Author: Sara Douglass
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This books starts out slow, but picks up. If you're a fan of Sara Douglass, you will know this. The story line is fantastic...you'll be a little shocked initially, but you'll get over it. Ishbel and Maxel, the Sunsoars, Axis brought back from beyond...you're going to love it if you give this book a chance. And then you'll look forward to the sequel.


The Story of Edgar Sawtelle (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The writing is fabulous until the last two discs, then the author loses his mind...or his way. He ruined the ending for me. I don't need a happy ending, but it needs to be the "right" ending. Plus there were some lose ends that he did not clear up, which is why I rate 3½ stars instead of 4.


Styx's Storm (Breeds, Bk 22)
Styx's Storm (Breeds, Bk 22)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 12/24/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Disappointing! I was so looking forward to reading this book as I am a big LL fan and love her breed series. However, Styx and Storme's story was just horribly put together. First, she made Storme so unlikeable, it was hard for me to empathize with her. One moment she's spewing racist bigotry, fear and anger and then the next moment she's kissing and having sex with Styx (who represents all that she hates and despises). Styx's character was so underdeveloped as to be a joke. And why does he switch back and forth with his Scottish brogue??!! I literally skipped paragraphs in this book. Where normally I read an LL book within 24 hours, I had to force myself to get through this book over an entire week.I'm so glad I didn't purchase it. Thank God for PBS.


Threshold
Threshold
Author: Sara Douglass
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/26/2009


This book was great! Now if you don't know anything about Sara Douglass, know this...her books start out slow, but pick up. This book is like a prequel to Serpent Bride. It tells how Dark Glass Mountain was formed/created by the Magi for power, but instead something they did not expect happened...something dark and evil emerged.

One of the main characters, Tirzah, is an Elemental. Elementals can hear glass, metal, jewels, etc., speak to them which helps them to create beautiful items of craftsmanship and so much more. However, Elementals have been outlawed and Tirzah is not even aware that she is an Elemental, but the Magus Boaz suspects her of being one and begins to seek her out. He has secrets that he wants to reveal, but doesn't want to reveal and because of this is having a hard time being his true self. Tirzah is his whipping pole, but also becomes his eye opener.

Soon they find that in order to defeat the darkness, the evil that is spreading throughout the lands, they must learn how to wield the power of the Elementals, but also put their trust in the Magus Boaz. Fantastic read...don't give up on it. And once you finish pick up her other book "Serpent Bride." You won't be disappointed.


The Twisted Citadel: DarkGlass Mountain: Book Two (Darkglass Mountain)
Review Date: 9/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Oh my! I loved this book too. This book is filled with twists and turns, hope and despair, good and evil, lightness and darkness. The story picks up here with Ishbel, Maxel, and Isaiah racing against time to try to stop the rise of the Dark God Kanubai but unable to prevail. The skraelings return to ravage the land and you meet the long lost kin to the Icarii, the Lealfast, who can still touch the Star Dance which the Sun Soars desperately desire to do so once again. It is a fantastic read, but you must read the first book in order to fully appreciate the middle. Can hardly wait for the last book!


Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night (Immortals After Dark, Bk 4)
Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night (Immortals After Dark, Bk 4)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 10/24/2009


I really enjoyed this book. Picked it up and could not put it down until it was done. Bowen has been through so much pain. He lost his mate and blames himself so he's been living a miserable life and cuts himself off from family and friends. Suddenly he gets a chance to compete in the Hie and the opportunity to bring her back. Instead he encounters Mari who sets his blood to boiling and things become hot and heavy. When the witch and the wolf connect, the combination is "explosive." You'll love this book.


Zack
Zack
Author: William Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/24/2009


This is an excellent book that explores conflicts resulting from racism and unresolved family histories/mysteries. Bell does a great job weaving historical events into this work, making it well worth reading.


1 to 11 of 11
Want fewer ads?