Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Boyd S. (golfpro) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Amazing Math Puzzles
Amazing Math Puzzles
Author: Adam Hart-Davis
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Good book. I think it's good mental exercise for the young and old alike. I'm 59 and believe that it helped me use my brain like I have not in many, many years. It even made me realize that I'd better get with a program physically also!


Awake! 12 Magazines
Awake! 12 Magazines
Author: Many
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Jesus is not God according to publications by the Watchtower Society. In their writings, Jesus is "a" god but not God Jehovah. Disturbing!


Balcony People
Balcony People
Author: Joyce Landorf Heatherley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/6/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book should be read only by those who want to leave this earth a better place!

Sample: Any page would whet your appetite; this is from pg. 14...

As I write about our relationships with others, our expectations of our own gifts and abilities, and our perception of both these subjects, I have about concluded that there are only two basic types of perple in the world: the evaluators and the affirmers.

I am sure, if there were a way to view a movie and see instant replays of all the strategic change points in our lives, that we'd instantly spot the people who either broke our spirits by their critical or judgmental evaluations, or who healed us by their loving, perceptive affirmations.

To be honest, I seem to be able to remember the negative comments of evaluators faster and more clearly than the positive remarks of the affirmers. I suspect that not far from anyone's conscious level of thinking lies the memory of an evaluator who pulled on his or her spiked boots and stomped deliberately over our bear soul and personhood.

Lord, is it You who would teach me the distinctive differences between evaluators and affirmers?

Are the guidelines for being an affirmer found in 2John where it is written, "If we love God, we will do whatever He tells us to. And He has told us from the very first to love each other."?

I think so.

Then please, dear Lord, strengthen my ability to understand and practice love.
--M.H.


Betrayal
Betrayal
Author: Randall Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/7/2008
Helpful Score: 4


What a novel! Like his first book, Wisdom Hunter, I could not put this one down. Finally, at age 53 I saw the light and my family left our legalistic affiliation. We are so sympathetic toward those who remain. I have almost no doubt that my old denomination would be much like the one in this book. So sad; what a sad lack of edification and spiritual growth in God's people; they are taught to conform to each other rather than just Christ. I had difficulty evangelizing; and even inviting people to church because of loud, self-centered, skim milk messages. Mr. Arthur's third novel is wonderful also. I highly recommend all three. I also think that those of us who are free from legalism should learn to reach those who are still trapped. While in bondage, I remember numerous well meaning but unprepared brothers/sisters attacking my affiliation which made me dig in deeper. I would not knock their church or KJO stand but rather, talk about the real joy, real love(we said we had it but it wasn't there except in small cliques), real personal growth sermons, evangelistic successes of your church. Blessings to you all.


The Bible: Applying God's Word to Your Life (Growing Deep in the Christian Life Series)
Review Date: 1/1/2009


Back Cover:
Discover the Bible study that will captivate your mind, challenge your heart, and forever change your relationship with God, says the author about this important series, "Discovering doctrine and seeing its importance can encourage you like nothing else." That's why he has made it his goal to build a bridge of theological understanding with the common man, the person who has never been to seminary but who really does want to develop a solid network of doctrinal roots.


The Bible: Applying God's Word to Your Life (Growing Deep in the Christian Life, Study Series)
Review Date: 1/1/2009


Discover the Bible study that will captivate your mind, challenge your heart, and forever change your relationship with God, says the author about this important series, "Discovering doctrine and seeing its importance can encourage you like nothing else." That's why he has made it his goal to build a bridge of theological understanding with the common man, the person who has never been to seminary but who really does want to develop a solid network of doctrinal roots.


Caught in the conflict: My life with James Watt
Caught in the conflict: My life with James Watt
Author: Leilani Watt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/6/2008


"What's it like being married to James Watt?"

Leilani Watt has had to face hundreds of personal questions about her husband. For three turbulent years, she stood by him while he served the United States as President Reagan's Secretary of the Interior.


"Why is your husband so controversial?"

