Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Shelly D. (Shelske) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Becoming Lucy (Winds Across the Prairie, Bk 1)
Becoming Lucy (Winds Across the Prairie, Bk 1)
Author: Martha Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/6/2011


Love this story. A young woman who loses her parents in Boston, then goes to live with her Aunt & Uncle in OK territory. It tells the story of the changes she faces & finding the man she loves. Of course, they have to first get through things in his past. She stands by her man but the townspeople make her family's life miserable to he is cleared of things in that past. Another happily ever after.... This is the first of 4 titles in the series.
I will read anything Martha Rogers writes in my time frame of historical fiction. She has a new series hitting in June.


Black Horse
Black Horse
Author: Veronica Blake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/6/2009


This was a good story with a captured white girl being put in between both cultures. Of course prior to her falling in love with a Indian war chief, she is happy with her life within the village. Of course then things happen that put her in situations that are only because she was a captured child raised in the Indian ways. Most of the story is set in Canada with some historical refrences to Sitting Bull. It tells the struggles she endures to get back to her beloved Native people & a life with the Indian war chief she loves more than anything.


Blowing on Dandelions (Love Blossoms in Oregon, Bk 1)
Blowing on Dandelions (Love Blossoms in Oregon, Bk 1)
Author: Miralee Ferrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/10/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I have read all of Miralee's Historical books & just finished reading Blowing on Dandelions. I was blown away. I admire her for taking on a story about Mother/Daughter conflicts & how they worked through them with the help of other loved ones & friends. It is a compassionate story that many of us have dealt with or will have to deal with sometime in our lives. Not every Mother/Daughter are best friends & this story tells how that can feel to each of them. I am so honored to have read this & can't wait for the next book in the series. She always covers all aspects of the emotions & feelings in her characters.


Burning Sky: A Novel of the American Frontier
Burning Sky: A Novel of the American Frontier
Author: Lori Benton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/13/2021


I enjoyed this book. Very interesting storyline & love the characters.


Review Date: 7/6/2019


Living in the Great Lakes area, I was happy to get this book & the stories did not disappoint at all. A variety of Lighthouses are featured in this book. I was sad to see the book end.


Her Valentine Hero (Sisters, Bk 1) (Love Inspired, No 759)
Her Valentine Hero (Sisters, Bk 1) (Love Inspired, No 759)
Author: Gail Gaymer Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/4/2013


I usually read historical inspirational titles but I have met Gail so I wanted to give this a try. I fell in love with the characters right away, story moved along smoothly. It was refreshing to see a daughter come home to care for her Father & by doing so found true love. Not having a sister myself it was interesting how the two sisters interacted also. A very refreshing read.


The Hidden Heart
The Hidden Heart
Author: Jane Orcutt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/1/2009


This is the second book in a series of two from Jane Orcutt. This continues the story started in the first book, taking on the rest of the family not introduced in the first title. It was a very easy read, moved right along & saw what people had to face in their lives that all started with the battles in the civil war.


A Home in Drayton Valley (Heart of the Prairie, Bk 9)
A Home in Drayton Valley (Heart of the Prairie, Bk 9)
Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Kim Vogel Sawyer makes all she writes come to you in a way that you are transported back in time. Her characters just become part of your life while you are reading her stories. I truly enjoyed the adventures she brought to life in Home in Drayton Valley. A must read for inspirational historical fiction.


The Indebted Earl (Serendipity & Secrets)
The Indebted Earl (Serendipity & Secrets)
Author: Erica Vetsch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/6/2021


What a great way to end a series. Erica did not disappoint with this latest & final book in the series. She always has a way of bringing out the true feelings of her characters & makes you feel like you know them well. Story line keeps you engaged at all times. Very well written & can't wait to see what she will write next.


Land Run Brides: I'd Sooner Have Love / Sooner Sunrise / Sooner Sunset (Romancing America)
Review Date: 7/16/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Such great story giving insight into the people who settled the Oklahoma territory. Loved the characters & how the 3 stories come together to show that history.


