Nicole V. (NicolevH) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
The Blue Cotton Gown: A Midwife's Memoir
The Blue Cotton Gown: A Midwife's Memoir
Author: Patricia Harman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book grabbed me within the first couple of pages. Its main character was so well developed that I felt I had known her all my life and the stories that she told were intriguing and believable. Absolutely loved it!


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1071
Review Date: 12/25/2012


An interesting look into the S&M world, but honestly, the story line did catch my attention. The whole time I was reading it, I told myself that I wasn't going to read books #2 and #3, but by the end I had changed my mind.


The House of Sleep (Vintage International)
The House of Sleep (Vintage International)
Author: Jonathan Coe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/16/2011


A strange read, but somehow still enjoyable! Found it a little difficult to follow along at times, but only because I'm a slow reader and had to remember details some days later...otherwise, liked this one.


The Last Lecture
The Last Lecture
Author: Randy Pausch, Jeffrey Zaslow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 596
Review Date: 9/27/2010


A very uplifting and quick read - Randy Pausch was an incredible person and educator. We all need a little reminder sometimes to be "glass half full" people - Randy hits us over the head with that lesson.


The Law of Similars
The Law of Similars
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Grabbed my attention within the first few pages and kept it until the end. Read this in a matter of days - loved it!


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 914
Review Date: 10/3/2008
Helpful Score: 7


Really enjoyed this book. Just getting back into reading now that my kids are 2 and 4 years old and I could relate to so much in these stories. Never lost focus or interest and was sorry when it ended!


Lost in the Forest
Lost in the Forest
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 8/28/2008


This was a quick easy read while I was on a 3 day trip for a conference. Some disturbing sexual scenes with Daisy, but unfortunately the reality of what we all need to be aware of these days. Uplifting ending that left you feeling okay about it all. Definitely recommend.


Nights in Rodanthe
Nights in Rodanthe
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 389
Review Date: 6/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Read this one in 2 days...it captures your interest quickly and never lets go, even though it is fairly predictable I thought it was still a classic Nicholas Sparks book. Well worth the read.


Nineteen Minutes
Nineteen Minutes
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1251
Review Date: 12/29/2011


Yet again, a wonderful read by Picoult. Parts of it were slightly predictable, but somehow that didn't manage to ruin the book for me as the characters were so well developed. She draws you into her storyline each time...


The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
Author: Aimee Bender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/5/2018


I loved everything about this book EXCEPT for the ending - I was hoping for a little more closure.


Plain Truth
Plain Truth
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 651
Review Date: 5/7/2013


One of my favorites of Picoult's! Maybe a little predictable at the end, but nonetheless it was a nice storyline.


Second Glance
Second Glance
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 379
Review Date: 7/7/2012


It was a decent read - not one of my favorite Picoult books but I got through it.


Superstitious
Superstitious
Author: R. L. Stine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/15/2009


This was a good read until the last couple of chapters. Well written, felt like he built the characters well and a page turner that kept my interest...just wasn't thrilled with the ending.


Trans-Sister Radio
Trans-Sister Radio
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/13/2010


An excellent read - this book forces you to think about the subject of transexuality from all different angles, and open your mind to the issue of sexuality. Couldn't put it down!


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4726
Review Date: 11/22/2008


This one will suck you right in and you'll be finished before you know it, wishing for more!!


The Wedding
The Wedding
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 674
Review Date: 8/10/2009


Well what can I say - just another wonderful read from Nicholas Sparks! Easy to get into the story and as always, you fall in love with the characters. Highly recommend - read this in the car in two days!


1 to 16 of 16