Seldom in recent history has any gov. official generated as much controversy as James Watt. His verbal bluntness aroused the passions of America. The Beach Boys. Battles with environmental leaders. The letter to Israel's ambassador. Socialism and the Indians. The make-up of his coal commission.

How does a woman feel when her husband is the object of unceasing public ridicule" How can she view the demeaning news reports? Hundreds of cartoons? Scathing editorials? What does she say to her husband? How does she face her friends? Where can she find the strength and encouragement?

For years, Leilani Watt ran from conflict. She avoided any confrontation with her husband's hard-driving personality. She ignored the rude world of hard-ball politics, searching instead for satisfaction in her own separate activities. She was ill-equipped for the turmoil that would engulf her husband.

But can a Christian woman remain emotionally devorced from her husband's life? Leilani Watt could not. As she learned some hard, life-changing principles, she was able to start enjoying her marriage and coping with conflict. Then came the ultimate test.

Leilani Watt has learned that conflict and controversy bring out either the best---or the worst---in her, because they reveal what is already there. In "Caught in the Conflict", you will experience her tumultuous years in the public arena and gain unique insight into the pressures of a Cabinet member's wife. You will live through her struggles to become God's woman. And you will be encouraged when at the height of controversy, she finds the supernatural resources to cope with conflict.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a book that will "make you proud to be a member of the human race," says Mirabella, and countless readers have already discovered its power. Written in remembrance of his Polish-born, Southern-raised Jewish mother-who married a black man and raised twelve children, all of whom completed college-The Color of Water is a classic of the memoir genre, a testament to love, and a truly American story.


A Day with a Perfect Stranger
A Day with a Perfect Stranger
Author: David Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 5/3/2009


Beware!! Don't start this book at bedtime. A very fun read but cost me 3 hrs. of sleep. It covers agnostic's questions in a most non-judgemental way. I think great for Christians and non-Christians alike.


Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Author: David Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 1/5/2009


Excellent book. It must have some truth in since it's being unfairly critized by a couple of reviewers. I have given some as gifts, loaned some and recommend to all. Some say this book attacks other religions. Not so. What do you expect Jesus would say about religions where He is excluded? He would tell you the truth, maybe harshly. This book is very tactful and not attacking.


Easy magic tricks
Easy magic tricks
Author: Bob Longe
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 6/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover:
Amaze, fool, surprise--and best of all--entertain your friends with easy-to-do magic tricks. Most of these mysterious maneuvers and humorous hoaxes can be performed with stuff you can find lying around your house, such as cards, coins, string, rubber bands, safety pins, handkerchiefs--and of course the always handy fingers. Break the bounds of nature by revolving your wrist and shrinking your finger. Read someone's mind, and identify chosen cards. Make objects disappear and come back. Each trick comes with precise instructions on how to preform it (but don't let your audience find out), and you'll even find suggestions on what you should say to get the most "ooh"s, "aaah"s, and "ha-ha-ha"s.

From the author:
The magic tricks you'll find in this book not only fool, but they're also interesting, surprising, amusing--in a work, entertaining. None requires special dexterity, and only a few call for some degree of practice. The majority can be performed with everday objects: cards, coins, string, rubberbands, safety pins, handkerchiefs, dice, and--always at hand, of course--your own fingers. Some tricks require props or gimmicks that can be constructed easily.
To help you achieve maximum impact, you'll be taught precisely how to perform each trick, including hints on patter.
Because I almost always use a comical approach when presenting tricks, many of these tricks stress humor.


Flight of the Intruder
Flight of the Intruder
Author: Stephen Coonts
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


"National Best Selling Author" who wrote "Cuba" and "Under Siege".

"A unique novel that opens the world of the naval aviator as no book has before."-Tom Clancy,Author of "The Hunt for Red October"

"A vivid, extraordinary story that puts you into the cockpit of the A-6 and into the heart of the pilot who flies it."-Frederick Downs,Jr.Author of "The Killing Zone"

This is the riveting novel of America's powerful, high-tech Intruder attack planes, and the men who flew them in Vietnam. It's all here: the terror and exhilaration of wartime flying, and the frustrated rage at sudden death. It's a story that could only be told by a pilot who lived through it and finally decides to do things his way, on the riskiest mission of all.


The Greatest Salesman in the World
The Greatest Salesman in the World
Author: Og Mandino
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/7/2008


ONE GUN. ONE BULLET. TEN MILLION DOLLARS... WOULD YOU BET YOUR LIFE?

Kirk Cameron and Ray Comfort

So far, everything that I have seen and read of theirs is excellent.


Hell's Best Kept Secret
Hell's Best Kept Secret
Author: Ray Comfort
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/21/2008
Helpful Score: 3


GREAT BOOK! I agree with D.B. 100% I didn't get comfort about my eternal destiny until I understood that I was seperated from God because of sin, and the consequences of that seperation. All of us are in the same condition, lost. Some however recognize their condition and reach out for directions to the narrow way, Jesus. This book helps us understand how to communicate this to the seemingly uninterested. My heart is so sad for those who see evangelistic Christians as judgemental or hatful. It's exactly the opposite! Why waste our time, money, and reputations trying to help people? If we hated the ones who don't believe like we do, we would keep the great news to ourselves!


Hey Mom! I'm Hungry! : Great-Tasting, Low-Fat, Easy Recipes to Feed Your Family
Review Date: 11/17/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I was absolutely amazed at the cleverness of her recipes. Very fun, cheap, unusual and I'm now letting this book go since we have been empty nesters for 60 days.


The Human Body (Discover Hidden Worlds)
The Human Body (Discover Hidden Worlds)
Author: Heather Amery, Jane Songi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/7/2008


Explore an amazing world just beyond our view--the world under a microscope!

In "The Human Body", spectacular photographs show parts of the human body, some of them magnified thousands of times their actual size. Children will see taste buds, stomach glands, blood cells, sweat pores, tiny hairs that line the windpipe--even invaders like bacteria and virused--and much more.

The lively, fact-filled text will engage young readers, and they will pore over the fascinating--and eye-opening!--pictures again and again.


It's Not Menopause... I'm Just Like This
It's Not Menopause... I'm Just Like This
Author: Richard Bagley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/23/2008


Excellent strategy for aging. Memorize a few of the one-liners in this book and it won't be very long before you will be able to add great levity to any conversation. I'm sooo tempted to site a few of them, but no, I'll not ruin it for you.


Jesus CEO : Using Ancient Wisdom for Visionary Leadership
Jesus CEO : Using Ancient Wisdom for Visionary Leadership
Author: Laurie Beth Jones
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/19/2008


Excellent.

It's so simple! Why didn't I use these principals out of common sense? I've been in Church most of my life and read the Bible all this time?!


John Rosemond's Six-Point Plan for Raising Happy, Healthy Children
John Rosemond's Six-Point Plan for Raising Happy, Healthy Children
Author: John Rosemond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/29/2008
Helpful Score: 2


John Rosemond is: Wise, logical, sane, probably Biblical, humane in spite of what you may have heard, extremely effective, my mentor, my hero! I did not have normal parenting growing up; Mr. Rosemond's help made us feel like successful parents. Our only child turned 18 today and we feel blessed at the outcome!


The King James Only Controversy: Can You Trust the Modern Translations?
Review Date: 12/7/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I was on the other side of this issue for many years. It was blind faith. We felt our church leaders had done the research and that we need not do any. Looking back on those days, I believe cultic methods were used. We were not encouraged to read outside material and told all other denominations and even some of ours in other camps were not good. I was never encouraged enough to invite others to my church. I felt God was distant and just waiting for me to make a mistake.
Today I study with parallel Bibles, invite others to church almost daily, and feel the love of God. If you are even considering reading this book, I think you are on your way to wonderful spiritual growth.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Want fewer ads?