Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Karin M. (VictoriasMom) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Fourth Hand
The Fourth Hand
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/19/2008


This was perhaps the most bizarre and ridiculous book I have ever heard in my life! I drive a truck and listen to books on tape all the time. I have been entertained, hurt, bored, discussed and enraged many times. But I don't believe that I have ever heard anything that even remotely matches the ridiculousness of this one.


Just for Today Daily Meditations for Recovering Addicts
Just for Today Daily Meditations for Recovering Addicts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is not published by Alcoholics Anonymous World Services. It is published by Narcotics Anonymous, World Service Office.
It is also a FABULOUS book of daily meditations for addicts in recovery no matter how long they've been clean.
It was and is, to me, invaluable in my life and my recovery.


Narcotics Anonymous
Narcotics Anonymous
Author: Narcotics Anonymous
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/12/2008


Not published by Hazeldon, published by Narcotics Anonymous, World Services Office
A how to book for living 'Life on Lifes Terms'


The Narcotics Anonymous Step Working Guides
The Narcotics Anonymous Step Working Guides
Author: Narcotics Anon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/3/2008


Couldn't agree more. The single most loving, kindest thing I ever did for me.

FYI...is not published by AA (as listed) it is published by Narcotics Anonymous, World Service Office.


Sleeping With the Enemy
Sleeping With the Enemy
Author: Nancy Price
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


The book is almost always better than the movie. NOT THE CASE HERE!

What is usually one of the better parts about a book is that you get to know what the characters are thinking. In this book Sara/Laura has a very disjointed thought process that is difficult to follow much of the time.

I also do NOT like that the Ben character actually thought about hitting her. NOT all men think that way and this book puts the blame for the men wanting to hit her on her shoulders. While I realize that it is 'normal' for abusers to work at convincing their victims that whatever they do is the fault of the victim, MOST MEN DO NOT THINK THIS WAY.

For suspense the movie was SO much better. The Sara/Laura character in the movie seemed much more wary and skittish, making her seem more realistic than the book character.

Someone who had lived with a violent abuser for several years would not have felt so comfortable so quickly (2-3 weeks in the book).

I did not enjoy this book, nor would I recommend it to anyone.


Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace . . . One School at a Time
Review Date: 6/28/2013
Helpful Score: 5


Would have been great had it been true. Mortenson turned out to be a shiester of the worst sort. Raised money for a good cause but pocketed it, built SOME buildings but didn't follow through with the funds or personnel to accomplish the original goal.
He was a con.


Three Fates
Three Fates
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 492
Review Date: 7/20/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I have been reading Nora Roberts for YEARS. I love her writing, all of it. There are some I like better than others but I always like the story.

Three Fates, in my opinion is BY FAR her best single title ever. It is lovely and funny and sad WOW! I just reread it for about the bazillionth time and it once again jumps out as my favorite.

I love her series and trilogies and have a few of them as my favs...but for single titles this one is it for me.

If you haven't read it yet, give yourself a treat and try it now. If you like Nora you will not be disappointed!!

Happy reading,
Karin M.

"There is no such thing as 'too many' books. Someone has to own them and it might as well be us." Nora Roberts


Treachery in Death (In Death, Bk 32)
Treachery in Death (In Death, Bk 32)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 5/6/2013


I LOVE this series!!

Some of the series are not quite as gripping as others, but of them are bad. This one is, in my opinion THE BEST!

I has all the 'usual suspects' (Eve, Roarke, and the gang) along with all of the suspense and humor we have come to expect from the characters as well as the writer. AND, Peabody get to kick some major butt!

We all know that J.D. Robb is Nora Robert's alter ego. And that she is one of the most prolific writers in print today. She never ceases to amaze me.

I recommend this series to ALL of my reading friends, and have 'hooked' several of them. I get jealous when someone starts the series for the first time, they get to read one after the other without waiting 3-8 months between 'fixes'.

God Bless you J.D./Nora...what WOULD we do without you?


Treachery in Death (In Death, Bk 32)
Treachery in Death (In Death, Bk 32)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 2/26/2011
Helpful Score: 5


I LOVE this series! It is, by far, my favorite series...and this book is one of the BEST! There are none of them that I don't like, but this story stands out in a series that just gets better and better.
I HIGHLY reccommend it. Each book stands alone but if you read them in order you see the progress of Eve and Roarke, peek into the lives and pasts of the core characters, and as a bonus, get to witness an incredible love story as it evolves and unfolds!
Happy reading...


1 to 9 of 9
Want fewer ads?