Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Donna C. (g-ma) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 3125 - Page:
13-Minute Murder: Dead Man Running / 113 Minutes / 13 Minute Murder
Review Date: 4/30/2019


HEADS UP!!!!!

This is reprint in hardcover of 3 previous bookshots from 2016, 2017, 2018,
I thought when reading the second one that it sounded familiar so I looked at the copyright dates, I think this is a cheap shot at getting paid double for his books, once for each individual print and now this book combined the 3 into one hardback
The description on this website just gives the details of the last story and doesn't mention the fact that it is actually 3 stories


The 13th Hour
The 13th Hour
Author: Richard Doetsch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Different than what I expected but very good. Nick is given the ablilty to go back in time by one hour increments to save the life of his wife but each hour puts a new twist on what is really happening until the very end. The end will shock you.

I never read anything from this author before and I might try another one.


The 18th Abduction (Women's Murder Club, Bk 18)
The 18th Abduction (Women's Murder Club, Bk 18)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/24/2019


What is happening with Patterson? or maybe it's Paetro, but whoever it is this is a terrible book!

It takes places 5 years in the past, really?, I guess they couldn't come up with a more current storyline but had to go backwards and then bring in a person acquitted of war crimes and that is mostly what this book is dealing with, horrible war crimes committed on women and children in Bosnia, I didn't find the story very engaging at all and mostly just boring boring descriptions of food and clothes and interior design, really? There isn't any suspense or thriller about this book

I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS ONE TO ANYONE!


The 20th Victim (Women's Murder Club, Bk 20)
The 20th Victim (Women's Murder Club, Bk 20)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/27/2020
Helpful Score: 2


I'm a fan of this series but this one is just kind of dull, it is mostly just police investigation with nothing exciting or thrilling about it, then you have Claire with cancer now and an operation so there is a lot about that and I just didn't find that necessary at all

I read reviews and one main complaint was that Lindsay and Joe leave their 4 yr old daughter alone at night asleep while they walk the dog? really? is that sending a good message to anyone? don't think so!

The storylines are getting dull and boring and way too long to really enjoy Patterson books anymore, I think him and his co-writers need to take a lesson from Chris Carter and learn how to write a really good thriller!


23 1/2 Lies (Women's Murder Club, Bk 23.5)
Review Date: 10/26/2023


FYI--this is 3 short stories

First story about Lindsay Boxer finding out her Dad is still alive and that he is not her biological father

Second story is about Rory Yates Texas Ranger, this was a decent story and the longest of the 3

I didn't read the 3rd story, didn't sound appealing enough to pursue


The 23rd Midnight (Women's Murder Club, Bk 23)
The 23rd Midnight (Women's Murder Club, Bk 23)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/10/2023


This book is just ho hum, it has so much repeat in it that you can skip pages but the chapters are short (which I like) so you can speed read alot in this book as it covers the same thing over and over

It isn't a new story and you know how it will turn out so there isn't much thrill or surprise-even at the end

This series has about run it's course as the stories just aren't as good anymore


The 24th Hour (Women's Murder Club, Bk 24)
The 24th Hour (Women's Murder Club, Bk 24)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/2/2024


As I write this the only other rating (1) is 2 1/2 stars (not very good)

One of the worst of the series! I have tried to stick with Patterson but his books now are just not good at all, he has too many co-writers and most of the books are boring or just a mess
This one is both

It's like 3 short stories but all mixed together and they don't have anything to do with each one, I don't care much for Yuki and this one focuses on her courtroom trial and I found it boring so skipped most of it, I'm not a fan of Cindy either and I just get tired of her, Claire I picture as a smart person but not much happening with her, Lindsay is the main character of this series and she is put in a box and left there most of the time, this time she's investigating a murder she had 6 months ago and now doing it again but it's a long drawn out boring page after page of nothing, Joe has a better role this time but he is doing work on cyber crime and I don't find that interesting at all so skipped most of it

So needless to say---this book is a big boring mess

I think I'm probably done with this series too along with the Alex Cross series as it's gotten worse each time

That leaves me with the Michael Bennett series which is getting tiresome with the same old storylines


29 Seconds
29 Seconds
Author: T. M. Logan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/5/2019


When you read the inside flap you know what this book is about--

I thought it was going to be much better but I stuck with it, it takes over half the book just to get to the main part of the 29 second call, it has a lot of repeat that could've been avoided, the chapters are short and I like that in a book, I got to just a little over half way into the story then I had to start skimming just to get to the parts I wanted to know and skipping the parts that just didn't matter in the telling of the story

I'll try Logan again and see what happens with the writing style.


