Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Catherine K. (catk) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
All That Is Bitter and Sweet: A Memoir
All That Is Bitter and Sweet: A Memoir
Author: Ashley Judd, Maryanne Vollers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was so enlightening. Ashley Judd does such amazing work on behalf of women all over the world and it is all compiled here. Her personal family dramas are also included, and it is a very different view from that of her mother and sister in their books. (She also writes very eloquently, as opposed to the other two.) Recommend this book, as it is a good read, and gives insights into some of the atrocities in this world and the work being done to stop them.


The Angel of Blythe Hall
The Angel of Blythe Hall
Author: Darci Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/21/2011


Fantastic book - slow moving at first, but very engaging after the first two chapters. Lovely story of a determined woman who chooses her own destiny.


Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim, Bk 1)
Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I have always been an Anne Rice fan, but have found her recent writings much less "hardcore". Since she has found God again, it is reflected in her writings, and that makes for a very different type of book. That being said, this book still has her flair for details and "make-believe" characters, without the trash found in many of her vampire novels. It was a very quick read, but still good enough to make me want to read the next in the series.


The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 8/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Whether or not you are a fan of our President, this book is insightful into his way of thinking and gives a glimpse into why he holds some beliefs. I felt it necessary to get to know the leader of the Free World a little better which was why I read this in the first place. It is a decent book, and he is a very capable writer. Probably more enjoyable if you are one of his supporters, probably less so if you are not.


The Covenant (Abram's Daughters, Bk 1)
The Covenant (Abram's Daughters, Bk 1)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 8/5/2011


Fantastic book, fantastic author, wonderful story - I couldn't put it down and read it within a day. Can't wait to read the next one in the series. It is very well written, makes you feel very close to the characters, and gives you a reminder of the most important things in life.


Dark Carnival (Serenity Falls, Bk 3)
Dark Carnival (Serenity Falls, Bk 3)
Author: James A. Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 12/21/2011


Book 3 of the triology, and what an ending. This was a great series that was suspenseful and kept me guessing. It was kind of hard to follow, since there were so many characters to keep track of, but the ending left room for future books. James Moore just made it to my fave authors list.


Ghost Girl
Ghost Girl
Author: Torey Hayden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 8/5/2011


This book was disturbing beyond my wildest imagination. Since it is apparently based on a true story, that made it all the worse. It was well written, but made me exceptionally uncomfortable, which I suppose, is exactly what it was meant to do. Don't think I'll be reading any more of this author's stories.


Julia's Chocolates
Julia's Chocolates
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/29/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This book was so wonderful. It is funny, warm, scary, and endearing all at the same time. A fabulous story about the courage of women and how good it is to take back your life from those who have hurt you. I read it in a day because I just couldn't put it down.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3429
Review Date: 8/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This book was very strange. I felt much compassion for some characters, such as Dinah and Leah, and much hatred toward others, such as Jacob and his sons. I also felt nearly sacreligious reading this fictionalization, because I consider myself to be somewhat of a religious person. I guess the bottom line is, if the character names had been changed and not been Biblical, I might have enjoyed this story more. It was a good book in most ways, just probably not something for those of us who view the Bible as the True Word.


A Reliable Wife
A Reliable Wife
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1078
Review Date: 8/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was a great book. The story had many twists and turns, and kept me guessing all the way through. I liked the character's development and loved the ending of it. Definitely recommend it.


The Shack
The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 3089
Review Date: 8/23/2011


This was the strangest, most difficult book I've ever sat down to read. I didn't feel much for the characters except to say, I wanted the story to end and get back to reality. It was just such a bizarre presentation of this man's faith journey, that it was too unrealistic. Guess it just wasn't for me.


The Slap
The Slap
Author: Christos Tsiolkas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 8/5/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Very strange book. Not at all what I expected. I disliked the characters immediately and this did not make it an easy ready. Don't waste your time.


The Snow Garden
The Snow Garden
Author: Christopher Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 1/26/2012


This book was a good mystery - it kept me guessing until the very end. My biggest problem with it was the Gay Eroticism it involved. I'm just not into reading that kind of stuff and I didn't think that the description gave you enough information. Had I known, I probably wouldn't have requested it. I doubt I'll read anymore of his books.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4769
Review Date: 8/23/2011


I loved loved loved this book! It was well written, the story was beautifully told, and the characters were very real. I felt so much compassion for Jacob as he found his life falling apart. Everything flowed so well and I couldn't put it down until the very end, which by the way, was perfect.


1 to 14 of 14