Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Lorainia L. - , - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Cancervive: The Challenge of Life After Cancer
Cancervive: The Challenge of Life After Cancer
Author: Susan Nessim, Judith Ellis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/21/2012


I found this book to be just the inspiration I needed after my own battle with cancer. I actually purchased two new copies as gifts, one for my father and one for a dear friend of mine, each recovering from their own cancers.
The book has many helpful suggestions; such as how to answer the questions of strangers, coworkers and loved ones; advice on dealing with issues such as infertility, anger, depression, body-image, self esteem, employment, insurance and, anxiety about new relationships.
Overall, this book reminds us all that we are not alone in our struggles and offers some comfort, advice and, the best medicine of all - a few laughs.


Donna Kooler's Encyclopedia of Knitting
Donna Kooler's Encyclopedia of Knitting
Author: Donna Kooler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


As an experienced knitter I was disappointed with this book. The projects included were not to my liking and the stitch gallery left alot to be desired. This is probably a great book for a beginner to intermediate knitter.


Harmony Guide: Cables & Arans: 250 Stitches to Knit (Harmony Guides)
Review Date: 10/26/2009


I love this book! I have used my copy of it for over 3 years now. I've been able to incorporate a multitude of the stitch patterns in the book for countless knitting projects I've completed over the years. It is a must have in any knitters' library.


How to Knit - The Definitive Knitting Course Complete with Step-by-Step Techniques, Stitch Library and Projects for Your Home and Family
Review Date: 10/26/2009


This is a fabulous book for someone beginning to knit. It has a nice variety of everything from basic knit/purl and combinations, to some aran, cable and lace stitches. A few projects are included in the book. Easy to follow instructions for the new knitter.


Lindbergh, A Biography
Lindbergh, A Biography
Author: Leonard Mosley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/12/2012


This was a wonderfully written book by an author who had the unique perspective of actually knowing Charles Lindbergh. This text gives the reader an up close look into the private life, dreams and thoughts of a private man caught in the spot light of public scrutiny. From his flight across the Atlantic to the loss of his child and his own deep depression this book introduces us to an extravagantly humble man named Charles Lindbergh.


The Right Hand of Evil
The Right Hand of Evil
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 7/11/2013


Predictable yet still a good read. I did enjoy this book but, I was a bit disappointed with the ending. The ending seemed as though Mr. Saul was just tired of writing this story and wanted it to be over in the fasted way he could dream up.
Still, 4 stars for all but the ending.


That Dorky Homemade Look : Quilting Lessons from a Parallel Universe
That Dorky Homemade Look : Quilting Lessons from a Parallel Universe
Author: Lisa Boyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/21/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I got this book as a gift for my mom who is an avid quilter. I just had to give this a 5-star rating (despite no photos of 'overly' loved quilts) because of how much Mom enjoyed reading it. My dad told me that he'd have to come out of his home office to find out what she was making all the ruckus about. Turned out they both liked the book; well, Dad didn't read the book but, he did like the parts Mom made him listen to.

5-stars for a great gift and a great read


Up Till Now
Up Till Now
Author: William Shatner, David Fisher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/21/2012


What can I say? I love Captain William Kirk Shatner, I mean, Bill Shatner.
I loved this book - full of laughs from the first page. A few tears here and there. A fantastic read. Bill Shatner really opened himself up in this autobiography, exposing his true self including his fears and deep emotional losses in such a way that you can feel them with him. This book is the life story of a man I truly love and adore - the Grandfather I never had.


When Rabbit Howls
When Rabbit Howls
Author: Truddi Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 10/27/2009


I picked up this book for free at a garage sale and began reading it without really looking at the front or back covers so I didn't realize till a few chapters in when I noticed that it was 'reading funny'. That's when I discovered it was autobiographical. Knowing this the book took on a whole new meaning for me. It was an amazing book considering that 92 'people' wrote it. I'm glad she found the help she needed and hope that she has found some peace in her life.


1 to 9 of 9
Want fewer ads?