Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Janice R. (Bookwormdiggins) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Against The Wind
Against The Wind
Author: K. P. Yohannan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/31/2014


Another great book by K. P. Yohannan. If you loved Revolution in World Missions and Road to Reality, you will love this one also.


At the Scent of Water (Second Chances Collection, Bk 3)
At the Scent of Water (Second Chances Collection, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 11/27/2008


Another great book by Linda Nichols!


A Book by its Cover (Secrets of Mary's Bookshop)
A Book by its Cover (Secrets of Mary's Bookshop)
Author: Elizabeth Adams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/10/2016


#6 of series Mary's Bookshop, Christian mystery. Good easy reading.


Come, Let's Reach the World: Partnership in Church Planting Among the Most Unreached
Review Date: 7/20/2010


If you have read other books by K.P. Yohannan, you will want to read this one. It should be read by every pastor, missions committee member, and anyone who considers himself/herself to be a world Christian. If you are not a world Christian, read this book and get motivated to do your part in fulfilling the Great Commission.
In this book KP shows how the world can be reached in this generation if each of us will do our small part in praying for and helping native missionaries.


Destined to Soar
Destined to Soar
Author: K. P. Yohannan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


If you have read any other books by K. P. Yohannan, you know that they are all excellent.
This newest book that he has written is very challenging, encouraging, and practical. There are 37 chapters, each only 2-4 pages. When you finish one, you will want to go on to the next one. However, each one gives plenty to think about and apply, so it is better to digest each one before going on to the next.
Each could be used as a daily devotional. The thoughts contained cover everything from humility to God with pruning shears.
If you are into the "prosperity gospel," you might not appreciate this book. However, if your passion is to become more like Jesus, this book is for you.


Handyman
Handyman
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 11/27/2008


This is an early book by Linda Nichols. I have read all of her books and enjoyed them. This one was not written as Christian fiction and is not as good as her other books. I still enjoyed it, though I was a little disappointed that it did not have the depth that In Search of Eden and her other books do.


Healing from Post-Abortion Syndrome
Review Date: 7/25/2008


Healing from Post-Abortion Syndrome, self help workbook by Jeannine T. Dumais, founder and director the Lighthouse Pregnancy Crisis Center.
"Please, Mommy, Daddy, cry no more,
For Jesus has just opened the door.
Please help them, Jesus; Help them to see,
That with us they an spend eternity.
For they need only come to You,
And there they will find me too."
This is a spiral bound book put out by the Lighthouse Pregnancy Crisis Center in Ossipee, NH. It is a self-published book not available in bookstores.
The author's story is one of miraculous healing. The book is an outgrowth of her working with those who were hurting from having abortions themselves and also working with fathers and grandparents of aborted babies and helping them to find the healing that comes from God.


If I Gained the World (Second Chances Collection, Bk 4)
If I Gained the World (Second Chances Collection, Bk 4)
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


All of Linda Nichols' books are great, and this one is no exception.


In Search of Eden
In Search of Eden
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 11/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I read by Linda Nichols. After reading it, I got all of her books, read them, and passed them on to my (adult) daughter.
This is not "light" Christian romance or what I call "Christian soap opera." It deals with some very heavy subjects. For young readers, you might want to preread it for mature content. The content is handled tastefully and well. However, some youngsters may not be ready to deal with the issues that are presented.


In This Mountain (Mitford Years, Bk 7)
In This Mountain (Mitford Years, Bk 7)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 9/2/2019


Highly recommend In This Mountain as well as all of the books in this series by Jan Karon. I love reading her books! She makes me laugh out loud. Her characters are all well developed, and she makes them all lovable... or at least finds redeeming qualities in the worst of them.


Jessica's First Prayer
Jessica's First Prayer
Author: Hesba Stretton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/19/2014


Wonderful story! Heartwarming and inspirational!


Jesus Always: Embracing Joy in His Presence
Jesus Always: Embracing Joy in His Presence
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Imitation Leather
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/20/2018


This book is very much like Jesus Calling by the same author. Both are written as though Jesus is speaking to you with all of His love, assurance, and peace. I can't say enough to praise these books.
I read both of them every morning and get them to give to friends whenever I can.


Jesus Calling
Jesus Calling
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/17/2020


Someone gave this book to me several years ago. There is a short (one page) devotion for each day with Scripture references given at the bottom of the page. I read this book each day and still find it helpful, encouraging, and uplifting each day. Another (larger)edition of the book gives the Scripture verses each day instead of just the references as this one does.


Jesus Calling
Jesus Calling
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/9/2020


This book is wonderful. I read it each day, and each day it inspires and helps me. There is another edition which includes the Scripture verses each day. This one gives the references, and you have to look them up.


Jesus Calling - Deluxe Edition Brown Cover: Enjoying Peace in His Presence
Jesus Calling - Deluxe Edition Brown Cover: Enjoying Peace in His Presence
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Imitation Leather
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/13/2017


I can recommend this book highly. After someone gave it to me in January, I have gotten them to give to relatives and friends every time one coomes up here. It is a very short (one page) devotional for each day with Scripture, usually at least 3 Bible verses that support the thought of the day. This is the best and most helpful book of its kind that I have ever used.


Jesus Calling - Deluxe Edition: Enjoying Peace in His Presence
Jesus Calling - Deluxe Edition: Enjoying Peace in His Presence
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Imitation Leather
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/17/2021


I have read from this book every day for years. it never gets old. Each day there is something I need to get me through.


Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace In His Presence-Devotions For Every Day Of The Year
Review Date: 1/31/2017


"I am your strength and shield. I plan out each day and have it ready for you, long before you arise from bed. I also provide the strength you need each step of the way. Instead of assessing your energy level and wondering about what's on the road ahead, concentrate on staying in touch with Me. My power flows freely into you through our open communication. Refuse to waste energy worrying, and you will have strength to spare."
This book is written as though Jesus is speaking to you with all of His love, assurance, and peace. I can't say enough to praise these books by Sarah Young. I read mine every morning and get them to give to friends whenever I can.


Jesus Calling - Women's Edition
Jesus Calling - Women's Edition
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Imitation Leather
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/11/2020


"I am your strength and shield. I plan out each day and have it ready for you, long before you arise from bed. I also provide the strength you need each step of the way. Instead of assessing your energy level and wondering about what's on the road ahead, concentrate on staying in touch with Me. My power flows freely into you through our open communication. Refuse to waste energy worrying, and you will have strength to spare."
This book is written as though Jesus is speaking to you with all of His love, assurance, and peace. I can't say enough to praise these books by Sarah Young. I read mine every morning and get them to give to friends whenever I can.


Jesus Today: Experience Hope Through His Presence
Jesus Today: Experience Hope Through His Presence
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/26/2017


This book is very much like Jesus Calling by the same author. Both are written as though Jesus is speaking to you with all of His love, assurance, and peace. I can't say enough to praise these books.


The Legend of Gid the Kid and the Black Bean Bandits (Heroes of Promise)
Review Date: 3/19/2009


This story is not a Bible story, but the character is based on Biblical character Gideon. It is an adventure story your children will like, and it teaches a good lesson.


1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Want fewer ads?