Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Frances P. (ponca-rose) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The Bargain Bride
The Bargain Bride
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 6/19/2016
Helpful Score: 2


Barbara Metzger is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. Her books are often humorous, fast paced, and full of twists and unexpected turns. There's no explicit sex, which is refreshing. You can only take so much explicit sex before it gets boring. Metzger is never boring. Some of her earlier books are smaller than normal; I found those easy to read in a day. They're hard to put down. I'm now collecting copies of all her books.


The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae (Cynster Sisters, Bk 3)
The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae (Cynster Sisters, Bk 3)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 4/5/2012


I loved this, but then it's hard to beat Stephanie Laurens for plot and just great writing. She can really set a mood and make her characters distinctive.


The Eagle's Song
The Eagle's Song
Author: Marylyle Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great read! Shy woman shows her strength and intelligence to save his life as much as he saves hers.


Handsome Devil (Zebra Historical Romance)
Handsome Devil (Zebra Historical Romance)
Author: Melanie George
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fun read!


Highlander in Disguise (Lockhart, Bk 2)
Highlander in Disguise (Lockhart, Bk 2)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Excellent read!


Highlander in Love (Lockhart Family, Bk 3)
Highlander in Love (Lockhart Family, Bk 3)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Fun read!


Highlander Unbound
Highlander Unbound
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Well worth the five star rating!


Jack of Clubs (House of Cards, Bk 2)
Jack of Clubs (House of Cards, Bk 2)
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 7/2/2016


LOVE LOVE LOVE Barbara Metzger. Her books are funny, with frequent unexpected twists, lots of action, romance, and a minimum of sex. I'm collecting all her books.


Missouri Flame
Missouri Flame
Author: Gwen Cleary
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Love to see the characters conquer all their challenges!


A Perfect Gentleman
A Perfect Gentleman
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/19/2016


Barbara Metzger is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. Her books are often humorous, fast paced, and full of twists and unexpected turns. There's no explicit sex, which is refreshing. You can only take so much explicit sex before it gets boring. Metzger is never boring. Some of her earlier books are smaller than normal; I found those easy to read in a day. They're hard to put down. I'm now collecting copies of all her books.


A Regency Christmas Feast (Signet Regency Romance)
Review Date: 7/29/2020


Great authors and Barbara Metzger is my all time favorite! Enjoyed all the stories.


The Scandalous Life of a True Lady (Royce Lie Detectors, Bk 2)
The Scandalous Life of a True Lady (Royce Lie Detectors, Bk 2)
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 6/21/2016


Love, love, love Barbara Metzger's novels, especially the early ones. Not a dull moment, no filler material, just good active, humorous writing. Little or no sex, but lots of good romantic comedy. I'm saving my copies to read again later.


Seven Nights in a Rogue's Bed (Sons of Sin, Bk 1)
Seven Nights in a Rogue's Bed (Sons of Sin, Bk 1)
Author: Anna Campbell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/7/2019


I enjoyed this more realistic version of Beauty and the Beast. Sidonie Forsythe arrives at Jonas Merrick's all but abandoned castle on a stormy night to give up herself as payment for a gambling debt her older sister owed. The sister's husband is a vicious wife beater who would doubtless kill his wife if he learned of this debt to his sworn enemy. Jonas is scarred physically and is an outcast of society because he is thought to be a bastard. Jonas is mesmerized by the beautiful Sidonie, and she quickly learns that underneath his hideous scars, the man has a beautiful heart. Of course he is extremely rich, and both the mentally deranged villain and society itself causes all kinds of problems for both him and his guest. The book is the first in a series about three young men who have suffered the meanness of society because they are thought to be bastards. The three have looked out after each other since school days, and they and their friends make a delightful series as they fight to overcome the life-threatening challenges that are thrown in their paths.


Truly Yours
Truly Yours
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/18/2017
Helpful Score: 1


Love, love, love Barbara Metzger. She keeps you in thrall, she's more action than agonizing, and her wit is delightful. We lost a very special writer when she retired. When you want a good story and an especially delightful wittiness, this novel is a good example of what she delivers.


What a Gentleman Wants (Reece Family, Bk 1)
What a Gentleman Wants (Reece Family, Bk 1)
Author: Caroline Linden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Thoroughly enjoyed this book.


Wild Honey
Wild Honey
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Loved this book!


Women in the Wind
Women in the Wind
Author: Margaret Ritter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Better than any TV series.


1 to 17 of 17
Want fewer ads?