Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Teresa Byrnes (treebyrnes) - , - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
All the Clean Ones Are Married: And Other Everyday Calamities in Moscow
Review Date: 2/14/2012


This is an interesting book about a time in Russia that many of us have not read much about-the crumbling of the Soviet Union. The author lives in Moscow for five years and writes about her different thoughts on events that take place as well as simply trying to live in a foreign country on the brink change.

For those who have lived in foreign lands you will enjoy some of the pitfalls of living somewhere other than the United States and the humor that must shine through.


Bad Trips: A Sometimes Terrifying, Sometimes Hilarious Collection of Writing on the Perils of the Road
Review Date: 10/4/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I thought the concept of the book sounded interesting. Only to discover that the stories were being written by Intellectuals who had very little sense of humor.


The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game (Movie Tie-in Edition)
The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game (Movie Tie-in Edition)
Author: Michael Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 9/9/2010


What an interesting book! Much more than the movie and that was excellent. It gives so much information about the nature of the game of football. I am a white housewife who knows nothing- nor cares- about football, yet I enjoyed what was written in this book. It was informative and interesting and made the story of Michael Oher and the Tuohy family even more of a joy to read.


Lead, So I Can Follow
Lead, So I Can Follow
Author: Harold Adams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/30/2010


This book just did not have much to it.


Maisie Dobbs (Maisie Dobbs, Bk 1)
Maisie Dobbs (Maisie Dobbs, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Winspear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 9/4/2010


This is a nice book told about people living after the First world War. The story line of the detective is a little lacking, but the way the author relays the way the war effected the men and women is really very good. The characters are very believable. It is a nice read.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5421
Review Date: 9/4/2010


I am in agreement with the others who wrote that the mother of the story just was insufferable. Total waist of my time.


Out Stealing Horses
Out Stealing Horses
Author: Per Petterson, Anne Born (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/4/2011


This book is a very detailed account of an old man thinking back on one summer and living his present life. If you like that it is a good book. In many ways I felt I was reading someone's blog. And I never read blogs.


The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1168
Review Date: 10/4/2011


Read this book out loud. You hear it better, especially if you can use the accents. I enjoyed this book for many reasons. It is well written.


Snow in August
Snow in August
Author: Pete Hamill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 8/29/2010


A touching story between old and young, Catholic and Jewish,right and wrong. I enjoyed the two main characters, this was a well written book. If you like books about cultures learning from one another this is a book to read.


The Southern Comforts
The Southern Comforts
Author: Luanne Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/25/2010


This book is light. The main character reminded me of Sally Fields. Good if you have nothing else to read.


Touching My Father's Soul: A Sherpa's Journey to the Top of Everest
Review Date: 6/8/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Another side to the Everest journey. Interesting, full of facts and wonder about Mount Everest. If you enjoyed reading about Mount Everest you will enjoy this book.


A Tryst in Time
A Tryst in Time
Author: Eugenia Riley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/26/2010


It is a good story line, she goes overboard with too much thought about what might or might not happen. Nice time travel idea.


The Westing Game
The Westing Game
Author: Ellen Raskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 5/12/2020


This is a quick read. It is a cute story.


1 to 13 of 13
Want fewer ads?