Love Finds You in Golden, New Mexico
Love Finds You in Golden, New Mexico
Author: Lena Nelson Dooley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 9/11/2010


This book shows what one can accomplish no matter what the reason behind it are. The main character in this story is faced with some life changing tasks & she finds that she make it when all things are against her. She finds a new life & love, along the way of course she runs into some obstacles but she perserveres & ends up with the life of her dreams. Shows what love, family & friends can help you through when things look like there is no way out.

Loved it.....Didn't want the story to end.....Would like to see another book with these characters & life beyond this book.


Love Finds You in Mackinac Island, Michigan (Love Finds You)
Love Finds You in Mackinac Island, Michigan (Love Finds You)
Author: Melanie Dobson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/3/2012


Having been to Mackinac Island many times & a fan of the Love Find me series, I preordered this book & it was worth the wait. It took me only 2 days to read this, I just couldn't put it down.


Morning for Dove (Winds Across the Prairie, Bk 2)
Morning for Dove (Winds Across the Prairie, Bk 2)
Author: Martha Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/6/2011


This is the second book in the series by Martha Rogers & this so far (I am now on the third title) my favorite due to the fact that is surrounds a family with the Mother being Native American & her life with her white husband & their children. They have lots of predjudice from people in town & is only cause more problems when the daughter falls in love with the shopkeepers son who's Mother had her family killed by Indians. She is reunited with her long lost sister who she thought had died when she was taken by the Indians who killed their family. with Dove's Brother Elk. Another great story with a great ending. Lots of twists & turns in the events that happen to the town & the people in it.


Never Love a Lawman (Reidsville, Bk 1)
Never Love a Lawman (Reidsville, Bk 1)
Author: Jo Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 1/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I usually like Jo Goodman titles but I just could not get into this one. I tried more than once, I just couldn't get into the characters so I ended up not finishing it as I have so many other books that I can get into so why keep trying.


Outlaw's Bride (aka The Bride of Johnny McAllister) (Western Sky, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/4/2010


I liked the story alot. It had lots of twists & turns. It was interesting to watch how the two main characters interacted & how they finally got together where they belonged. Now on to the next title in this series.


A Prairie Christmas Collection
Review Date: 12/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a really nice collection of Christmas stories to read especially at Christmas but could be read anytime of the year. Stories were each less than 60 pages so they read quickly & had great messages in of them. I can not pick out just one as my favorite as they all had parts in them that made me enjoy each of them. A good choice to read if you are into historical Christian fiction or even if you just like historical fiction...


Prairie Song
Prairie Song
Author: Jodi Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 7/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


another great story by Jodi Thomas. I have read everything she has written in the wetern historical fiction genre & this one did not disappoint. It had a different vibe to it but the characters were intriuging, delightful & well developed. Can't wait for the next story from her. A great read...


Prairie Song (Hearts Seeking Home, Bk 1)
Prairie Song (Hearts Seeking Home, Bk 1)
Author: Mona Hodgson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/26/2014


This is Mona at her best. The characters from the novella the Quilted Heart continues in this title as they start the trip to CA on a wagon train. She keeps you involved with the characters from the novella & adds some others who blend in to make this a great adventure to read. I can't wait for the next title in this series. She weaves a wonderful story.


Strange and Obscure Stories of the Civil War
Strange and Obscure Stories of the Civil War
Author: Tim Rowland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/1/2023


I found some of the stories very interesting, some I had heard of before but it was a good read.


Too Rich for a Bride (Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek, Bk 2)
Too Rich for a Bride (Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek, Bk 2)
Author: Mona Hodgson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second book in the series & this one did not disappoint. I loved the characters, the twists & turns & just the whole feel while I was reading it. I am just hoping it is not long for the 3rd title is out so I can continue with the adventure of the Sinclair sisters & the people of Cripple Creek.


1 to 20 of 20
Want fewer ads?