The 7 She Saw (Blake Wilder FBI Mystery Thriller)
The 7 She Saw (Blake Wilder FBI Mystery Thriller)
Author: Elle Gray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/14/2022


This is the first book in a new series by Elle Gray, I've never read anything by her until now, I think she writes in the romance genre but this is in the thriller/suspense/mystery genre

I thought the story was good but a little slow and too much 'thoughts', but I liked these characters and want to read more about them

This book did leave a cliffhanger for the next book but the storyline in this book ended so now I'm going to get the next couple books and see were they go

YAY! I might've found a new author to follow


72 Hours
72 Hours
Author: Bella Jewel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/30/2017
Helpful Score: 1


I can't give this a glowing review, however, it did keep my attention as to how they would get out of this mess

What I didn't like was all the very hot, very detailed, very explicit sex (not necessary unless you like that kind of reading, I skim over it quickly), and the main characters are very unlikable all the way through, they can't talk without using the f word every time they open their mouth, or shouting or yelling at each other all the way through

The main thing I didn't like was it does not tell you in the end the 'why', ok it was a serial killer but there should be more detail than that and it only gives you that 'he is a lunatic' on the loose, but from where etc.

I think another better author could've made a lot more of the storyline than Jewel does, for me it just wasn't the best writing attempt, I'm not a reader of romantic suspense but I don't really know what genre to call this it has a mixture of several


The A List (Ali Reynolds, Bk 14)
The A List (Ali Reynolds, Bk 14)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/11/2019


Pro--the story is a fairly good one

Con--too much detail repeated over and over and over, storyline takes place in the 1980's and drags into current day, lots and lots of explaining of Ali's past over and over


Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Author: T. R. Ragan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/30/2014
Helpful Score: 1


WOW! Along the same lines of Chris Carter's books this is a well written suspense/thriller to the T. One of the best books I've read in a long time and looking forward to the next one (if I can get it, had to get this one through the library).


The Abduction
The Abduction
Author: Mark Gimenez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/29/2011


couldn't get into this one, too much repeat in just the first 100 pages, characters you can't like--a geeky Dad that acts more like a coward and a Mom that acts more like a shrew but the Grandpa is a hero and would be a more likable character even with his 'ghosts' he carries around, but I quit after a little over 100 pages because I just kept waiting and waiting for it to move on and I just lost interest


Aberration
Aberration
Author: Lisa Regan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/12/2014


WOW! This is an excellent thriller, very well written that it is hard to put down for any reason, the story flows smoothly without any draggy spots.

Regan is a newcomer for me but so far she is on my list of 'books most wanted'!!


Above
Above
Author: Roland Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2018


The first book 'Beneath' was a pretty good book, these are for ages 9-15, but this one? maybe because it took so long for it to come out that I have forgotten the main story so this one just didn't make any sense at all

so this is a case of you have to read the first one then you might want to read this one while it is fresh in your mind or you won't know what is going on

sorry to give it only 1* but I just don't think it deserves more unless you read these two books together


Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Author: Lynda La Plante
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/26/2014


I, too, was unable to finish and in fact just didn't get very far into it, even in the first 30 pages you could tell was going to be a long drawn out disaster, it was going to refer to her Dad every other page or so and it had too much description and unnecessary detail in just those first few pages that I knew I couldn't stick with it-----a pet peeve is unnecessary descriptions and detail not needed and I give up on that book or author.

I have a few English/British writers I like to I don't think La Plante will be one of them.


Above the Fire: A Novel
Above the Fire: A Novel
Author: Michael O'Donnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/2/2024


not much of a story here just 'thoughts' etc.


The Academy
The Academy
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 5/17/2011


Very good horror--Tyler High voted to become a 'charter' school and that would mean they were their own bosses, once that is establised the schools policies change drastically and what happens is just plain horror.....


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Natalie Barelli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/29/2022


Very well written--I recommend this one!


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 3/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Barclay is right up there with Patterson! If you read one good book this year---make it this one!

From page 1 to the very last page will keep you turning the pages as the story unfolds and the twists and turns start, by the last few pages another turn will hit you that you're not expecting.


1 to 20 of 3125 - Page: