Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

DENISE F. (deniseann) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 761
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent read -- very enjoyable! I liked it better than "In the Company of the Courtesan," but don't miss that one either!!!!!!!!!


Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 6/7/2007


This is a fun fast read about ... well a demon hunting soccer mom!!! worth spending a day at the beach with this book!!


The Case of the Roasted Onion (Casebook of Dr. McKenzie, Bk 1)
The Case of the Roasted Onion (Casebook of Dr. McKenzie, Bk 1)
Author: Claudia Bishop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 7/8/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Fun cozy mystery about an older large animal veterinarian. Quite knowledgable about large animals and horses, except for the when mare foals -- oops! Definitely recommmend!


Death by Inferior Design (Domestic Bliss,  Bk 1)
Death by Inferior Design (Domestic Bliss, Bk 1)
Author: Leslie Caine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/7/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Lots of plot twists and fun characters...enjoyable!


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/5/2015


Recently found this author - great story lines! Grabbed me from page 1


Fear of Landing
Fear of Landing
Author: David Waltner-Toews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/27/2020


Unexpectedly this was Quite a good mystery by a founder of âVeterinarians without Borders.â A young Canadian veterinary travels To Indonesia where he is caught up in local politics, dead, cattle, and murder. Good twists and turns. Recommend!


The Fig Eater
The Fig Eater
Author: Jody Shields
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/14/2011


I'd heard this was a great book, and I did get pulled in to the story; however, I have to agree that it did fall apart at the end. What started out as a good period mystery, fell apart towards the end with a sudden leap into the paranormal that wasn't really explained. Probably wouldn't recommend.


Hot Blood: The Money, the Brach Heiress, the Horse Murders
Hot Blood: The Money, the Brach Heiress, the Horse Murders
Author: Ken Englade
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/5/2015


True life crime mystery. Horse folks will appreciate the accuracy and detail


The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
The Killer Angels (Civil War, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Shaara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 1/20/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I thought it was a tad hard to follow all the characters -- unless you're a Civil War buff or paid better attention in History class than I did -- but this is a compelling story of the battle at Gettysburg as viewed from both sides. The dialogue follows what is historically known about these "players" without making it sound too "made up."

The books does not deal with the gruesome details of the battlefield, but depicts insight into the soldiers' feelings, the respect they had for their leaders, and the courage they faced in following those leaders' commands beyond all.

A definite must read.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5424
Review Date: 6/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A great book club book; we all enjoyed it. Very poignant.


Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow, Bk 1)
Murder with Peacocks (Meg Langslow, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 12/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


First in a new series starring Meg and her crazy family. Similar to Janet Evanovich, this author makes the book a fun read and almost believable in its zany antics. Even the description of lawn mower incident (don't want to give anything away) was hysterical... check it out!


Murder with Puffins (Meg Langslow, Bk 2)
Murder with Puffins (Meg Langslow, Bk 2)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 12/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This series is a delightful read! If you like the zaniness of Janet Evanovich, check this out. The heroine, Meg, seems to be th only sane one in her eccentric family...who follow her with mystery and mayhem.


The Perfect Distance : A Novel
The Perfect Distance : A Novel
Author: Kim Ablon Whitney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/7/2007


A good "horsie" novel. Very true to facts of the show world for junior riders. Young adults as well as us "horseshow moms" will enjoy it!


The Spellman Files
The Spellman Files
Author: Lisa Lutz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This a great debut of what I hope will be many more books to follow. The Spellmans are a family of private investigators living in San Francisco. The characters are zany, but almost believable; the adventures are fun; and the writing snappy. You'll love Izzy and her kid sister who tags along on her cases. The theft and ransome of Uncle Ray's lucky shirt is great. And the invocation of "Section 5, clause (d)" of the family contract is nothing less than hysterical. READ THIS!!!!!!!!


The Spellmans Strike Again (Spellmans, Bk 4)
The Spellmans Strike Again (Spellmans, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Lutz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 3/22/2015


Fun book -- I love the dynamic! Crazy family antics, and very nearly believable -- or is it just that my family is as crazy?


The Tall Pine Polka
The Tall Pine Polka
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/4/2007


Charming story from the author of "Angry Housewives" -- enjoyed it!!


The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
Author: Stef Penney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 1/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book left me with that dissatisfied longing we get when we want the book to have a different ending or we simply want to read "the rest of the story." I did guess some of the surprises as I went along, but it didn't detract from the story as told. Not all was truly believable -- the noble savage guide, the pioneer mother who is fit enough to walk miles across the frozen winterscape in a pair of moccasins, but still a good read...definitely left me wanting more!


Then We Came to the End
Then We Came to the End
Author: Joshua Ferris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/5/2015


Irreverent and funny - and maybe just a little disturbing!


Undead and Uneasy (Queen Betsy, Bk 6)
Undead and Uneasy (Queen Betsy, Bk 6)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 432
Review Date: 7/5/2015


Look Queen Betsy -- irreverent and funny. Laurel Hamilton "lite"


The Widow of the South
The Widow of the South
Author: Robert Hicks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 9/3/2007
Helpful Score: 12


Absolutely great read about a little known battle of the Civil War. The description of the battle and the aftermath -- the realization that this battle was absolute suicide on the confederate's part; the house and family was comandeered and turned into a field hospital/morgue fascinated me. The romantic aspect as well as Carrie's "depression" over her dead child was conjecture by the author and not quite believeable, but it does help bring the characters to life. What this woman went through and what she accmplished in her lifetime is truly inspiring


1 to 20 of 20
Want fewer ads?